View Full Version : Soft Plastics offshore in summer time

TimD
20-02-2012, 05:00 PM
Does anyone have regular success catching fish on soft plastics offshore from Moreton Island, Stradbroke Island and the Gold Coast during summer time. Latelly i haven't been able to catch anything on the plastics. Not sure if the new combo is bad luck. I'm running a Egrell Bear Essentials Rod, 4500 Saltiga S Extreme spooled with 50lb Daiwa Saltiga Hyper PE and ive got a 40lb flurocarbon leader on there at the moment. I use jigheads from 1oz to 4oz, some normal lead head jigheads and some glow powdercoated jigheads. Mostly use 7" gulp jerkshads and 6" gulp grubs, also some Z mans with the paddle tail.

I have recently been purchasing some light knife jigs from 60-120 grams to start trying jigs instead of plastics and hopefully getting a few more fish.

I'm almost tempted to buy another 2-5kg plastics rod and 2500 size reel and start chasing the bay Snapper again as i had plenty of success in the past using lightly weighted soft plastics around mud and the northern bay.

I was hoping to just stick with offshore plastic fishing but with all the fishless trips latelly it might be time to do a bit of bay fishing again.

Is winter better for plastic fishing ?

cheers tim :)

Dicktracey
20-02-2012, 05:14 PM
Let me know when you get it sorted tim ;)
I find winter is a good time to use a heavier nearly a full stout beer ;) German Dunkel is a hit Hope this helps
Dick

TimD
20-02-2012, 05:27 PM
Dick and other bait fisherman, please don't fill my thread with bullcrap >:(

I'm after decent replies ;)

Tim Hutchison
20-02-2012, 05:33 PM
I would down size your leader for sps I use 20lb unless it's for kings or ajs as for jig 40 would be ok, how deep are you fishing to use 1 to 4 oz jig heads

TimD
20-02-2012, 05:57 PM
I would down size your leader for sps I use 20lb unless it's for kings or ajs as for jig 40 would be ok, how deep are you fishing to use 1 to 4 oz jig heads

Yeah i used to use a Egrell Bear S10-H with 4000 certate, 20lb braid and 20-30lb leader. I used to use up to 2oz jigheads with that combo.

Decided to upgrade to the new combo so i could use up to 4oz jigheads in 100 metres of water, i regularly use 1oz jigheads around hutchies etc in 20-40 metres unless the current is roaring, plus i was planning on some light knife jigging up to 120 grams (max weight for the Bear Essentials rod)

I have caught a few kings at square patch in 90 metres of water using 4oz glow jigheads with Z man paddle tails ripped up like a knife jig. So maybe for the shallower water i need to drop down to a 20lb flurocarbon leader and just use the 40lb for jigging and chasing kings and Aj's.

20-02-2012, 06:15 PM
Tim, you should have kept your old outfit. The new one will be great for dropping BIG plastics with a bit of weight. Once you have 100m or so of 50lb braid floating around you are hardly presenting a finesse offering. I could never understand why you flogged of a perfectly good outfit that left a big hole in your arsenal. If you have a spare spool chuck on some 30lb braid and see how it goes. Your big stick will be heaps of fun on kings and Ajs but something a bit lighter will prevent a few of those Nuke Chook sangas

Tim Hutchison
20-02-2012, 06:24 PM
And I think drop your jig head weight most the better fish i have got are up higher, in 30m near hutchies I use 5/8 and get down fine last time at deep tempest I was using 1 1/2 and getting down.

TimD
20-02-2012, 06:47 PM
Hmmm decisions decisions, maybe i should get rid of the combo im using and go back to a Bear S10-H with 4000 certate hyper custom. Guess i can still jig up to 60 gram jigs with the S10-H.

Blindfreddy
20-02-2012, 06:51 PM
Lighter jighead - lighter leader. You should be catching fish all through the year if you are doing it right.

20-02-2012, 06:57 PM
Tim,

personally 50lb braid? thats jigging territory, Agree with Horse, As a heavy offshore outfit, i am using a smith offshore with a certateHD 3500 with 30lbs ( smith can handle 2 oz ) and i reckon thats as heavy as you would want to go, sounds like your asking too much of one outfit...

also if your jigging at places like Square Patch I'm thinking 250gram jigs plus is about where you want to be plus bigger braid so id be looking at a dedicated jigging outfit, the Smiths are good and light.

TimD
20-02-2012, 07:30 PM
Alright decided im going to go back to a lighter combo :thumbsup:

If anyones interested in a as new (used twice) 4500 Saltiga S Extreme fitted with 50lb Saltiga Hyper PE - $950 (paid $1170)

and

Egrell Bear Essentials rod (used twice) - $400 (paid over $500)

timddo
20-02-2012, 07:56 PM
That's funny.
Back to square one. I have a great combo I can do a clean swap.;D;D

rosco1974
20-02-2012, 07:59 PM
tim i am only using 20lb whiplash and 30lb leader floatlining ,i think you maybe fishing a bit heavy mate..i know when i use my heavier lines my catch rate really suffers..lightest possible i recon
cheers rosco

TimD
20-02-2012, 08:00 PM
That's funny.
Back to square one. I have a great combo I can do a clean swap.;D;D

Wouldn't be a Bear S10-H/Certate 4000 combo would it, perhaps my old combo :thumbsup:

clean swap, now your dreaming ;D

TimD
20-02-2012, 08:06 PM
tim i am only using 20lb whiplash and 30lb leader floatlining ,i think you maybe fishing a bit heavy mate..i know when i use my heavier lines my catch rate really suffers..lightest possible i recon
cheers rosco

Yeah mate it's time to take a step back and start getting into more fish, i think a 4000 certate hyper custom spooled with 20lb braid with a bear s10-h will fit the bill.

Coodgee
20-02-2012, 08:10 PM
Alright decided im going to go back to a lighter combo :thumbsup:

If anyones interested in a as new (used twice) 4500 Saltiga S Extreme fitted with 50lb Saltiga Hyper PE - $950 (paid $1170)

and

Egrell Bear Essentials rod (used twice) - $400 (paid over $500)

Geez that's an expensive change of mind dude. Don't do anything reckless.

20-02-2012, 08:10 PM
Tim, keep your heavy outfit and buy a cheaper 4000 sized rig. $400 will see a very functional outfit in your hands. Use it to put a few fish in the boat then pull out the big guns and stick on a 10" plastic and hang on tightly. For my plastic work I use everything from light 2-4 kg outfits up to 24kg. You have to pick the times and places to use specific outfits. You just need more gear

TimD
20-02-2012, 08:16 PM
Nah gotta admit i prefere using a lighter combo all day, so the old combo is still up for grabs :thumbsup:

rosco1974
20-02-2012, 08:24 PM
give ya 50 for it tim since its got no mojo

TimD
20-02-2012, 08:27 PM
give ya 50 for it tim since its got no mojo

50 will get you a 5 minute hold of the Saltiga :P

rosco1974
20-02-2012, 08:32 PM
ok 50 and a pack of pinkshine and a pack of nuc chicken..thats my final offer..least u will have dinner sorted and 50 towards the new combo

Si
20-02-2012, 08:48 PM
tim,
Out of curiosity - These fishless trips..., you fishing by yourself and getting nothing or do you fish with others and they are getting nothing as well. Might not be the gear. There is a chance it is but there is also a good chance its not.......

timddo
20-02-2012, 08:50 PM
ok 50 and a pack of pinkshine and a pack of nuc chicken..thats my final offer..least u will have dinner sorted and 50 towards the new combo

Gotta agree.it's jinxed . The only way to unjinx it is to......

Get a virgin too pee on the combo.

ffejsmada
20-02-2012, 09:31 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?182315-peel-snapps.

Does that answer your question?

TimD
21-02-2012, 06:35 PM
tim,
Out of curiosity - These fishless trips..., you fishing by yourself and getting nothing or do you fish with others and they are getting nothing as well. Might not be the gear. There is a chance it is but there is also a good chance its not.......

Yeah fishing with other soft plastic guy's and they aren't catching either, so i guess it may not be my gear. The 50lb PE braid on my new combo is thinner than the 20lb fireline i used to use on my old combo so i doubt running 50lb PE braid is the problem. Maybe if i drop down from a 40lb leader to a 20lb leader i might get some fish. I used to only run a 20lb leader on the old combo, so maybe a 20lb leader on the new combo will make a difference.

I guess i shouldn't just concerntrate on throwing plastics all the time and mix it up a bit. Like try my light knife jigs, vibrating metal blades etc till i find whats working on the day.

TimD
21-02-2012, 06:58 PM
also if your jigging at places like Square Patch I'm thinking 250gram jigs plus is about where you want to be plus bigger braid so id be looking at a dedicated jigging outfit, the Smiths are good and light.

Don't think this is correct, i have got some kingies on 4oz jigheads at square patch before, 250 grams is only needed if the current is roaring or if you want to get down into the zone quickly.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?178063-Well-that-worked-Finally-a-chance-to-look-for-Kingies!

bluefin59
23-02-2012, 03:53 PM
I personally think you will be sorry once you hook on to a couple of nice fish ,and having said that your not the only one having an ordinary season it just part of it in my opinion , but if you want to go down that path maybe a 3000 morthan brazino from daiwa may suit the lighter way you want to go when your chasing snaps ,pearlies and the like and they are good on kings up to about 15 kg on 30 lb jigging braid . Just throwing some ideas at you lots of luck ..Matt

TimD
23-02-2012, 04:38 PM
I personally think you will be sorry once you hook on to a couple of nice fish ,and having said that your not the only one having an ordinary season it just part of it in my opinion , but if you want to go down that path maybe a 3000 morthan brazino from daiwa may suit the lighter way you want to go when your chasing snaps ,pearlies and the like and they are good on kings up to about 15 kg on 30 lb jigging braid . Just throwing some ideas at you lots of luck ..Matt

G'day Matt, decided i can't be f###ed selling the saltiga combo. I'll just drop my leader down to 20lb flurocarbon when chasing Snaps, Pearlies, Cod etc, and then beef it up for dirty fighting fish like kingies, ambo's. A mate of mine has got me keen on taking my combo up to Hervey Bay to fish with Bargy. He fished a spot with him last weekend up near Roonies and said they were getting constantly smoked by brutes, i think i might need to take the combo up there to well and truly blood it, and hopefully extract some of these brutes.

I'll most probably buy another 2-4kg soft plastic combo for bay Snaps, it will also be used for chasing Snaps in shallow water offshore.

Goldfinch
18-03-2012, 12:17 PM
Timmy, Timmy, Timmy....I just saw this thread and realised you have lost your way my friend. You have a short memory. Jewfish, jewfish, jewfish!!!!! 30lb leader, 30lb braid, Certate 4000, 7 to 10kg rod. I have never fished SP's with heavier than 30lb leader and you have seen the results. Keep your other rig for trolling and jigging. The only thing I would add to the above is a 2nd lighter rig with 20lb braid and leader for the shallower reefs (20-30m). Although I often get smoked and have to replace with 30lb. You need a weekend of SP therapy up here mate :)