View Full Version : peel island snap sesh
netmaker
19-01-2012, 02:42 PM
hi all. back again. went to west peel arties today and drifted from end to end about a dozen times, moving my drift a little wider each time. got there about 8am. 1st drift produced a porcupine fish on the new zman creaturez. also had a deadstick out the back with a 4" atomic shad on it. 2nd drift and the deadstick goes off and a short while later a 51cm snap hits the deck;D. quickly removed the hook and cast out back and before i could get the fish in the box it goes off again. it was a bigger fish i would have put at about 60-65cm. 3/4 of the way up and i lose him. bit the line off above the snap - bugger:'(. the next few drifts were pretty quiet with only a few little fish and then the deadstick goes off yet again. this turned out to be another 51cm snap;D. oh well, theres a feed. anyway i noticed that the deadstick seemed to be doing all the work today and i figure that with fast moving current the deadstick gets more time in the zone than the plastic i am casting out front and retrieving. so i put the other rod in the holder too and kicked back enjoying the comfort of my newly updated skipper seat;D;D.
just before 12 my "whiting" stick (mossy and salty know the one - with the $17 abu reel on it) buckled over to the water line. grabbed the rod and set the hook and knew immediately i had a pretty good fish on. managed to wind in the other line with 1 hand whilst hanging onto him at the same time - mostly due to the fact that he was still running away from me at a rapid rate:o - it had 70 foot of line out so took a short while to wind in. i was starting to worry about being spooled when he pulled up and i started the return journey for him. 10 minutes later, maybe more(time flies when your having fun;)) a 72cm hit the ice and completed the feed;D;D. fished another hour for zip and with the wind picking up decided to go home. dropped the 2 smaller fish at the in-laws on the way and had the joy of seeing my little girls eyes light up when i got home:D. she loves her snapper - and dad has to cook it too::);D!
first over 70 for 2012 and damn happy to get that monkey off my back;D.
davo
Mossy247
19-01-2012, 02:58 PM
Nice work mate, I recon that little whipper of a rod has accounted for your biggest snapps hasn't it? Hahaha, bread report, aweomes session. Catch ya soon. Tight lines mossy
** It was to read great report - Auto correct on the android :-/ **
nice one mate. I might just kick back next time and let the chop and the current do all the work by the sounds of it. good one.
you know it kind of make me unwell seeing your reports come through mid week while I'm at work. you must be retired or something. you probably earned it mate so good one. can wait to walk to my own beat one day.
Yellowjack
19-01-2012, 03:11 PM
Nice work mate! Z mans always do the job :P
Jack
Agrav8_and_Lulu
19-01-2012, 03:19 PM
Well done Davo that's a nice catch, got to be happy with that one.
Symetre
19-01-2012, 03:24 PM
Hi Netmaker, What is the absolute max jig size you would use for snapper? I found myself in some strong current on the weekend and couldn't get the plastic down but I have never bought bigger than a 1/2oz head.
Awesome catch for you again congrats. You have certainly got a good routine figured out for bay snaps.
netmaker
19-01-2012, 03:41 PM
cheers fellas.
mossy - that little rod has landed my biggest 3 i think. quite a nice little weapon. didn't catch any bread tho:P - maybe bread and butter species?;)
si - self employed tax agent mate - jul - oct = 6 days/3 nights per week. nov - jun = appointment only, tuesday arvo or wednesday morn only. works for me and my clients are very familiar with my routine. i have a digital photo frame on my desk (brag board:P) and you wouldn't believe the number of people who don't give a rats about their tax and just want to know where i caught all the snaps;). and.... i do great rates for ausfishers too;D.
jack - atomics accounted for the 2 smaller fish. zman 5" paddlerz in new penny got the 72.
agrav8 - thanks mate, i am very happy with it.
netmaker
19-01-2012, 03:48 PM
Hi Netmaker, What is the absolute max jig size you would use for snapper? I found myself in some strong current on the weekend and couldn't get the plastic down but I have never bought bigger than a 1/2oz head.
Awesome catch for you again congrats. You have certainly got a good routine figured out for bay snaps.
cheers symetre. i used 1/2 oz today but could get the 3/8th down too on the rod i was working. just changed to 1/2 oz when deadsticking. but i wouldn't hesitate to use heavier if the conditions required. i do have some 1 oz glow elevator jigs i want to try at harries 1 night when this weather sorts itself out.
cheers fellas.
mossy - that little rod has landed my biggest 3 i think. quite a nice little weapon. didn't catch any bread tho:P - maybe bread and butter species?;)
si - self employed tax agent mate - jul - oct = 6 days/3 nights per week. nov - jun = appointment only, tuesday arvo or wednesday morn only. works for me and my clients are very familiar with my routine. i have a digital photo frame on my desk (brag board:P) and you wouldn't believe the number of people who don't give a rats about their tax and just want to know where i caught all the snaps;). and.... i do great rates for ausfishers too;D.
jack - atomics accounted for the 2 smaller fish. zman 5" paddlerz in new penny got the 72.
agrav8 - thanks mate, i am very happy with it.
Nice, quick question - can you claim fishing tackle as a tax deduction, stress relief or something. cmon mate give me something!!
fisho8
19-01-2012, 04:22 PM
Great work Dave good feed there mate.... 72cm is a gem.:)
netmaker
19-01-2012, 04:35 PM
Nice, quick question - can you claim fishing tackle as a tax deduction, stress relief or something. cmon mate give me something!!
hahaha. you dont reckon iv'e looked into that already? can be done. line fishing licence - about 20k. annual upkeep of licence - about 2k. and if i make a loss (guaranteed), i cant claim it against my other income unless my other "gross income" is less than 40k. thats what i pay my secretary so if i earned less than that i wouldn't be in business and certainly couldn't afford to fish. this legislation was brought in to address "queen street farmers" and would apply to "queen street fishos" too. so, if you gross under 40k and you have the dough to spend $20k on a licence then yes you could claim your fishing losses against your other income including boat upkeep and all your tackle costs (less any private usage %).
hooknpull
19-01-2012, 04:37 PM
Hi netmaker, last night was the night to go to harrys weather wise. It was flat as a tack! I trolled from harrys to the Sandhills for a couple of macks then had a small soft plastic session with a few smaller snap. I got smashed by something big ( possibly a shark) on a ganged pilly hanging out the back, taught hit for 5-10mins before I got reefed. The line came up frayed. Anyways good to see the new arti reef at peel is holding fish. I drove up from Russell island and peel is about half way to the Sandhills. Cheers
Aaron
merseybluenose
19-01-2012, 05:21 PM
Nice catch nm - is the artie reef on the western side of peel near the green beacon on that side?? Regularly fish there and at low tide you can see the reef come up just inland of that green beacon....is that the artie??
NoBananas
19-01-2012, 07:17 PM
Nice one,
Catching fish of that size 20mins from the ramp, how good is that. Awesome.
BillyT2382
19-01-2012, 07:43 PM
dayyyum very nice fish davo...wow, The 3 p's definately work today ayy lol awesome pic's
Billy
hooknpull
19-01-2012, 07:52 PM
Does anyone know the actual mark for west peel arti? From every post I have read, seems nobody can find them. Cheers Aaron.
NoBananas
19-01-2012, 09:41 PM
Hooknpull,
Are you talking about the arti reef balls that were put down last year west of Peel?
netmaker
19-01-2012, 09:59 PM
Nice catch nm - is the artie reef on the western side of peel near the green beacon on that side?? Regularly fish there and at low tide you can see the reef come up just inland of that green beacon....is that the artie??
no, that would be the end of the spit (the green is known as the spit beacon). the arties are the reef balls dropped a year back. about 12 locations with 10-12 balls per site. gps marks are available at derms website.
hooknpull
19-01-2012, 10:48 PM
Hooknpull,
Are you talking about the arti reef balls that were put down last year west of Peel?
Yes mate. Apparently in recent threads some guys couldn't find them on them marks..
netmaker
19-01-2012, 11:27 PM
i have found their marks to be accurate. the tallest of those pods is only 800mm. allow for a little sinkage and there's not much there to see. if you didn't know they were there you could travel over them at speed without noticing them quite easily.
NoBananas
20-01-2012, 02:15 AM
I found them to be spot on too. I have a hand held garmin gps, nothing flash but did the job. Like Nm said you can get the marks from the derms web site.
Repete1
20-01-2012, 09:54 AM
I went to Harry's yesterday morning. Very quiet for a while but found a little show on the hds. Ended up with 3 med snap from 45-50cm. Got done on three solid hook ups though. Damn!
Weather picked up bout 1 so headed home.
coraltrout68
20-01-2012, 02:08 PM
Nice fish.
Spent a few hours at Coochie, same day as you were at Peel and I only got one just legal squire in 3 hours.
ddobson
20-01-2012, 08:01 PM
Good on yah Davo with the new years feed and some good fish for us to try and beat. I spent so much time shasingpelagics over holidays and left the snaps breed for a few weeks. I see you found the ones i was feeding eh. Lucky bugger. I will get back into the swing of it soon mate. Cheers DD.....