View Full Version : Late start bay trip

Fish_gutz
25-04-2012, 08:43 PM
had a day off last week so after dropping the boys at school I took the old man for a run out near mud , trawlers were in so got some prawns for a feed and some fresh cuttle to take with me , anyways i`ll let the pics tell the rest of the story. 7.8kg and 8.8kg . got out there @ 10.00am and was pulling anchor @ 11am. ;)

terry71
25-04-2012, 08:44 PM
nice catch thanks for sharing

BLOOEY
25-04-2012, 08:46 PM
Holy hell. I'll take an hour like that any day! Very bloody well done indeed, you obviosly knew they were going to be there then.Ben

Fish_gutz
25-04-2012, 08:57 PM
had no idea blooey actually had a few new marks to check out and it was good weather to take my old man out for a spin without getting bashed around. it was meant to be a relaxing leisurely cruise . wind against tide on anchor.expectations were low,I didn`t get to finish the prawns either ! to busy.

BLOOEY
25-04-2012, 09:48 PM
Well thats even better then. Don't think i could have dragged myself away after only an hour. Ben

dan sheard
25-04-2012, 10:05 PM
Nice Knobs Mate,
Cheers Dan.

sleepygreg
26-04-2012, 12:40 AM
A damn nice result for the effort involved. Shame about not being able to finish the prawns lol.

madmackrel
26-04-2012, 04:34 AM
Old Mud island does it again ,great work f gutz
Cheers MM

z50man
26-04-2012, 07:21 AM
great stuff , love to see there is some nice big fish out there .. might head out tonight and do a overnighter ,see if my luck changes ....

lumox
26-04-2012, 09:37 AM
where abouts are the trawlers? did you drop by in you boat and get the prawns? would like to do the same and have feed out there whilst fishing. OOh and snagg a couple of mud specials.

Fish_gutz
26-04-2012, 09:57 AM
hey Lumox , the trawlers all sell prawns etc on the side of the road on the way to the boat ramp since they shut the co-op down at shorncliffe but sometimes i`ll put the boat in and drive back up cabbage tree creek and pull alongside to grab a feed before heading out. it`s also an instant burley trail once on anchor.

Blooey , I did want to stay longer but as soon as the tide turned they shut down and the big catties moved in.
I also didn`t want to be put in a position of catching one bigger and having to throw one back in as we had 2 over 70cm ! brainiacs whover thought up that law !

SWANY22
26-04-2012, 11:12 AM
not a bad effort for 1 hrs fishing .old mud island defently surprises you some times. did not get a length on the bigger one, defently thought she was gonna go 9.5 plus one of the biggest snap ive seen in person.young brummy boy was shattered watching his name wiped of the board ha ha.worst thing i cant have a crack at leat until august, and must say one of the better snapper seasons so far we have pulled some good quality snaps this year .
NICE ONE SWANNY

Mossy247
26-04-2012, 11:39 AM
nice work Fish_gutz, some solid units around at the moment. I agree though gotta suck when you start hoping your next one is under 70 cm :-[ Lets hope it is a sign of the season to come. thanks for sharing.
tight lines - Mossy

ddobson
26-04-2012, 07:11 PM
What to say after that trip. Boy some days the stars line up for some of us. I have had bad trip after bad and stories like this keep me going. Cheers DD.....

Fish_gutz
26-04-2012, 07:26 PM
What to say after that trip. Boy some days the stars line up for some of us. I have had bad trip after bad and stories like this keep me going. Cheers DD.....

thats because you are leaning to far towards the dark side !

chief
26-04-2012, 08:52 PM
Got to love a great plan , pull up and pull a couple of fish like that in an hour...Love your style Andrew cheers

fisho8
26-04-2012, 11:27 PM
Couple of really good specimens there mate well done gotta love it some bloke's can burn a shitload of fuel to come home with a feed like that. Mud turning it on oce again.:)

ddobson
28-04-2012, 09:38 AM
Haha I get hit on every fish that passes the plastics its just i havnt been able to find the fish at day. I used to fish dusk into night with a tinny with baits and plastics when a moon and now i need new ground as bigger boat and day fish have moved but my decky has smashed a few so lucks changing for me. I have found new ground but time and tide will pick things up soon it has to. Tiddlers love bait, monsters love plastics thats what i learnt with plastic fishing (other than livies) as all baits stripped before larger ones hit and squire hit plastics until larger ones can hook up. I,m not bragging its what i found out. Plus its better sneaking up as anchored with large rope to ground and we drift and cast ahead so they see plastic before boat. Cheers DD.....

Fish_gutz
28-04-2012, 10:50 AM
Haha I get hit on every fish that passes the plastics its just i havnt been able to find the fish at day. I used to fish dusk into night with a tinny with baits and plastics when a moon and now i need new ground as bigger boat and day fish have moved but my decky has smashed a few so lucks changing for me. I have found new ground but time and tide will pick things up soon it has to. Tiddlers love bait, monsters love plastics thats what i learnt with plastic fishing (other than livies) as all baits stripped before larger ones hit and squire hit plastics until larger ones can hook up. I,m not bragging its what i found out. Plus its better sneaking up as anchored with large rope to ground and we drift and cast ahead so they see plastic before boat. Cheers DD.....

i`m only stirring DD ,I`m just a lazy fisho ! I`ve seen some great schnapps caught on the plastics.
I had a live yakka out also that day and it got picked to bits by little fish but they didn`t pick the cuttlefish?

SWANY22
28-04-2012, 04:54 PM
did ya get thoes pics he said he sent them.if he did can ya put the pic up of the 2 snaps in popes shop as its a cracker.

ddobson
28-04-2012, 07:50 PM
Fish gutz you got a red hot bight no matter what you were using and that i would die for as i have been watching a lot of guys flog me of late so i hope my next is like your last caliba. Cheers DD.....

death_ship
28-04-2012, 10:56 PM
nice fish, good to see the south side of mud fire again.

Fish_gutz
28-04-2012, 11:49 PM
did ya get thoes pics he said he sent them.if he did can ya put the pic up of the 2 snaps in popes shop as its a cracker.

there you go Bob
hey Death ship long time no see...... ;)

Why-ting
29-04-2012, 09:02 PM
nice fish mate. would be keen to know how long the fish were if you got a measure on them?

Fish_gutz
29-04-2012, 11:35 PM
only did a rough measure and the 7.8 went 90cm and the 8.8 would have been about 95.

BrummyBoi
30-04-2012, 08:22 AM
Hey Hey muzzy boi bout time all that burnt fuel and ego's have finally paid off! cracker fish mate and your disqualified from the comp as taking those mud giants is cheating! ba ha swanny, hope ya back hurt when you watched pope wipe me off the board ya prick! great fish muz and let the games begin :)

Fish_gutz
05-05-2012, 12:29 AM
very nice of you to chime in Luke. http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/youare
anyways all jokes aside , if history has anything to do with it I won`t last long on the board unless there is cyclones until the end of the year !
good weather all next week. might be time to put in for a weeks long service leave.