View Full Version : Strongest Hooks for Reef Fishing
nowornever1972
11-02-2012, 02:18 PM
I am stocking up on some hooks for a reef fishing trip up north, I got the 8/0 and 10/0 for trout and reds sorted. But I have been told to take plenty of 6/0 hooks.... Bit worried about the strength of these hooks........I have looked the 7766 and the true turns but there not real sharp hooks.
Any opinions on people who have used the tru turns on the reef are they any good, and has anyone got any suggestions on other models of hooks for the 6/0 size that are strong?
11-02-2012, 04:00 PM
G'day mate,
I had a look at some of mine. Couldn't find any 6/0's, but here goes anyway.
Packet # 1 - Mustad 7766D Allround 7/0 Made in Norway. Straight eye and straight "in line" hook. No curb or scarf. They weren't too sharp so I gave them a touch up on a sharpening stone some time ago which fixed them up. They look pretty strong.
Packet #2 - Mustad 92554 Big Red Ultrapoint 7/0 made in Singapore. "Chemically sharpened". Eye is turned back and the shank is shorter that the 7766D. Could be snelled. Also offset to the left when viewed from the front with the eye at the top. Had to give these a touch up also. Chemically sharpened? I don't think so.
Packet #3 - Mustad 92554 Allround 8/0 Made in Norway. As above for packet #2 but one size up. Also had to give these a touch up.
My personal preference would be packet #1. I asked my wife Gwenda what her preference would be between packets #1 and #2 and she said #2.
"Why" I asked. "Because #2 are red hooks" she said.
Take notice of what the wife says.
11-02-2012, 04:16 PM
Owner mutus - seeing as you haven't mentioned you need to gang them. Gang hooks, the VMCs are pretty strong.
PE Tackle had some strong looking hooks at one stage....8-)
scuttlebutt
11-02-2012, 06:13 PM
What do you want the 6/0's for? Tru-turns and VMC's are good hooks. Nice and sharp, pretty strong. I've used the Mustad 7766 but they are a heavy gauge hook, which combined with their factory bluntness make it harder to hook fish. You can sharpen them, but this will make them easier to rust and it's a pain in the arse.
If you want the 6/0's for ganging, I'd go for VMC's, though I use 7/0's for this purpose.
If it's for general reef fishing (though it sounds a bit small) I'd go for Gamakatsu Octupus. I've been using them lately in the larger size. Fine gauge, very sharp and strong, hold fish well. Recently got a pack of 50 9/0's on special for about $40
TREVELLY
11-02-2012, 06:43 PM
I am stocking up on some hooks for a reef fishing trip up north, I got the 8/0 and 10/0 for trout and reds sorted. But I have been told to take plenty of 6/0 hooks.... Bit worried about the strength of these hooks........I have looked the 7766 and the true turns but there not real sharp hooks.
Any opinions on people who have used the tru turns on the reef are they any good, and has anyone got any suggestions on other models of hooks for the 6/0 size that are strong?
Have a look at this thread
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?180694-Hook-Load-Test-to-Failure-8-Popular-Brands-15-Different-Hooks
googarra
11-02-2012, 06:56 PM
If you are going to the reef, 6/0 hooks are for bait. I have a pack of mustard 6/0 in the boat and have not opened them in 3 years, over 50 trips.
I use just mid range price 8/0 or 9/0, the size of the shank is large enough to be plenty strong. You are going to leave a few on the bottom for the reef to grow over and the top of the range jobs snag just the same.
Mustad Hoodlums are a good strong hook in 6/0......I use them gamakatsu and mauruto's and havn't ever straintened them on 50-65lb braid........I reckon the Hoodlums would be the go in that size.
onerabbit
12-02-2012, 04:36 PM
pretty hard to go past Big Gun hooks (Mustad),
only fish to bend one of these for me was a 27kg Sambo, but still landed the fish.
TREVELLY
12-02-2012, 08:00 PM
Mustard Hoodlums failed at about 37kg
Gamakatsu failed at 55kg
Mustard Big Gun fails at 30kg
Gamakatsu is twice as strong as Mustard Big Gun
If you have the $$$ and want the strongest - Owner Gorilla - check it under load in thread below.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=74809&d=1324374110
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?180694-Hook-Load-Test-to-Failure-8-Popular-Brands-15-Different-Hooks
rosco1974
12-02-2012, 08:03 PM
mustard big guns for me in the 5/0 though,plenty strong enough for me
odes20
12-02-2012, 08:51 PM
Like Googarra said top of range get snagged just as much. It also depends on how oftern you fish the reef. Some night trips with sharks around and whatever you may loose a dozen or so between a few guys. If you go thru hooks like my boat does, its crazy to buy some of the hooks listed above.
I tend to use Mustad hooks made in the USA in 8/0 and 9/0 I buy quality hooks made in USA bulk. I sell enough of them to others to help pay for all mine anyway. Good scheme. I can sell hooks to others foer way less than retail here. My mates win and I win for my effort by having free hooks.I also sharpen a set of hooks up before going out. If you have checked them all you dont have to fuss so much when re rigging.
I now use some circle hooks as well in a 9/0