View Full Version : Hook Load Test to Failure - 8 Popular Brands 15 Different Hooks
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 07:44 PM
I have load tested these hooks with an applied load to the gape of the hook till they straightened to a point of being no longer useful or simply failed by dropping load or snapping.
First up I will show the hooks tested and the results in graph form for quick review.
Then below I will post up each of the tests - please be patient whilst I load up a heap of pics. This took some time to sort.
Hooks tested are both common offshore used hooks for reef fishing, live baiting and some added by Midnight from trolling including a used hook to compare with a new hook.
I will let the tests and pictures and results speak for themselves.
Obviously I have no association with any hook manufacturer or brand - just an engineer wanting to get a feel for how they go compared to each other so I can assess future buys.
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 07:49 PM
Green Wave Hook 6/0
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 07:51 PM
DFS Hooks 6/0
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 07:54 PM
Eagle Claw 6/0
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 07:56 PM
Mustard Red Tarpon 6/0
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 08:01 PM
Mustard Viking 6/0
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 08:03 PM
Mustard Big Gun 6/0
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 08:05 PM
Mustard Hoodlum 6/0
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 08:07 PM
Black Magic 6/0
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 08:09 PM
Gamakatsu 6/0
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 08:12 PM
Owner SSW 6/0
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 08:15 PM
Owner Gorilla 6/0
I couldn't fail this one
champion
20-12-2011, 08:23 PM
Trev
Thank you.
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 08:27 PM
Eagle Claw 7/0 New
Eagle Claw 7/0 Used
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 08:30 PM
Eagle Claw 2004EI 10/0
TREVELLY
20-12-2011, 08:40 PM
Eagle Claw 2004 10/0 LAST ONE GUYS
Midnight
20-12-2011, 10:29 PM
Awesome stuff Trev, thank you very much for taking the time to test the hooks and posting the results.
Myles
TREVELLY
21-12-2011, 05:52 AM
No worries Myles.
There were a few standouts amongst those tested along with some soft and ductile and some hard and brittle.
Clicking on the first graph to zoom it shows a good comparison to each other but the pictures really show how they tended to perform under load.
It should be noted that these kilogram values do not mean you will get eactly that result if you were to set the drag on reel to that pull pressure. There is a thing called "static load" and "dynamic load".
These hooks are tested with static load ie gradually applied load where a dynamic load is suddenly applied ie a bucket weighing say 10kg if dropped a short distance will have an equivalent static load of more than 20kg at impact.
Of course the stretch of line and flex of rod will compensate for sudden impact loading to some extent.
A rough guide to sudden impact versus gradual load would be about 2 to 1 or 2.5 to 1. That is if the test showed 20kg to "failure" I would pretty safely expect to get my drag to work okay and the hook to stay in shape at 20/2=10kg or 20/2.5=8kg. When we design a crane for lifting weights we use a safety factor of 3 but that is a bit more about life and death than here running a load closer to failure as long as it is "fit for purpose".
The weights used were a combination in the bucket of lead, pavers and water and each load applied was rechecked and verified for accuracy. Max "static load" I could achieve was 65kg which should equate to just over 30kg of drag pressure.
Hope you find the tests and comments above useful and informative.
They did take a long time to test, catalogue, edit and post.
As you can see the two hooks tested for Myles that were "new" and "used" hooks gave close enough to identical results hence I believe repeat tests on other hooks would give consistent results.
Sheik
21-12-2011, 07:24 AM
Fantastic effort mate. Congrats on all the work you've done. Even if it's not scientific to the point of decimal places, it does give an idea of what relative strengths each hook has. Well done and thanks for all the work.
regards jim
21-12-2011, 08:12 AM
Mate - what a great job - thanks a lot. Takes the guessing out of buying!
wayno60
21-12-2011, 10:48 AM
+1
great work, id even like to see the same test on other terminial tackle = swivels
21-12-2011, 06:28 PM
Great work there. A lot to think about before I buy some more hooks for heavy work
Squidlet
24-12-2011, 03:31 PM
Cheer's for this thred Trevelly a great insight into the load capabilities of a good range of hook's.
camw308
24-12-2011, 06:16 PM
Nice work,its good to know you get what you pay for when buying the owner gorrilla hooks.
Moby One
27-12-2011, 06:54 AM
Great effort Trev. Now all you need to do is work out their corrosion resistance, weight versus thickness, holding effectiveness, cost per hook, put a weighting against the criteria and pick a winner...... cheers Mal
swabio
27-12-2011, 05:11 PM
great job mate! It is pretty interesting.......... As mentioned above, I reckon a swivel one would be awesome :)
liltuffy
11-10-2013, 06:59 PM
Like to see this resurrected - interesting information
jigsnreels
12-10-2013, 08:06 AM
Brilliant review, thanks mate.
robfish 1
14-10-2013, 08:28 AM
Well done, Trevelly! A lot of time and effort on behalf of your fellow Ausfishers. Even though I don't use tackle like this, I still really appreciate the effort! Looking forwards to more of your work.
Rob.
PixieAU
14-10-2013, 09:30 AM
nice post, thank you for the effort
do you think that any of these would perform differently (at lower forces) with a dynamic load rather than a static load?
TREVELLY
14-10-2013, 11:02 AM
nice post, thank you for the effort
do you think that any of these would perform differently (at lower forces) with a dynamic load rather than a static load?
Hi PA - just wondering if you read post 18? here is part of it:-
It should be noted that these kilogram values do not mean you will get exactly that result if you were to set the drag on reel to that pull pressure. There is a thing called "static load" and "dynamic load".
These hooks are tested with static load ie gradually applied load where a dynamic load is suddenly applied ie a bucket weighing say 10kg if dropped a short distance will have an equivalent static load of more than 20kg at impact.
Of course the stretch of line and flex of rod will compensate for sudden impact loading to some extent.
A rough guide to sudden impact versus gradual load would be about 2 to 1 or 2.5 to 1. That is if the test showed 20kg to "failure" I would pretty safely expect to get my drag to work okay and the hook to stay in shape at 20/2=10kg or 20/2.5=8kg. When we design a crane for lifting weights we use a safety factor of 3 but that is a bit more about life and death than here running a load closer to failure as long as it is "fit for purpose".
The weights used were a combination in the bucket of lead, pavers and water and each load applied was rechecked and verified for accuracy. Max "static load" I could achieve was 65kg which should equate to just over 30kg of drag pressure.
Hope you find the tests and comments above useful and informative.
PixieAU
14-10-2013, 02:34 PM
my apologies Trevally, i must admit i scrolled to the end of the first page and didn't notice there was a second page with your post.