View Full Version : Moreton Bay whiting
craigie
08-05-2012, 12:06 PM
7977979778Been a while since my last report, so got out the last couple of days searching for a few fish to post up.
Had 2 nice sessions on the Sand Whiting leaving me with a good share for the effort.
Best I caught was a 32 cm but plenty of worm stealing small ones mixed in.
How expensive are worms getting !!>:( must have gone through $70 worth over the 2 days !! Lucky I didn't need much fuel !!:-X
Couple of pics To add when I can figure it out with the IPad ?
GreekBoi
08-05-2012, 12:44 PM
We went out Monday.. on the Bay and caught 48 whiting.. Not sure on the biggest but we caught some pretty big ones.
We didn't get worms cause they were all sold out..
craigie
08-05-2012, 12:58 PM
Yeah had the same trouble Monday, could only get a small amount of live worms, had to use cured beach worms which still caught fish, maybe not as good though ?
What did you use For bait GB ?
09-05-2012, 09:50 AM
nice fish, were you in the southern bay? i got a few the weekend before in the d-bay area but didn't bother over the long weekend because of the boat traffic.
09-05-2012, 02:13 PM
Craigie,
Nice haul of whiting, Ian at Viccie Pt had some nice live worms on Monday,
tropicrows
09-05-2012, 02:35 PM
Maybe that's I don't catch many whiting as i use very thin squid stips as the live worms as so expensive. Nice catch there Cragie, do you fish in the southern or northen part of the bay.
sid_fishes
09-05-2012, 03:40 PM
just of of curiosity, what do you blokes call expensive?
pm me if you want
ian
tropicrows
09-05-2012, 03:44 PM
Last time a bought some frozen worms they were $5 for a small packet. 6 or so pieces of worms roughly 100 mm long. Live worm were dearer.
sid_fishes
09-05-2012, 04:10 PM
that makes my tubs cheap then
timddo
09-05-2012, 04:21 PM
$1.50 a worm is what i paid
Seahorse
09-05-2012, 04:33 PM
U sell worms , Sid?
Where r these whiting?
Neighbor went to cockle banks on Monday. Came home with whiting size bait fish.
09-05-2012, 04:38 PM
I got worms of Ian on Monday they where a good size and Finga can certainly attest to that as well,
craigie
09-05-2012, 07:49 PM
Got these whiting more Northern Bay but close to shore. My fav spot for Whiting is the Nerang River, but a long way to go if I have a dud trip !
The $40 worth of live worms I purchased Sunday would have sit nicely in the palm of my hand, all gone in a couple of hrs with 2 adults and 2 kids fishing and hardly a fish in the esky, the toads were well fed until the Whiting came on the bite !!
$1-50 per worm sounds about right .
Interested to hear what your offering Ian ? Pm if you like. Do you have Blood worms or Beach worms ?
Squid is a waste of time for summer whiting but is a gun bait for winter whiting.
09-05-2012, 09:21 PM
my old neighbour when used to pickle his squid strips in a red vinegar as his winter whiting bait, apparently it was his not so secret weapon. but youch craigie, $40 for bait, time to switch to yabbies.
Scott Ashe
10-05-2012, 07:09 AM
Nice feed there mate, well done.
GreekBoi
10-05-2012, 11:25 AM
Hey Ian, my dad would love to get some details off you about worms..
As for what bait we used.. well here is a tip for you.. You can buy beef heart at woolies or coles for $3,50 or cheaper for a big heart.. slice it into thin strips so they look like worms.
Whiting love it.. Plus they stay on the hook 5x longer then worms and the amount of heart you get is cheaper then worms..
To put it blunt..
When we cast out we would get a hit about 30seconds into the cast or about a minute..
Seahorse
10-05-2012, 01:12 PM
Liver is similar, just messy
Snyderglasman
14-07-2012, 01:26 PM
you guys should learn to dig your own worms so much cheaper only takes an hour of your time and you can quite easily get $100.00 worth of blood worms for free.
Dont forget there is a bag limit on worms:).
My old man always wants to go digging and these days it is alot of hard work for little return as there just arent that many left out in front of Wynnum:-?.
Red plastic Gulp worms work well;D.
BTW nice catch of Whiting there craigie well done;).
Seahorse
14-07-2012, 03:38 PM
Hopefully I will get a feed tomorrow.
Tickleish
14-07-2012, 04:12 PM
some time ago I got my worms from Buds but now go to Ian's (sid Fishes) and get double the quantity for the same amount of money.
They are always good quality with plenty of life and if you end up with the dregs you get them discounted.
bay cruiser
14-07-2012, 05:34 PM
I have been adding a few drops of red food colouring to soak into the squid before slicing into thin strips. Works well on the winter whiting at the Little Sand Hills as does the red gulp worms. Cheaper than real worms. Gota love a good feed of whiting!
milo__
16-07-2012, 08:50 AM
Hi Tickleish,
Just wondering where sid Fishes is located.......
Goodoo haven
16-07-2012, 10:24 AM
Nice whiting there mate. They will make for some nice feeds.
sid_fishes
16-07-2012, 02:15 PM
Hi Tickleish,
Just wondering where sid Fishes is located.......
mate ,,,i,m down the end of colburn ave in victoria point[closet to the ramp] ....but not for much longer i,m afraid