View Full Version : Fishing at Arrawarra

ColeDaddy
09-04-2012, 04:36 PM
I'm taking a few a couple of young mates up to Arrawarra to fish for a few days. We've beach launched there before and fished there a few times. I always start by fishing about a km off Arrawarra headland for some livies and maybe snapper, then head off, usually close to the little island, after kingies. Tried the wash, without much luck. Any other tips for bagging a few trag, pearlies, or a big lumpy "Oldman Snapper", or even some mackeral ???
I have a 5.4m savage lancer and I like to learn from anyone who's got advice to give.
I particularly would like advice on deeper water fishing as I usually only fish in about 30m.

murf
09-04-2012, 05:24 PM
when are you coming over this way? I may be able to help you out with some starter marks

hope the fishing is better than the last few days haha

cheers Murf

hooknpull
09-04-2012, 05:30 PM
Hey murk... It's been terrible here at coffs!

murf
09-04-2012, 05:42 PM
Hey murk... It's been terrible here at coffs!

fished Friday and sat for only one suicide spottie about 5kg and a few mixed small fish, from all reports its been very slow :( my Agnes deckie won the Morwong section in the easter classic haha

small trag all over the ocean in strange spots atm too

went skiing at Grafton today and it was a perfect day :) now I am paying for it haha way too old and soft to do that sort of shit these days

water temp is good but it is all milky and no run in close but heaps of run out 20km or more

had fun with the big swells with the bombies and beach launching in some one elses boat to :)

ColeDaddy
09-04-2012, 06:03 PM
Planning to come up later this week, once the weather improves. Fished up there on Saturday without much luck. My boat will be camoflagued next time as on Saturday I had the worst beach launch ever, got out fished by novice deckie, and had lost the handle for my new winch overboard during failed beach launch and had to borrow a handle. Much thanks and appologies to the locals and good natured fishos there on the day. It was much appreciated and good to see there are some humans worth keeping out there. Thanks guys.

murf
09-04-2012, 07:01 PM
haha yeah there were some interesting launches and wet cars on Saturday

we managed to break both rear cross members on Andy's boat, got it on ok without noticing but the light board would not fit, on closer inspection she had split the bottom out of the cross members :(

I will PM u some marks in the morning when my brain is working a little bit :) remind me if I forget haha

I am going to go hard and get my boat back together this week for a fish with my daughters, they keep annoying me for a fish :)

cheers Murf

ColeDaddy
11-04-2012, 06:01 PM
No worries. After talking to an old bloke (who stinks of fish) I'm thinking of staying at Minnie Waters and launching from there. Then fishing towards Red Rock area. What do ya reckon about beach launching at Minnie Water as opposed to Arrawarra?

murf
11-04-2012, 06:20 PM
I go on holidays to Minnie Water :)

both are are about the same with options but Minnie is better because I am on holidays when there ;)

cheers Murf