View Full Version : back to back bags at mud
netmaker
10-04-2012, 12:20 PM
hi all. after sundays bag at mud and with perfect forecast for monday, it was a no brainer on where i would be for the day. 4am saw dave dobson at my door loaded with rods and buckets of gulps. we put in at wello before the crowds and had a nice smooth run up the bay. pulled up at south-eastern cardinal and started drifting. had to move a couple of times to avoid anchored boats but had a really nice drift line along the outer banks. 10-15 minutes there and a nice little 38cm takes my zman minnowz and starts the day for us. thinking it a good omen he was released to grow a bit more. dave followed shortly after with a just under fish so things were looking encouraging. half hour or so later and a better hit got me a 47 which went on the ice. we moved to the north western side (near mossy's reef) and would you believe it - there's mossy with yellowjack. he's starting to look like a bit of the furniture at mud these days;D. anyway we set up another few drifts and after a while another good hit saw me put a 48cm cod in the box. some more drifts and dave added a 38 snap and i followed it up with a 48. dropped in on mossy and jack for a chat. they had been finding things quiet with the only news worthy item jack had managed to catch a pig tail:P. if you're wondering what that is, cast your memory back to when you first learned how to tie knots. remember when you had that good fish on but all you came back with was a little squiggle where the knot used to be. anyways there's no better way to learn proper knot tying than to lose a good fish. he's probably sitting at home practising now;). after a chin wag everyone was keen to get back into it so we went our different ways and continued. things slowed a bit and whilst we had been getting plenty of small fish and grinners earlier the whole place just shut down. tried a few spots along the western side as we completed our lap of mud but with little to show bar a couple of tiddlers. made the decision to head for home but stopped just outside st helena green zone for a few flicks. i managed another snap at 38 to finish my bag and straight after dave was smashed by a big un and being spooled on his 4lb gear. started the donk and chased it down and after a short while were disappointed to see a sizeable ray on the end:(. bummer. was so sure it was a good one coming straight after the 38. first time i have seen a ray caught on artificials although i am led to believe that gulps are considered "bio-baits" rather than lures. anyway wind started picking up and after a short but fruitless flick at green we went home for a few coldies. zmans were the pick for the day but dave didn't try one till it was all over. he truly is gulp mad. i think he will get on very well with tim d as he loves the smell of the juice and says he doesn't want to use zmans as it will spoil his second favourite past time - buying gulps;D. we had a lot of fun with our zman vs gulp banter during the day and after dave's recent gaffing "gaffe" i am happy to report he is absolutely expert with the landing net;). all up another good outing and dave was sent home with 4 pan size snaps, the cod and a couple of crabs i had lying around.
davo
Muddy Toes
10-04-2012, 12:34 PM
Another good effort mate but I still can't help feel that tax time can't come quick enough.
netmaker
10-04-2012, 01:07 PM
thanks mate. i look forward to it too. money time and snapper time;D. i am intending on camping at mud for as much of june as i can get away with before it gets busy. bring on the cold.
Mossy247
10-04-2012, 01:07 PM
It was tough going on our boat Davo best we got was a 37 which went back in the drink the rest were all around 30cm's. ::)
Ohhhh poor Jack got a fright when he got on to a grinner which was visitited by the brown shadow from the depths, he still wonders why I swim in the water off mud. Yep I am thinking about a Mud base camp.
Good to see old Dobson is considerate of others like myself and hides their mug under a mask.
Over the long weekend I managed about 5 keepers in the low 40's but love the bay, well Mud in particular.
All in all a magic weekend in the tinny, a few drama's but managed to come good was good to put a face to Dave as I could only ever picture Darryn Lockyer with his voice. ;D
theangryangler
10-04-2012, 01:35 PM
good haul there mate!! good to see mud still got a few about.....:)
ddobson
10-04-2012, 06:14 PM
Hey good day out and my arm is still saw from netting but i need more practice on the gaff hah. Was good to see mossy and yellowjack and to see the famous mosyy,s reef and to finally go out in the rig and smooth ride for its size. I noticed your esky and net was larger than mine but we all know why eh. My wife loved that crab after i left and the mozzies loved me filleting all arvo. Good day had by all (bar yellowjacks knot to the biggun) but we all been there. Thanks Davo till next time. Cheers DD.....
z50man
10-04-2012, 06:41 PM
well done guys a good catch there , winter is on the way so it should improve things ....
netmaker
11-04-2012, 10:45 AM
Hey good day out and my arm is still saw from netting but i need more practice on the gaff hah. Was good to see mossy and yellowjack and to see the famous mosyy,s reef and to finally go out in the rig and smooth ride for its size. I noticed your esky and net was larger than mine but we all know why eh. My wife loved that crab after i left and the mozzies loved me filleting all arvo. Good day had by all (bar yellowjacks knot to the biggun) but we all been there. Thanks Davo till next time. Cheers DD.....
i'm not much chop on the gaff either dave. thats why the supersize net instead. was a good day and not too bad a result considering the number of punters out there. i didn't really expect much tho i must admit some of my best (including pb) have come mid-morning on busy days at mud. glad the boss enjoyed the crabs. will do it again.
netmaker
11-04-2012, 10:51 AM
you're a much gamer man than me mossy (or a bigger fool:P). no way i would go swimming out there. might be my trawling history, but pools are made for swimming, the bay is made for fishing. i made a deal with the grey suits many years back after a couple of scary experiences: they keep out of my bath tub and i keep out of theirs. working well so far...
Mossy247
11-04-2012, 11:43 AM
you're a much gamer man than me mossy (or a bigger fool:P)
a little from column A and a little from column B. I'm aware of the sharks if it happens it happens no different to when I used to paddle over across the mouth of the tweed for a surf on sun up. I personally think its more dangerous on the roads!
blackjew
11-04-2012, 01:34 PM
Gday DAVO Sounds like a top day mate and some more fillets for the freezer .I have not tried the zmans do they have a sent on them or do they just stink lol.
Went up to Yamba for the weekend,i fished a spot that always looked the goods but has never produced until Sat and managed to bag my first N.S.W jEW IT WENT just over 75CM i i could not stop grinnin and bugger me if after he was all nicely filleted and bagged up and on the ice,and i was chilling having a beer with the little lady that i realized i hadn't taken a pic .Oh bugger have to remember that next time .
Cheers Rob
Hey Mossy is that a pic of your new toy mate ,Niceeeeeeeeeeeeee
Mossy247
11-04-2012, 02:21 PM
Hey Mossy is that a pic of your new toy mate ,Niceeeeeeeeeeeeee
Nah not mine buddy it's a mates boat I couldn't afford that rig that is for sure, tax man would be on to me :P
Zman's some have scent others don't hey Rob. I find they are the most economical of the plastics IMO and a little loctite 406 on them and they won't budge from the jig. I have cleaned up all my PB's on the Zman's and really only fish the plastics with the Elaz-Tech rubber that is so durable.
Yellowjack
11-04-2012, 03:42 PM
Damn pig tails!
SALTY"D"
14-04-2012, 09:27 PM
Hi dave,
Sounds like you have been having some fun, seen ya coming past the back of st helena while i was on the way out, i waved but i don't think you were looking, we fished till dark and got bag, had my dad on board, first time in about 5 years, he is always to busy chasing gar down the front.
showed him how the plastics go, he was impressed how many hits they get.
cheers salty.
OODIES
15-04-2012, 01:42 AM
Great post Davo, another good report, Dobbo the mad man in your boat....HHHmmmm wasn't blowin 25knts, so why would he bother...lol ( just kidding Dave)....Winter is my choice Davo, clear deep blue star filled nights, coffee and no crowds, love it. Fish or not.
netmaker
15-04-2012, 10:11 AM
salty - i always have fun. must have been the sunday you saw me. went east of st helena on the monday. sunday was a bit funny weather wise. very rarely travel up the inside going to mud and back. before i left mud on sunday there was a bit of a souwester happening and although i was on the norwest end i thought i would escape the wind by going back on the eastern side. soon as i rounded the top of mud i was out of the wind - and facing straight into a soueaster swell nearing a metre::). first big swell dislodged a crab pot which managed to break my recently purchased $50 sienna just above the reel seat (that part wasn't fun):(. so snuck home inside st helena and green. have got new glasses a few weeks back but really only use them driving at night and as usual was blind and didn't see you or did see you but didn't recognise you - sorry mate, i may have to take the specs out boating now too... as far as your pop and plastics - maybe you should see if you can get him some plastic maggots to try on his rig? ya never know.
bingo - we had great weather on the monday except for the wind kicking in early afternoon. i think it upset dave's fishing style not having the 25 knots to battle tho lol. and you gotta come for a visit soon too mate. i'm getting uncomfortable questions from the boys about the pretend beer in the fridge:P;).