View Full Version : "Alexander" build update

dayoo
17-01-2012, 03:52 PM
I thought I'd better give an update on the build progress of "Alexander" (the great).
The boat is presently in the painters spray booth for bogging and painting.
It will be painted white from the gunnals up and gold on the hull with black rego and dectals.
As soon as painting is complete it will get the fit out of windows, toilet, shower, chairs, carpets, electronics and motors will be fitted by the Suzuki engineer.
I will update this thread as work progresses.
It finished up 10.2metres long and 3.4metres wide with plenty of room down the back corner for my bean bag;D

Pic attached.

Barry

The Woo
17-01-2012, 04:22 PM
Looks like a weapon!

Do you have a build thread elsewhere?

Mossy247
17-01-2012, 04:24 PM
That is one mean looking boat Barry can't wait to see more pics, the ones of the aggressive bow.... Awesome. Cheers for the update

lethal098
17-01-2012, 04:29 PM
Bloody hell thats massive, Makes Frank look even smaller again!!

dayoo
17-01-2012, 04:48 PM
Looks like a weapon!

Do you have a build thread elsewhere?
Yes mate originally posted under boating on Ausfish forum on 23/7/2011.
Just search under Alexander and it will come up.

Barry

Triple
17-01-2012, 04:50 PM
Why wouldn't you have just updated one of these threads? Or at least just have one build thread so people could follow it from start to finish?

http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/852/40451025472838792784210.jpg

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?173870-quot-Alexander-quot-the-weapon-report-2

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?174783-Building-of-quot-Alexander-quot-week-4

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?175754-quot-Alexander-quot-build-update

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?176700-Building-of-quot-Alexander-quot-report-5

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?177459-Alexander-build-completed

17-01-2012, 05:12 PM
Thanks for the heads up Barry. I liked the colours from the original boat. Will we see these again?Cheers,Wags

dayoo
17-01-2012, 06:19 PM
Triple,

This latest thread is to cover the painting and fitout.
The original thread was for the build which was completed when the boat was towed out of the boatbuilders shed.

Other people complain if everthing is in the one thread as they think that they have read it all and don't view. Damed if I do and damed if I don't:-?

Barry

dayoo
17-01-2012, 06:23 PM
Thanks for the heads up Barry. I liked the colours from the original boat. Will we see these again?Cheers,Wags

Wags,
You will like the new paint colours especially the black stensil work over the gold sides.

Barry

trymyluck
17-01-2012, 07:01 PM
Triple,

This latest thread is to cover the painting and fitout.
The original thread was for the build which was completed when the boat was towed out of the boatbuilders shed.

Other people complain if everthing is in the one thread as they think that they have read it all and don't view. Damed if I do and damed if I don't:-?

Barry

Ahh don't worry about it, ya can not please everyone.::)

My only complaint is I can not find the thread where we sign up as deckies.........8-);D

outta line
17-01-2012, 07:58 PM
just been reading the build thread ....the boys don't seem to do things by halves.:o...think big ..get big..;D.thats one insane boat ....its a credit to all involved .......lucky i put lotto on tonite.....i want one.....lol..

Triple
18-01-2012, 08:50 AM
Ahh don't worry about it, ya can not please everyone.::)

You can nearly please everyone.. By the Op replying with an update to an existing thread and edit title in the first thread post to say "updated - fitout - pg 5" or "update 20/1/12" etc.
That way you can follow the build all in one thread and it gets bumped to top of page and into new posts section with new title for everyone to see. And keeps all the info for future reference in one easy to read progress thread.
Just sayin.. ;)

and p.s its one nice tinny 8-)

dayoo
18-01-2012, 09:35 AM
Triple,
Point noted. This thread will have all the updates on the fitout. Next update will be a pic of the finished paint job

Barry

18-01-2012, 05:35 PM
bloody hell Barry..Pepi will be anxious by now. Has he destroyed the tow vehicle yet ?

dayoo
18-01-2012, 06:57 PM
bloody hell Barry..Pepi will be anxious by now. Has he destroyed the tow vehicle yet ?

No mate the Dodge Ram is OK but he had to order a special 70mm tow ball from the States;D

Barry

18-01-2012, 08:02 PM
Barry..tell him I said Hi and good luck with the new boat

18-01-2012, 11:23 PM
It's in a class of its own Barry, isn't it? Looking forward to hearing about the 1st splashing in the Briney. Will be a corker. I'm sure you'll enjoy celebrating with them at the official launch... ::):o

Brian

dayoo
09-02-2012, 06:01 PM
Attached recent pics with bogging and 55 litres of paint undercoat sealer applied.
It will have a further four coats of paint plus a clear coat. Colour will be a dark metallic colour yet to be finalised.

The undercoat is white as the yellow colour is from glare inside the paint booth.

Barry

OPTI
09-02-2012, 06:41 PM
just got to ask barry whats a paint job like that cost??its going to be eppic that for sure

dayoo
09-02-2012, 07:27 PM
just got to ask barry whats a paint job like that cost??its going to be eppic that for sure

Mate many $$$$$ more than the cost of painting a decent sized house:(

Barry

popgun19
09-02-2012, 11:28 PM
Hi Bazza,

Looking sweet, can't wait to see the end result !

Brian

10-02-2012, 02:16 PM
I hope the paint work isn't scratched when the lift it onto the trailer.....

PB
10-02-2012, 03:41 PM
I would have thought over 25k to paint that bad boy

Squidlet
10-02-2012, 10:47 PM
How often will you be useing this beast?
Cheers Chris.

dayoo
11-02-2012, 09:40 AM
How often will you be useing this beast?
Cheers Chris.

At least once a month weather permitting.
Barry

Squidlet
11-02-2012, 03:29 PM
Nice one barry im sure you will be doing some rather large offshore missions,will be great to see the final product!!!
Cheers Chris.

dayoo
12-04-2012, 05:30 PM
The beast has just been towed out of the paint shop and looks great in custom Navy Blue. It was painted by Paul Burton of Brendale who did a magnificent job.

It will now undergo a fit out with the installation of windows, seats, padded gunnels, padded bunks, toilet and shower, sink and cooking facilities as well as installation of the 600 litre esky and twin 350hp motors:o

Pics attached.

bARRY

OPTI
12-04-2012, 05:40 PM
twin 350,s now where talking ,im guessing yamahas??goin to be awesome

Midnight
12-04-2012, 05:45 PM
Awesome!

Getting closer now!

Damned67
12-04-2012, 05:51 PM
Looks phenomenal!
Looks like the jighead business is doing OK then!

rainbow runner
12-04-2012, 05:53 PM
Barry

Will it be out and about at the Rainbow Comp?

Certainly would be good to see

fisho8
12-04-2012, 06:08 PM
Coming along nice Barry paintwork looks awsome that would have been a huge job. I used straighten out the sides Bart's boats (AMM) when I was at Stewarts Smash at Brendale doing a 7.4mtr Tornament was a big enough job I would hate to have added up the man hours spent in doing yours. Haha you give new meaning to the word this is living Barry because that is exactly what you will be thinking when you have that thing at full throttle. Good on you mate can't wait to see the finished product.:)

dayoo
12-04-2012, 06:33 PM
Guys, its not my boat but is presently owned by my fishing mates Pepi and Sasho.
I would have to make a shit load of hotlips jigs just to pay for the bait board;D

Yes it may be ready for the Rainbow Beach comp (mother ship) $20 for a crap, shower and feed;D

Barry

hooknpull
12-04-2012, 06:39 PM
Is the ss ute used to tow it? Lol :s

dayoo
12-04-2012, 06:55 PM
Is the ss ute used to tow it? Lol :s

No thats just for show until the new Dodge arrives from the States

Barry

12-04-2012, 07:07 PM
plenty of space for the bean bags there Barry, its an absolute weapon

Squidlet
12-04-2012, 08:41 PM
Looking better every post..... it's still a F@#$%n Beast!!!!!
Cheers chris.

12-04-2012, 09:19 PM
Very nice Barry, I'm already wondering what they should name her.... and you will have to have a detour sign made for all the animals lining up 2 at a time and wanting to board her.;D;D Wrong boat!!

popgun19
12-04-2012, 09:43 PM
Hi Barry,

Awesome paint job !!

Thanks for the update.

Brian

13-04-2012, 03:31 AM
doesn't Pepi have the Dodge yet? When I was talking to him about 6 months back he was expecting it to arrive very soon.

dayoo
13-04-2012, 04:33 PM
doesn't Pepi have the Dodge yet? When I was talking to him about 6 months back he was expecting it to arrive very soon.

He had a 2007 Dodge Ram (see pic) but just sold it and is getting a black 2011 model.

Barry78873

Rodpal
14-04-2012, 08:29 PM
Gee Wizz Barry i always thought that was one honk of a platy but that is one impressive paint job man

You guys must be getting excited about the fitout stage

Are you goin to have radar , what sort of sounder/ transducer combo are you goin for

Very impressive project boys and thanks for the build update .. can't wait to read some of your offshore reports

Rod

dayoo
15-04-2012, 11:49 AM
Rod,
The boat will be fitted with a Raymarine Radar & GPS and A Furuno 295 sounder connected to a 1kw through hull transducer.

Barry

Rodpal
16-04-2012, 09:01 AM
Thanks for the detailed reply Barry

I've often wondered about the advantages of installing a radar however for my size boat and activities gps and map cards are so accurate these days its hard to justify the cost .. not that i dont want one .. uumm yep ok i'm very jealous lol

Looks like she is goin to be a pretty trick setup .. more pic pic pic

Rod

dayoo
19-06-2012, 03:02 PM
The boat is nearing completion and has the windows inserted, rear lights, radar etc. Pepi and Sasho have sold the boat to a couple of mates but we will be invited out on a couple of fishing trips until the new baby "Alexander" is completed.
It will be 7.6 metres by 2.6 metres and will have a 300 four stroke.

I will post final pics of the big boy as soon as it is ready to launch.

Pics attached.

Barry

seasick
19-06-2012, 09:52 PM
Hi guys
thanks to Sam (performance plate boats) pep and sash, jeremy (mechanic)

captain rednut
19-06-2012, 10:10 PM
how long till your in the water dan.?? where are you launching her?? im keen to see it floating. great boat.
cheers jim

seasick
20-06-2012, 09:35 PM
compass marina.

fisho8
21-06-2012, 07:10 PM
Mate that is awsome I will have to keep an eye out for it. That boat would be an awsome rig to have as a charter boat itself. I know I would pay money to go out on it haha. Great stuff.:)