View Full Version : New Rod to Couple Certate 2500r Reel

kingcray
24-02-2012, 09:27 AM
Hey All,
I have a certate 2500r reel on the way, and am needing a rod to pair it with. Mainly going to target jewfish, jacks, trevally and bay snapper etc... A friend has a Gary Howard Stinger 7ft 4-8kg and uses it everywhere. He loves it

Most rods i own are around the 1-2 or 2-5kg range with small spin reels, can anybody help me out here..? The saltiga rods i have looked at are prob just outta my price range at the moment. Looking to spend about $150 - $200 .
Deano

kingcray
24-02-2012, 10:54 AM
By the way, forgot to mention will mainly be using soft plastics

TheSaint
24-02-2012, 03:13 PM
I would look to pick up second hand Samurai Reaction 302..

or save more & get new one to go with that reel..

Giveitacrack
24-02-2012, 08:03 PM
Gday Deano I have the same Certate running 15lb braid on a Gloomis GL2 852s JWR.It is 7ft 1" long and is rated 6-12lb up to a 3/8 jig head.These rods are the new GL2's made for australia as marketed but really they are sold in the states as Jig worm rod hence the JWR model.I have not caught anything big yet just snapper to 55cm and it has a nice light tip for throwing light jig heads.The only thing I don't like is the poxy exposed butt.Price is around $240-$250 if you want to spend a little more.Not bad for a hand made rod from the U.S.A.Good luck

kingcray
24-02-2012, 09:11 PM
Gday Deano I have the same Certate running 15lb braid on a Gloomis GL2 852s JWR.It is 7ft 1" long and is rated 6-12lb up to a 3/8 jig head.These rods are the new GL2's made for australia as marketed but really they are sold in the states as Jig worm rod hence the JWR model.I have not caught anything big yet just snapper to 55cm and it has a nice light tip for throwing light jig heads.The only thing I don't like is the poxy exposed butt.Price is around $240-$250 if you want to spend a little more.Not bad for a hand made rod from the U.S.A.Good luck

Yeah thanks mate. I got a ripper deal on the certate, i wouldnt spend the normal retail $ for one. I will spend up to $250 if something really grabs my attention, will also take second hand. Have lost 1 or 2 decent fish of late so attempting an upgrade to something heavier.

Sevric
25-02-2012, 05:22 AM
Have a look at the old gl2 loomis LR844s. It is in their live bait range of rods and rated at 20LB, about 8KG. I have used this rod with the old certate 2500r for many years and it is just a delight to use on soft plastics and snapper. Can be purchased O/S for less than $200.

http://www.americanlegacyfishing.com/g-loomis-live-bait-saltwater-fishing-rod-lr844s-gl2-nep.html

kingcray
25-02-2012, 02:23 PM
Hey thanks Sev, i had a look at a few G loomis rods today and also some Samaki rods.. hard to make a choice but it looks like im gonna be forking out a little more cash this time.

Sevric
26-02-2012, 05:53 AM
Hi Kingcray,
One of the things i like about the Loomis LR844S is the fact that it only has a moderate taper. I find this a huge advantage when using braid. Some may disagree but look at the specks closely and you will notice it has the ability to throw very heavy weights for a 20LB rod. A fast taped rod will let you throw light jig heads and weights further. The LR844S comes with a slightly more robust tip which over the years has proven to be both very durable and versitile. A lot of the production rods today have very fine tip sections and a fast tapers which makes them prone to breakage with minimal effort. It is no broomstick either; capable of easily managing weights down to 3/8OZ which is about as light as i fish anyway and yet allows me to use a jigheads of 2OZ which is amazing for a rod of 20LB. It is my go to rod if i can get it out of the wifes hands. Think carfully about what you want the rod to do for you and your style of fishing and make your purchase accordingly.

madmaskbass
27-02-2012, 12:28 PM
I know that i have posted this a few times now in other threads but i am also running a certate 2500r and i just picked up a gary Howard g force extreme rod...10-17lb and it is IMO the pefect match for this reel..i will say that it is a fair bit more expensive than your 200 target but with the certate you could catch some bloody big fish with this combo...if not i reckon the samaki for sure they are great rods as well...i don think i will ever buy a mass produced rod again after seeing the quality and value for money the local rod builders are producing catering best for Australian species and conditions...but yeah mate another huge supporter of the gary howard products...not sure of the store closest to you that has them but jones tackle in chermisde does..that is where i got mine

kingcray
27-02-2012, 04:30 PM
I know that i have posted this a few times now in other threads but i am also running a certate 2500r and i just picked up a gary Howard g force extreme rod...10-17lb and it is IMO the pefect match for this reel..i will say that it is a fair bit more expensive than your 200 target but with the certate you could catch some bloody big fish with this combo...if not i reckon the samaki for sure they are great rods as well...i don think i will ever buy a mass produced rod again after seeing the quality and value for money the local rod builders are producing catering best for Australian species and conditions...but yeah mate another huge supporter of the gary howard products...not sure of the store closest to you that has them but jones tackle in chermisde does..that is where i got mine

thanks heaps mate, like i said i only got the certate by ass, its not something i would sought out to get normally. I really like the Samaki and the Gary Howard range, 1 need to make a decision over the next couple weeks. Everyone's suggestions have been great, thnks lots