View Full Version : Proposed new law motor overhang on trailer

Seahorse
19-04-2012, 07:22 PM
When I got back to the clontarf ramp this arvo about 5pm, I was greeted by 2 fishery officers.
After they had quick look at crabs and life jacket sticker they were all good.

The guy was telling me that the coppers were trying to get a new law passed, saying that the over hang from motor to back roller on trailer can be no more that 1.2metre.
This fishery then said to me that I would be illegal with the permatrim attached to the motor.
Apparently the 1.2 met goes to the prop and with the permatrim the 1.2met would finish half way long the trim plate leaving me about 300 mm over.

I don't know if anyone has heard of this.

It would mean that u would have to drive with ur motor half way down.

19-04-2012, 07:48 PM
It would make more sense to require flags on the end of motors so idiots who insist on running up ones tails have a clear idea of the object that is going to make a hole in their radiator. Perhaps next there will be a requirement that a crash barrier similar to that fitted to back end of tray and other similar trucks be fitted to boats on trailers so the super small cars that many people will be forced to drive as the impact of the carbon tax hits the overall economy.

No wait here is an opportunity for the next lot of unemployed. They can walk behind towed boat trailers with a red flag they will wave to warn oncoming cars. Note we will all be driving very slowly to save fuel so impacts should be small too.

GOM Chimo

19-04-2012, 08:04 PM
i dont believe its a new law, from memory you will require some reflective stuff on the motor if it overhangs the trailer by more than 1.2 metres etc from the end of the trailer, i think they are more about enforcing it more

http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/~/media/062dda89-8811-431b-824b-0422672ded5b/pdf_projecting_loads_brochure.pdf

During daylight hours:
You must display a brightly coloured red, red and yellow or yellow flag 45 cm by 45 cm is fixed to the extreme back of the load

After dark:
You must display a red warning light that is visible from at least 200m away, or at least 2 red reflectors capable of reflecting from the headlights of a following vehicle

All warning devisces must be displayed at the very end of your load and clearly visble to others

19-04-2012, 08:20 PM
spot on tangles,,, $20 bid down

Seahorse,, back to your query/concern,, this is not new,, if you have a "overhang" in your circumstance,, flag it

Seahorse
19-04-2012, 08:38 PM
But the fishery bloke said that was a new law that the coppers were trying to get passed.
He said that a cover over the prop and trim plate would be no good.

19-04-2012, 09:25 PM
that pdf says what the law is for trailers and i quoted from it,, includes your boat

ShaneC
19-04-2012, 09:32 PM
Fisheries Officers are notorious for citing regulations they know nothing about. They are flat out getting on top of their own jobs let alone getting involved in someone elses. I have had a recent run in with scaleys and it is exactly as tangles says. Its not new, it has just never been enforced.....

Apollo
20-04-2012, 06:09 AM
I went to get a trailer registered the other day and the inspections boys brought up this exact point that Mike alluded to. Just need a reflective prop cover.

Chas & Clarry
20-04-2012, 06:20 AM
Interesting...I don't recall noticing many boats complying with this rule.

I'll certainly have to check mine and start obeying the law after 30 accident free years of probable failure to do so.

20-04-2012, 07:59 AM
They'll get real 'narky' with front or rear projections of more then 1.2m.
Easy way around is registering with boat on. The back end of the motor is then the end of the trailer.

I don't think the 'prop bag' with satisfy the requirement of the TMR document.
Easy way out is go to the pushbike shop and get red tail light that goes blink, blink, blink and then off to Bunnings and get a flag. They're only a couple of dollars.
Easy, easy Campessee to comply.

And then after that they'll realise that there is another requirement that lights have to be viewable in both directions at a 45 degree angle at a distance of 3m or something like that.
How many people can see their trailer taillights at a 45 degree angle?? Outboard leg get in the way??
What about front position lamps?? Are all the necessary reflectors on??

http://www.infrastructure.gov.au/roads/vehicle_regulation/bulletin/vsb1/vsb_01_b.aspx#13

20-04-2012, 10:17 AM
Still reckon the man walking behind is the answer, except now he can wear a hat with a blinking bicycle red light on it too.::)

PS Hey Finga did you get your fob watch back from Charlie yet. I have not seen him for a while but can if needed.

truth stretcher
20-04-2012, 02:21 PM
Places like Bias or BCF should have a drive through credit card visa pay wave setup at the front door where before you go out fishing you swing by and purchase the latest regulation passing bit of garbage to hang off your boat.
Life jacket sticker , fluro flags , etc etc .
Next they'll be at the ramp booking me for dripping salt water on the road or giving me a ticket for the excess smell eminating from my boat (this will be bait smell not fish smell with my luck/history).
Australia - The land of opportunity ? The opportunity to milk every cent from people already paying too much for pretty much everything , no sorry EVERYTHING.

Beatsworkin2
20-04-2012, 04:05 PM
high viz that will fix everything wot a load of sh$$ if u cant see my outboard u shouldnt be on the road forget about carbon tax wot about all the wan$$$ getting paid to enforce this and this lifejacket sticker thats going to save lives the boats upside down just look for the sticker yeah right just been fishing in edan nsw police came on board had thermal suits which they use in england which inflate and keep u alive no aus standard no good no fishing borrowed a couple of blocks $15 each all good wot a load sh$$

waterbouy
20-04-2012, 06:42 PM
Places like Bias or BCF should have a drive through credit card visa pay wave setup at the front door where before you go out fishing you swing by and purchase the latest regulation passing bit of garbage to hang off your boat.
Life jacket sticker , fluro flags , etc etc .
Next they'll be at the ramp booking me for dripping salt water on the road or giving me a ticket for the excess smell eminating from my boat (this will be bait smell not fish smell with my luck/history).
Australia - The land of opportunity ? The opportunity to milk every cent from people already paying too much for pretty much everything , no sorry EVERYTHING.

Too true, couldn't have said it better myself. Another big fat croc of sh*t. Common sense has gone out the window!

Mrs Ronnie H
20-04-2012, 10:01 PM
My two bobs worth

I would take this one to court if I got booked for it and challenge it. What a load of frog bog and yep you're right-- just another revenue spinner.

And not too much about the unemployed Bit Chimo-- thats a touchy subject with me right now and not a very good position to be in or one that should be made fun of.:(

Ronnie

TimD
20-04-2012, 10:25 PM
Mrs Ronnie H

Theres plenty of jobs around, it just depends how bad you want a job and how far your willing to travel to work each day. If there was a position at my work you could basically walk right into the job with no experience nessesary but you would have to drive from Beachmere to Wacol and back each day.

If you really want a job send me your resume and ill pass it onto my boss

cheers tim :)

21-04-2012, 06:24 AM
Yep. I have to agree. Common sense has absolutely been thrown out the window....and they probably caught it on a camera somewhere and you got a fine in the mail when it got thrown out.
BUT...you have to make it as hard as possible for that brain-dead nit who does run up your clacker.
An example: In Casino (NSW) they have drive in 45 degree parking. You have to back out.
So my dear old dad was backing his Holden 1 tonner out of a park and going real slow as he couldn't hardly see a thing as Godzilla the Nissan 4 wheel drive was parked next to him.
He gets some young clown in a VL Crummy door run into him. He's in the wrong as he was backing out. Common sense??
What about the clown who could see the white back of a ute with a camper van on it's back backing out of a parking spot where the speed limit is 40km/hr??
Dad ended up even paying for the clowns right hand headlight and only the passengers side was hit???
Repairs cost more then the car was worth but less then the excess on his insurance. The clown had it all figured out. And that is a common occurrence down that way apparently.

It's not hard the shove a flag on. They come complete with a bungy sort of cord so it's just a stretch and over she goes.
I started to do it for my benefit. I don't know how many times I've shinned myself on the prop on the big boat or the lazer foil on the tiny tinny when they're parked in the shed or yard or carpark or....anywhere really.
Sad bit is the flag doesn't make it more visible. It just 'softens' the blow.

Mister
21-04-2012, 07:33 AM
Nothing new here, has been the law for well over 10 years (at least) and especially critically with pods

mal555
21-04-2012, 11:20 AM
Fisheries Officers are notorious for citing regulations they know nothing about. They are flat out getting on top of their own jobs let alone getting involved in someone elses. I have had a recent run in with scaleys and it is exactly as tangles says. Its not new, it has just never been enforced.....

Agree.......

LittleSkipper
21-04-2012, 05:27 PM
Looks like another one for the "Government Coffers"?

waterbouy
25-04-2012, 02:35 PM
I thought i read it the other day but can't find it now.
What is the min diamentions of the flag?

Cheers WB