View Full Version : Goin' bananas
Schuey
16-04-2012, 08:30 PM
Gday all, went for a sneaky prawn before work today, ok so I got to work a bit late but it was worth it. Ended up getting about 7 kg of good bananas round 18-20 cm long. A few pics attached.
Cheers Cal.
Angryant
16-04-2012, 08:38 PM
Nice prawns - concerning they are as big as your hand. Even more concerning is that you've cracked the top off the stubby - before work.
Well done!! Nice catch.
16-04-2012, 09:46 PM
Great work Cal.
Te Whiti
16-04-2012, 10:31 PM
Great catch and they really look like good quality too....
I need better office hours.
bondy99
16-04-2012, 10:59 PM
G'day Schuey,
Good haul mate, Did you see Pero in the arena. I heard he was about.
Bondy
How did you hear that? Bondy. I was home doin' housework, cooking,watching days of our lives, etc....
XtremeBoony
17-04-2012, 06:22 AM
If I was getting prawns like that I would have called in sick ;D
Well done mate
Cheers from boony
Schuey
17-04-2012, 07:45 AM
Thanks for the comments fellas.
Bondy, I swung by Pero's to see if he wanted to throw with his mates but he had his hair in curlers and was holding a mop. I left him to it, as I was in a rush to get to work myself.
thelump
17-04-2012, 07:48 AM
Great prawns mate. Well done. I can taste the creamy garlic prawns as I type.
that stubbie is a throw down isnt it?
hahaha. awesome. some fantastic prawns there mate.
I just had to go nout today, Cal. Will put up some pics of my exploits , later.
royslaven
17-04-2012, 02:19 PM
I just had to go nout today, Cal. Will put up some pics of my exploits , later.
yeah you and about 40 other boats today pero, great day out, might have to do it again tomorrow, cheers, roy.
Congrats Cal. You've gone from novice to pro in a couple of months. I bet they tasted great.
I ventured forth today.-
Well the weather was great. The rain clouds disappated and me and 30 other boats, had our selves a ball.
Had no probs getting my bucket limit as did many others. I saw numerous throws over a kilo. Best was 3-4 kg in a cast.
I was going okay and thought
I'd move out of the marauding pack for a quick count up. I knew I had 6-7 litres to that point.
I was 30 metres from the other boats when,
I suddenly found prawns were showering all around me.
I looked at my sounder which is locked to the bottom 10 feet of the water column.
To my amazement I saw layers of prawn showing to the top of my screen. I quickly gathered my net and threw.
A half baked throw at best and to my delight. I felt a massive shake in the net. I got abour 3kg in one shot.
That was my bucket limit. Also managed a metre long hairtail, Its tail had been bitten off.
I think with tail, the specimen might have reached 1.5 metres.
Heres some pics.-
Schuey
17-04-2012, 07:05 PM
Well done Pero. Sounds like a great day and probably thicker than yesterday. Prawns stacked 10 foot high would be lovely. Aren't those hairy tails mongrels, got cut by one yesterday...Again, nice haul.
B U Z Z I N
17-04-2012, 08:04 PM
nice work schuey,i would of been 2 sick for work after that effort ..you guy's r gettin what i get in 2hrs in 1cast
cheers buzzin
bondy99
18-04-2012, 11:22 PM
Thanks for the comments fellas.
Bondy, I swung by Pero's to see if he wanted to throw with his mates but he had his hair in curlers and was holding a mop. I left him to it, as I was in a rush to get to work myself.
No Worries Schuey, I heard he was rolled up. Good prawns by the way, looks like your kids enjoyed the prawns too
craigie
19-04-2012, 05:17 PM
Hi Guys,
Awesome stuff, good to see the prawns making a solid run......
Just one quick question, are you getting them North Or South of the Brisbane River ? I'm hearing reports from both the major prawn regions here in SEQ/Moreton Bay, Can't decide where to try this weekend.
The last few years I've bombed out totally, either went the wrong day or the wrong spot etc etc..................................Would love one hot session this season !!!
More than happy to receive a PM if you want to keep things on the downlow...
Craigie.
p.s You can always come out with me for a run, I have a fun boat that suits prawning.......
If your hearing reports from both sides. I will bet they are on both sides of Brisbane river.
bondy99
24-04-2012, 01:56 PM
Last known was near the airport
royslaven
24-04-2012, 05:14 PM
Got these today ( got a bucket ) southern bay,, cheers , roy
bondy99
24-04-2012, 11:00 PM
Got these today ( got a bucket ) southern bay,, cheers , roy
Your attachment never came up, comes back as invalid
royslaven
25-04-2012, 11:10 AM
Your attachment never came up, comes back as invalid
opens up on my computer,,?????
castamasta
25-04-2012, 11:39 AM
Hiya Roy,doesnt come up on mine either mate.
Cheers,Gav.
dayoo
25-04-2012, 11:39 AM
Comes up as an invalid attachment on my computer also. Check with Lucky Phil
Barry
royslaven
25-04-2012, 01:53 PM
sorry guys, just tried again, let me know if it doesn,t work, cheers roy
royslaven
25-04-2012, 01:55 PM
yep, looks like we have a winner, folks are dumb where i come from, roy
bondy99
26-04-2012, 11:09 PM
Look like you did ok Roy.
Next time take those radioactive gloves off when you upload the pic next time, wont come back as invalid or missing link.
Bondy
Hey Roy, Nice size prawns. Obviously not the current Nudgee prawns.
craigie
27-04-2012, 09:08 AM
Well done Roy !!
I did an all weekend prawn last week and bombed out in both the Northern and Southern hot spots.............that's life !
Thanks guys for you PM's and advice.
Next time ..........
dayoo
27-04-2012, 01:17 PM
Well done Roy !!
I did an all weekend prawn last week and bombed out in both the Northern and Southern hot spots.............that's life !
Thanks guys for you PM's and advice.
Next time ..........
Craigie,
The bananas are out wide in 8 metres off Shorncliffe but it won't be long (maybe next week) until they move in closer:-X
Barry
craigie
27-04-2012, 02:34 PM
Thanks Barry !
Going out for a fish in the Bay tonight, on my way home now to get organized.
Got the good oil on a hot run of Sand Whiting ! Might also pack some Snapper gear ......................and the cast net !!
Weather looks to be turning to crap tomorrow, so going hard tonight.
Craigie.
Hey craigie, Are yo0u going north or southside tomorrow? I can guarantee you get a bucket tomorrow. Just pm me.
castamasta
28-04-2012, 10:38 AM
Whens the barbie Kris ? ;)
royslaven
28-04-2012, 12:55 PM
Whens the barbie Kris ? ;)
A bit wet today gav, but anytime your in town mate, prawns and beer, yum, cheers kris
castamasta
28-04-2012, 02:32 PM
A bit wet today gav, but anytime your in town mate, prawns and beer, yum, cheers kris
And good company ;D
bondy99
28-04-2012, 11:39 PM
Stacks of prawns at Nudgee, got my bucket in no time, less than 1 hour.
dayoo
29-04-2012, 09:15 AM
Stacks of prawns at Nudgee, got my bucket in no time, less than 1 hour.
Bondy,
See my previous post in this thread. Were they bananas or greesies and did you get them outwide or in the 3 - 4 metre depth?
May hit them up in the next couple of days.
Barry
krocspoon
29-04-2012, 10:08 AM
any chance of knowing where this is happening?
kingcray
29-04-2012, 10:30 AM
krocspoon i am sure if you head out of nudgee you wont miss the raincoats hurling nets around.
B U Z Z I N
29-04-2012, 03:47 PM
bondy,
see my previous post in this thread. Were they bananas or greesies and did you get them outwide or in the 3 - 4 metre depth?
barry
no prawns there 2day,water is a bit dirty coming out of cabbage tree creek
buzzin
craigie
01-05-2012, 02:04 PM
No one went out from Schult's canal Saturday morning ?
I was there watching for any signs of prawners.
Yeah I was North Pero.
Happy to try again soon if you hear anything ??
bondy99
01-05-2012, 11:41 PM
Bondy,
See my previous post in this thread. Were they bananas or greesies and did you get them outwide or in the 3 - 4 metre depth?
Barry
All Bananas , no greasies, I had to look for em , wont give out precise location :-X
See my plate ;D
Bondy
royslaven
03-05-2012, 03:35 PM
All Bananas , no greasies, I had to look for em , wont give out precise location :-X
See my plate ;D
Bondy
buy em at the seafood shop bondy?
Goodoo haven
03-05-2012, 03:41 PM
Some nice prawns there, and I bet they was nice eatin too.
Lookin at the size of them Prawns bondy I reckon they were from.... The powerlines.
Couldn't be Northside, All same size around 18cm...Would have been Saturday.
Because they were gone Sunday.... And they were bloody Tasty!
Went today very little there. A bit more at Jacksons but very little.
More boats than prawns, about 40!
None in Nudgee, Royslaven said so, and he tells the truth.
They must be at Woody point. I know they are at Scarby, 8 trawlers workin there. And in the Brisbane river.
And I Just have to say,- I get sick of finding prawns casting and noticing Asians eyeballing me, and with in 30 seconds They are next to you throwing. Guys- Use your sounders, or go buy one, Its not that hard.And..... I'm not racist.
bondy99
04-05-2012, 12:17 PM
Lookin at the size of them Prawns bondy I reckon they were from.... The powerlines.
Couldn't be Northside, All same size around 18cm...Would have been Saturday.
Because they were gone Sunday.... And they were bloody Tasty!
Went today very little there. A bit more at Jacksons but very little.
More boats than prawns, about 40!
None in Nudgee, Royslaven said so, and he tells the truth.
They must be at Woody point. I know they are at Scarby, 8 trawlers workin there. And in the Brisbane river.
Pero,
You're right as usual.
All gone from Nudgee now, all at Woody Point.
Where there is more fresh saltwater / seawater than anywhere else.
Bondy
bondy99
04-05-2012, 12:18 PM
And I Just have to say,- I get sick of finding prawns casting and noticing Asians eyeballing me, and with in 30 seconds They are next to you throwing. Guys- Use your sounders, or go buy one, Its not that hard.And..... I'm not racist.
I agree whole heartedly.
It's not rocket science
B U Z Z I N
04-05-2012, 08:11 PM
Pero,
You're right as usual.
All gone from Nudgee now, all at Woody Point.
Where there is more fresh saltwater / seawater than anywhere else.
Bondy
none at woody /scarby 2day ..might b some around sat/sun because i not going ...
bondy99
05-05-2012, 09:12 PM
Buzzin,
Woody beach is the go I hear, if you like to drive 5 hours north, worth the trip in my book, just watch the swell when you cast.
Bondy
wazza10
07-05-2012, 02:18 PM
Just back from Woodgate and the Burrum - no prawns at the moment - weather was great over the weekend, ocean was flat and the boat ramp into the ocean was useable - very little swell. Spent most of the time in the the river but only managed a 58 cm flatie in the net - no prawns yet in the burrum. Some big trumpter were caught - 65 to 70 cm and lots of big bream. The burrum is fishing well after the flood. I was happy to be in a boat and to try a couple of the nets I made - Back here in Brissy I'm back to land based.
Wazza
There are a few prawns at Nudgee. But they are very scattered.You need to be a real "trojan" to do well