View Full Version : Crabbing in the Rain

22-03-2012, 08:11 AM
Well with a planned trip with some work mates offshore turned into a raine fest of wind and torrential rain .
So two of the guys couldn t get thru the flooded area's of work i drove thru from Mackay on Monday with one of my mates. Picked up one of my buddies boats and away we went. Tuesday morning we braved the winds to get to my secret crabbing spot pots deploy and the wait was on.
Short wait cause we got there at top of tide.So a quick hour and then we ran the pots
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/059.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/055-1.jpg
Back home showered shaved and to the pub for a countery lunch and a re stock of the esky .
Pouring rain so we chopped our baits ready for the night run of the pots. Wife was out at a show so the kids come along , rain wind and darkness good mixture
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/061.jpg
This is the young fella crashed out on the esky fast asleep during and the return back . He was EXCITED
One crab for that effort
Wednesday morning pouring rain lets go get the pots. Idea was to work a bit of the incoming tide in for some crabs
This paid off with 4 big bucks in the run
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/crabing002.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/th_crabing003.jpg (http://s371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/?action=view&current=crabing003.mp4)
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^Video Above^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

netmaker
22-03-2012, 08:45 AM
beautiful looking muddies. you deserve them for braving the crap weather. look full as too.

Shagga
22-03-2012, 09:10 AM
Awesome muddies. My mouth is watering.

Agrav8_and_Lulu
22-03-2012, 09:16 AM
Well done, that's one of the biggest muddies I've seen

murf
22-03-2012, 09:33 AM
big crabs, big squid, big red jew, big red Emperor, big head

haha top stuff :)

cheers Murf

lampuki
22-03-2012, 12:47 PM
maltese cross......nice.

22-03-2012, 02:52 PM
if you could just advise the co-ordinates for this spot,, i'd be much appreciative

thanks in advance

Scott Ashe
22-03-2012, 04:03 PM
Great to see you scored a nice feed mate in less than favouriable conditions. well done

kingcray
22-03-2012, 04:32 PM
Love the look of the maltese cross under those big fellas - top crabs mate

22-03-2012, 05:34 PM
Here u go Fella's crevac crabs for the mates trip home
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/002-3.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/001-3.jpg

Sheik
23-03-2012, 08:05 AM
Lovely JT
How you going up there? Has the weather beenplaying the game recently? Will try to make it up this winter.
regards jim

23-03-2012, 09:24 AM
Good Jim was hoping to get out for few days but wind and rain hammered us . So done some crabbing instead

bondy99
23-03-2012, 01:10 PM
G'day jtpython,

You did well, nothing like a good feed of muddies from an otherwise crap day.

I too like to crab in the rain.

Bondy

Sheik
23-03-2012, 09:06 PM
Good Jim was hoping to get out for few days but wind and rain hammered us . So done some crabbing instead
and done alright too mate. Hows the boat, get rid of that nasty oilburner two stroke yet?

23-03-2012, 10:30 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?182775-First-Run-Out-with-The-Suzuki
Jim Where have u been buddy new motor is on first trip out 2 weeks ago and reraring to get stuck into them
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?182399-Finally-Talked-the-Wife-into-New-Motor

rosco1974
23-03-2012, 10:33 PM
great looking muddies mate well done,how many hrs you got ton the 140 zuki...have had mine for 3 months today and have done 70hrs on mine

24-03-2012, 07:07 AM
HAHAHAHA Wish i did mate but only 5 on her

XtremeBoony
26-03-2012, 01:56 PM
Nice crabs mate well done, good to see a few horses in amoung the riff raff

Cheers from boony