View Full Version : peel island 1/2/12

netmaker
01-02-2012, 03:36 PM
hi all. back to peel this morn. left the raby bay ramp at 6 with my father-in-law playing tagalong. bit of slop around and the bay is still a crappy brown colour. i wasn't too hopeful and even less so when a mate i ran into advised he had been out since 10 the previous night for no keepers. nonetheless having not been out due to the weather i didn't really care. just had to get some salt again. anyway set up drifts at the peel arties again and it was very quiet. 5 boats at the one time counting the 3 of us was the most out there. didn't see a fish until about 8. caught a small snap which went back. about an hour later i caught a 41cm fish which went in the box. around another hour later a 53cm fish was boated too. both of these went to the inlaws for a feed. a half hour later i got the strike i was after. unfortunately it didn't last long. i have taken to using snaps of late so i can change jigs easily and quickly. well i wont do that anymore. this is the second time a snap has come back straightened. the first time i lost a good fish i figured i had not done the snap up properly so continued to use them. not so this time. i knew it was locked correctly. spose thats what you get for taking short cuts.
davo

01-02-2012, 04:55 PM
Davo, give yourself a stiff uppercut. Jigheads and snaps are not a good combination. Tie your leader a bit longer and retie your jigs. It only takes a moment to do each time. Good effort pulling a feed under those conditions

ddobson
01-02-2012, 05:07 PM
Good colour water eh. I saw it on tues arvo and all the jelly fish around and dirty as. Good to get hits in that dirty water. Some keepers makes it a trip worth goin in this crappy weather. Cheers DD.....

rosco1974
01-02-2012, 05:19 PM
another feed mate well done,think u need to come for a ride in the cat so u can show me how to catch snapps at mud.will bring darren along as well but he will more than likely be half pissed

Mossy247
01-02-2012, 05:46 PM
Nice work Davo, gee's the clips... Oh well last mistake you will make, I have never been a fan of those things. Every time your heading out the esky is getting a use. Top catch in the conditions though, I will be giving mud a go saturday see what happens. Which of the zmans did the damage?

netmaker
01-02-2012, 06:08 PM
yeah horse - really deserve 2 of em. lesson learnt, never to be repeated.
dave - still loads of jelly out there today too.
rosco - be happy to mate. mind you i can only show you how i "try" to catch snaps. never works under pressure lol. wont worry me if darrens half cut.
mossy - the zman chunkz in pearl white caught the keepers (on the 6 lb braid) and the 4" paddlerz in electric chicken tempted the one that got away. will be at whyte island 6am saturday myself. taking luke for a river fish (maybe mud if the weather forecast improves).

Mossy247
01-02-2012, 06:16 PM
Nice, we should be in my mates new boat heading to mud weather permits keep an eye out for the pirate he works along the river there hehe. I'm hoping to catch you guys at some stage as Lucas has a chilli sauce for me, well you know the deal hahaha bit hot for mild mossy. Give you a bell Saturday mate

kingcray
01-02-2012, 06:30 PM
If weather is good, i will too be trying Mud. 4.3mtr stessco catcher.

P.S got the blue ausfish stickers on the sides now :D
P.P.S - awesome stuff gettin the 2 snaps, i havent seen any in the sludge of late.

Silent
01-02-2012, 06:34 PM
Thank for report as I had wondered about the water clarity and good to know they are still out there...

lucee81
01-02-2012, 06:38 PM
So that means i better chuck the chilli in for mossy as well. well all made and sitting in the fridge waiting for saturday.....

Cody
01-02-2012, 06:40 PM
Nice work netmaker. I am heading out to Peel on Saturday morning for a plastic session, weather pending. All my deckies are working so was just seeing if anyone wanted to come along to throw a few plastics around for some snaps. Have room for 1 person, got a quinnie hornet 4.35 with an electric. All you need to bring is some soft plastic gear.

Cheers Cody

Dicktracey
01-02-2012, 08:27 PM
Nice, we should be in my mates new boat heading to mud weather permits keep an eye out for the pirate he works along the river there hehe.

Don't worry Davo until your form lifts your off the radar, I have only just shaken the donut curse by selling old boat ;) Hope to pick up new Pirate ship tomorrow Fingers crossed ;)

As for your Mossy there are that many tracking devices stuck to your kit I even know what Chinese massage place you have the top knocked off at ;)

And Jack's secret Bass hole still has more photos circulating than Pam Anderson :)

mattooty
02-02-2012, 09:32 AM
Good effort in what sounds like trying conditions, but come on blokes, why the negative attitude towards the dirty water? As soon as the water gets some colour in it you'll find alot of fish on the closer, shallower grounds. All the northern rivers are flooding away and spewing out some filthy water and everyone only has 2 fish species on their lips, jew from the walls and snapper from the close grounds. You'll be surprised at the quality you'll pull if you persevere.
Only thing is, maybe in this instance bait might be slightly more effective as the fish aren't hunting by sight, but rather by feel and smell.

BillyT2382
02-02-2012, 10:08 AM
Nice work Davo, so wish someone would take me out for a fish lol, grrrr still waiting on that blimmin mechanic to fix my boat lol, Always nice to know that fish are still around ayy lol

Billy

chaspion01
02-02-2012, 03:23 PM
Hey Billy, Cody is looking for a deckie a couple of posts above this one. I would have my hand up if I could get a leave pass!!

fisho8
02-02-2012, 04:22 PM
Not a bad catch for the conditions Dave I might go and give my spot up this way a go sunday.

netmaker
02-02-2012, 06:40 PM
mossy - if i remember right that chili is for your wife isn't it? you prefer yoghurt and cucumber yeah;)?

kingcray - sounds like we have matching stickers mate. will get luke to keep an eye out as i am a bit blind. plus friday night is beer night. sight may be worse than usual saturday morn::).

silent/mattooty - i haven't really done very well in the brown water in general. that includes my first and only fish (so far) out at somerset dam (i may be waiting quite a while for that one to turn blue:-?). haven't had much luck on the placcys and the bait tends to catch insane amounts of catfish and sharks. always prepared to give it a go tho because the only definate is that if you dont go, you will definately catch zero fish:P.

dick - donut curse? what donut curse? oh, yeah, thats right. geez, that was way back. almost forgotten. now, where did i hide those easter eggs?::) donutted today tho. went on a gold coast charter for the morning and caught a 25cm sweep and that was it. think about 4 or 5 fish (including a red rock cod) total in the esky with the biggest being a 50cm trag. no snaps. lots of swell and 4 sickies out of the 11 of us. reminded me why i like bay fishing so much!

billy - i'd say come join us but my boat really isn't good fishing 3. follow chaspions advice and pm cody:thumbsup:.

Yellowjack
02-02-2012, 07:29 PM
Nice work davo mate

Don't worry Davo until your form lifts your off the radar, I have only just shaken the donut curse by selling old boat ;) Hope to pick up new Pirate ship tomorrow Fingers crossed ;)

As for your Mossy there are that many tracking devices stuck to your kit I even know what Chinese massage place you have the top knocked off at ;)

And Jack's secret Bass hole still has more photos circulating than Pam Anderson :)

Hahaha Dick, I knew I couldnt trust a pirate! All the bass have been washed away, I have some new spots now hopefully you dont walk your dog there! I might take a picture of a random creek in the middle of nowere to send you astray :P

Nice work Davo, so wish someone would take me out for a fish lol, grrrr still waiting on that blimmin mechanic to fix my boat lol, Always nice to know that fish are still around ayy lol

Billy

Crazy Billy you better ask him to fix your boat soon, I heard mossy is keen to head out wide with ya! Its been in there for a while aye, I would be checking to see if the mechanic has skipped town or not.

Jack

Mossy247
02-02-2012, 08:00 PM
Crazy Billy you better ask him to fix your boat soon, I heard mossy is keen to head out wide with ya! Its been in there for a while aye, I would be checking to see if the mechanic has skipped town or not.
Jack

Doesn't sound good though Jack the boat is abit sick he was saying. Looks like you guys will be the two down at Hayes Inlet catching all the flatty's. You should swap him a zmam for his deadly ranga.