View Full Version : NEW bt50 getting there
stinky-stabi
18-01-2012, 09:19 PM
7604376042she is starting to get together, have nearly 5000ks on the clock , got few power plugs for the fridge in the tray , side steps, bullbar, lights,mags (32inch tyres), etc, just need me steel tray set up and will be set....oh an snorkel on order but still waiting? fuel average on long trips 500ks + is 9.1 ltrs per 100 ,, around town bout 10.6ltr per 100ks..... very happy camper;D
Pazz01
19-01-2012, 08:16 AM
If you don't mind me asking, whats the damage for one of these?
Sounds like it goes good.
Pazz
Camhawk88
19-01-2012, 05:43 PM
Appears as though he does mind you asking Pazz??
stinky-stabi
19-01-2012, 07:05 PM
If you don't mind me asking, whats the damage for one of these?
Sounds like it goes good.
Pazz
no probs , 57k so far, me iphone must have diliked ur post lololol
rosco1974
19-01-2012, 08:49 PM
hey mate how does it go towing your boat.does it chew much more fuel
stinky-stabi
19-01-2012, 09:21 PM
hey mate how does it go towing your boat.does it chew much more fuel
Have only towed boat to Brisbane n back and average on computer said high 12's at 110ish , reckon with big boat would need poly airbags
rosco1974
19-01-2012, 09:28 PM
will let u know when i get one and hook the 2400 kc to the back of it.
stinky-stabi
19-01-2012, 10:06 PM
will let u know when i get one and hook the 2400 kc to the back of it.
You won't be disappointed , will let you know in the next month when I tow the boat to 1770, as there are a few hills on that trip and bit of distance, might be bit heavy on juice the with big cat??? Maybe we could do test run lololol
Pazz01
20-01-2012, 08:47 AM
No problems stinky, thanks for that.
Just in the market for a dual cab soon and considering my options. The fords and mazda's are substantially dearer than a hilux which has surprised me. Of course that is with the 3.2L in them which would be the only way to go in my opinion.
But still looking and deciding.
Pazz
stinky-stabi
20-01-2012, 11:31 AM
Like comparing chalk n cheese if you looks at a lux
Pazz01
20-01-2012, 12:20 PM
Like comparing chalk n cheese if you looks at a lux
Would you mind elaborating stinky?
I'm new to the world of purchasing my own 4x4 and I have only just started looking since Xmas. I am keen for all the feedback/opinions I can get.
Pazz
stinky-stabi
20-01-2012, 05:51 PM
dont get me wrong i love my toyota's(still own 2) but take them all for a drive and you will see for yourself mate.. if i was on abit of a budget i would have bought the dmax my self, this thing of mine feels like a car not a commercial povo pack ute , which it is..
GARFISH
20-01-2012, 06:29 PM
Have just been down this path myself as to what dual cab to buy. as we have 3 kids, full seatbelt's in rear was first priority so that scrubbed toyota out and most of the nissans except the st-x. the new ranger , BT50, Dmax/colorado, amorak and triton
Dmax / colorado did not suit our 3 lumps of kids in terms of rear room. The amorak was a great car but not in auto
In the end most of them are great (all of them were nice to drive compared to my old falcon). Drive ,test drive and then test drive again.... Dealers were sick of me towards the end but hey it is my coin.... Ended up choosing the one that we felt most comfortable in which is all that mattered.
20-01-2012, 07:19 PM
. fuel average on long trips 500ks + is 9.1 ltrs per 100 ,, around town bout 10.6ltr per 100ks..... very happy camper;D
Ya missing one thing, Stinky.... an Ausfish windscreen sticker :)
My fuel usage in the Colorado runs differently... I use more on the highway than around town. Highway runs at around 11.4 and town is under 10's.
Towing 2 ton of boat pulls it out to 17's.
I think you'll find it better in the long run to swap ya rear suspension to some good Aussie made springs and shocks.
The Colorado's ( Genuine ) springs flatened out after 30,000K, so I upped the ante to EFS shocks and springs and it is a totally different ( and better ) car.
OH, ya BT50 is looking nice, the snorkel will make it look like a real 4 x 4 :P :) :) :)
cheers LP
propdinger
21-01-2012, 05:37 PM
mate got a dmax resprung at bayside springs @capalaba it it made a lot of difference to the ride with weight on the back and not that exxy at all.
worth every cent
21-01-2012, 05:53 PM
Yes Jeff, same springs on both vehicles and possibly others. Country of origin.... India. Not that , that is an issue, it is what it is.
BTW, I got a 100,000k warranty with the Aussie springs and shocks.
phill
rosco1974
21-01-2012, 05:56 PM
hey stabi,did you buy the xlt or the xt,got a few prices today from oldmac will sit down with them later in the week.trying to buy the demo they have got down there....just got to convince them to sell it otherwise it will more than likely be the xtra cab 4x2 alloy tray, ladder rack, tow bar price was around the 36k drive away
stinky-stabi
21-01-2012, 09:55 PM
hey stabi,did you buy the xlt or the xt,got a few prices today from oldmac will sit down with them later in the week.trying to buy the demo they have got down there....just got to convince them to sell it otherwise it will more than likely be the xtra cab 4x2 alloy tray, ladder rack, tow bar price was around the 36k drive away
I got the xt for 42888 plus auto 2100, when I bought mine they mached the price of a demo with 3000ks on it, so ended with no k's find the cheapest one on care sales and use that as your bartering point, I saved 5777 on purchase price,, good luck
rosco1974
21-01-2012, 10:51 PM
thanks for the heads up.jut looked at carsales and can get a 4x4 duelcab for bout 5 k more on that site than the 4x2 xtra cab
stinky-stabi
22-01-2012, 05:34 AM
thanks for the heads up.jut looked at carsales and can get a 4x4 duelcab for bout 5 k more on that site than the 4x2 xtra cab
go into advanced mode and put in all ya things ya lookn for(3.2l sorts em out) ,then refine with lowest to highest will save you lookn at all the other that dont suit ya.... u will get dual cab for 41/42k driveaway 4x4
rosco1974
17-03-2012, 11:16 PM
been down to mazda this arvo looking at the gt which is the top of the line which i can get for just on 50k or otherwise the base model is around 44k driveaway...the xtr is 48800 so for 1200 u better off going the gt...prices are with a towbar and a few bits and pieces in auto....nearly done the deal but i wasnt happy with the trade in price...there bout 1500 away from what i want for the 09 bt50 i have now...any1 want a 09 bt50 4x4 duel cab auto done 65000k for 26k
stinky-stabi
18-03-2012, 08:29 AM
rosco u wont be dissapointed mate...but do not YES DO NOT BUY THE MAZDA bullbar ,,,,nothing but troubles...mine has come loose three times an scratched paint off the gaurds,,,, and they still cant work out why......their bull bar is shite shite shite....im going to go an xrox soon
rosco1974
18-03-2012, 08:36 AM
took the missus for a drive in the gt yesterday...prob the worse thing i could do as she wont even look at the base model now with all the trimmings of the top model...hope to order one this week and pick it up in 3 weeks
cheers rosco
stinky-stabi
18-03-2012, 09:32 AM
took the missus for a drive in the gt yesterday...prob the worse thing i could do as she wont even look at the base model now with all the trimmings of the top model...hope to order one this week and pick it up in 3 weeks
cheers rosco
yeah sounds like my missus , bought her brand new toyota and she still takes my ute to work.....i tried to buy her a dual cab but she didnt want one until i bought the bt50 .....doh ,thinkn of getting another car(one for me) and she can have the mazdabaiter
stinky-stabi
18-03-2012, 09:35 AM
been down to mazda this arvo looking at the gt which is the top of the line which i can get for just on 50k or otherwise the base model is around 44k driveaway...the xtr is 48800 so for 1200 u better off going the gt...prices are with a towbar and a few bits and pieces in auto....nearly done the deal but i wasnt happy with the trade in price...there bout 1500 away from what i want for the 09 bt50 i have now...any1 want a 09 bt50 4x4 duel cab auto done 65000k for 26k
mine owes me $57500 am still waiting for snorkel after 3months?????? and seat covers?????? dont expect any miracles cause everthing takes a while to get for them(accessories)... so your price of 50k is bloody good i reckon as i have the povo pack
rosco1974
18-03-2012, 09:50 AM
yeah i know mazda at cleveland are fitting aftermarket towbars now but with the mazda wiring harness..heaps of wiring harnesses but no towbars
rosco1974
01-04-2012, 02:54 PM
well the deal has been done should get it this week sometime.ended up with the GT model auto with tow bar and seatcovers with my break kit fitted for my boat trailer for 51k drive away..think i got pretty good deal
cheers rosco
stinky-stabi
02-04-2012, 07:50 PM
wot ever u do rosco do not buy the mazda bar!!!!!!!!!!!!!! both my guards have to be repaired from mine rubbing hopefully get it removed and refunded ...not happy
rosco1974
02-04-2012, 08:00 PM
will get a bar down the track.will leave it as it comes for a bit...
j_man_84
12-04-2012, 04:43 PM
Hey stabi truck looks good mate i think the bt50 is growing on me, when i first saw them i thought they were shocking but as i see more of them and the extras you get as standard i.e rear diff lock, cruise etc i think i maybe might even buy one at the end of the year. I definetely think a steel bar makes them look alot better and more tough up front. Hows yours going any issues so far?? look forward to your feedback. cheers
Jono
Playtime
12-04-2012, 05:03 PM
I also had a look at the GT model today...awesome bit of kit I reckon. Jump inside and you would think you were in a luxury European vehicle. I didnt test drive, but from the specs it must go alright, and importantly tow the boat with ease...I look forward to some more pictures guys.
stinky-stabi
14-04-2012, 10:18 AM
Hey stabi truck looks good mate i think the bt50 is growing on me, when i first saw them i thought they were shocking but as i see more of them and the extras you get as standard i.e rear diff lock, cruise etc i think i maybe might even buy one at the end of the year. I definetely think a steel bar makes them look alot better and more tough up front. Hows yours going any issues so far?? look forward to your feedback. cheers
Jono
absolutely love it , have 11000 on the clock and everything has been sweet ....other than the stupid bullbar......and the misses claiming it.... :)