View Full Version : crabbing coorooman emu park

XtremeBoony
27-03-2012, 10:44 AM
Well its blowing the best part of 25knots so i thought i would throw a quick report up about a couple of quick trips to coorooman creek which is just outside of emu park. Alot of locals call it starvation creek as it takes alot of effort to find a feed, i tend to use it just for the kiddies as it is close and convienent.

Anyways the missus took off to rocky and I really wanted to do something fishing so I did the unthinkable and packed up both the daughters for a day at coorooman.....BY MYSELF :o My daughters are 1 1/2 and neally 4 so a huge effort by dad was put in. We dropped off the pots and dropped anchor only about 5 mins from the main ramp. The girls had a ball with Breeanna catching her biggest fish to date which was 46cm of king salmon and it went like a freight train on her little ugly stick. She was so excited but was dissapointed when it had to be released as she thought she had dinner. She also caught some small grunter and bream and i'm very proud as I think she is mad keen now. After about 2 hours they had had enough and we checked the pots. We got one just legal and probably wouldn't have kept it but the little bugger was chockers. I also managed a nappy change up a small gutter running the pots. Dad was on fire ::)

Came back the next day with mum as well. Ran the pots and emptied all the riff raff out. Plents of small stuff with every pot having at least 3-4 in it. Rebaited and went for a fish. Kids cracked it so pulled the boat out and dropped them home then came back and pulled the pots out. Heaps more little un's and managed 3 quality bucks. The biggest one went 185mm across the shell and was choclate brown.....yeah buddy ;D

A few tips (i am far from a good crabber but anyway) The last two hours run up to the top of tide seems to be the best. Get as far up the gutters as possible when u drop them in and there will be plenty of water on return. Pull them at top of the tide or an hour or so after. This seems to be working and talked to a few others and they reakon the same. The places I crabbed were only 5-10 mins from the main ramp so u don't need to go far at the moment. Pics are off the iphone so hope they turn out ok.

cheers from boony

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1541/img0120vv.jpg
By xtremeboony (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/xtremeboony) at 2012-03-26

http://img844.imageshack.us/img844/4813/img0125ll.jpg

http://img692.imageshack.us/img692/2096/img0128hx.jpg

http://img849.imageshack.us/img849/1015/img0134d.jpg

http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/6490/img0143squ.jpg

http://img804.imageshack.us/img804/6999/img0149k.jpg

http://img109.imageshack.us/img109/5659/img0150bp.jpg

http://img826.imageshack.us/img826/7504/img0152ru.jpg

27-03-2012, 10:53 AM
Do you drink them two at a time Boony? There are places you can go to, you know.......... :-X

XtremeBoony
27-03-2012, 10:55 AM
ha TOL, geez your quick on the keyboard, do u live on here?? ;D

cheers from boony

27-03-2012, 10:58 AM
Not normally mate,

I'm trying to cut down on the Winfield Reds and today is quite tough..........

Like a cat on a hot tin roof atm........... can't settle down.

Might go for a drive and leave 'em at home.

Great report. Loved it!!

kingcray
27-03-2012, 11:10 AM
Mouthwatering Post Boony. Great looking muddies

Deano

Shagga
27-03-2012, 12:54 PM
Life doesn't get much better than your last photo.

smokindrag
27-03-2012, 12:59 PM
Great effort..... youve inspired me to take the kids out for a fish again....havent done that in ages!! :D

Funchy
27-03-2012, 02:23 PM
Great report as usual Boony! :thumbsup:

mitch92
27-03-2012, 06:58 PM
Good effort. Was up there yesterday (monday)). We got 3 bucks, fair few decent sized jennies. Also got a pretty good bream, few just under-sized grunter, and a pike eel. Lost a few good hits unfortunately. Also noticed the same, after high tide nothing, fishing or crabbing.

trymyluck
27-03-2012, 07:10 PM
Doesn't get any better then that mate.

wesfish
27-03-2012, 07:30 PM
great effort getting the girls out on the water! looked like a great day out with some cool fish for the efforts :)

ifishcq1
27-03-2012, 07:43 PM
Good stuff Boony
we went down to port got a couple of fingeries, barras and some nice crabs, I hope you enjoyed yours

27-03-2012, 07:56 PM
Top stuff Boony always a great read your reports. Nice effort to mate

ifishcq1
28-03-2012, 08:22 PM
Boony, empty your box
I can't reply because your got no room left

XtremeBoony
28-03-2012, 08:24 PM