View Full Version : Combined order from US tackle shop to save on postage
Coodgee
19-01-2012, 09:03 PM
Hi all, I am looking to buy a spool of Fins braid from Tackle direct in the US (www.tackledirect.com (http://www.tackledirect.com)). The braid is only $22 US for a 300yard spool of 50 pound. you pay 3 to 4 times that much at the local tackle store. But the problem for me is the courier charge is $26. But the good news is it's only a couple of extra dollars for an additional 3 or 4 spools.
So I was wondering if anyone wants a spool or two and we can split the courier charge? It gets really cheap if we get 3 or 4 people to split postage. If you don't like fins they have heaps of brands, plus they sell plenty of other stuff too.
I will be happy to place your order and pay for it if you promise to come and pick it up and reimburse me when the gear arrives. For this reason I will probably have to limit this offer to people who have been around on this board for a while.
If you can get back to me tonight it would be perfect and I will get the order off, hoping it will get here by next weekend :)
thriller
20-01-2012, 12:00 AM
Have a look at an ebay store called " shimreels".
Get the express postage and you should be happy.
Coodgee
20-01-2012, 12:17 PM
Have a look at an ebay store called " shimreels".
Get the express postage and you should be happy.
thanks, but I don't see any option to get express post, and it doesn't indicate how long it will take to get here??
edit: based on some very mixed feedback for shimreels I went with tackledirect and just selected USPS first class mail. Just under $30 delivered but could take 1-4 weeks.
thriller
20-01-2012, 01:12 PM
I have bought heaps from shimreels. Agreed the Express post is a little hard to work out.
all you do is win the items you wish to buy and then ask the seller for a combine total with express postage.
The delivery time is like 1 week (express) vs up to 6 weeks (normal) postage.
express from the US should be 3-4 days. The last reel I purchased was shipped via postal service and took 10 working days for 16 dollars. (it was free shipping for me). Surface mail on a spool of braid would be about a third of the price $6 if it gets charged by volume. I personaly wouldn't bother with express unless I really wanted it within a few days.
That's alright I bought 3500yards of 30lb Sufix high performance braid for $89 delivered. The bloke make a mistake and sent me 40lb so he sold that to me for $50 and resent the 30lb. The stuff works just fine.
killitfillit
20-01-2012, 10:32 PM
I'm in florida at the moment and then in a few days I fly back to LA for a week then home to brisbane if it was easy to pick up i would stuff it in my bag.
21-01-2012, 05:06 AM
Now you tell me Roly!! I received my new Stradic FY last week!!
Have a good break over there mate and will organise a fish in the next few weeks after your return.
FISHAWN
21-01-2012, 07:43 AM
Stay away from shimreels, many members on this site including myself have had bad dealings with this prick. Do a forum search and check his history.
21-01-2012, 04:03 PM
$26 seems a hell of a lot for postage. USPS First Class Mail International is an excellent, cost effective method but it will take about 10 working days.
I've found postage costs a good way to seperate the wheat from the chaff when it comes to on-line sellers, whether they be OS-based, or in Aus.
Good luck, FWIW I'd shop around a bit more.Cheers.
Captain Seaweed
21-01-2012, 04:07 PM
Hey guys I bought 1800m of Daiwa jigging 80LBS braid for $200 from the states for your info off flea bay
Mrs Ronnie H
21-01-2012, 09:24 PM
Check out a fella on the bay-- rivertoreef-- he has fins braid and is cheap
Who is the seler sending the shipment through- sounds alot for postage.
Ronnie
Coodgee
22-01-2012, 01:09 AM
$26 is for fedex expidiited. Pretty standard price for courier. I like to be able to track my parcel and it can arrive in less than 5 days. USPS will do on this occasion because its cheap and im not in a hurry. I don't like buying off eBay. The whole interface is clunky and amateurish comPared to a proper online store. I like tackle direct because he always ships the same day you place the order. None of this "seller usually ships within 3 days" BS.
I notice the Aussie online stores are trying to reduce the price of fins down to $50. Still not cheap enough when you can get it for $20 from the US. I saw one tackle shop in townsville selling 300 yards for $80. Strewth!
Let the free market previal I say.
Mrs Ronnie H
22-01-2012, 01:45 PM
Do they have 500 yrd spools of 50Lb.
Ronnie
Coodgee
22-01-2012, 03:36 PM
No they don't seem to stock 50o yard spools at all.
perko
22-01-2012, 05:59 PM
What about power pro from reel fishing deals. Free postage over $50 order. Usually get stuff within 10 days and great to deal with.