View Full Version : Fresh Gar
thelump
19-12-2011, 09:48 PM
Anyone know where I can stock up on good fresh Garfish?? Plenty of frozen stuff around but would like fresh so I can de poo them and freeze them myself for the upcoming mackeral season.
Cheers Jason
z50man
19-12-2011, 10:23 PM
i have caught a heap near the pin , golden bank ... there good for a sweet feed as well .....
20-12-2011, 06:03 AM
Usually heaps at night in near the One Mile Jetty/Little Ships LCub
20-12-2011, 07:19 AM
Anyone know where I can stock up on good fresh Garfish?? Plenty of frozen stuff around but would like fresh so I can de poo them and freeze them myself for the upcoming mackeral season.
Cheers Jason
The frozen ones just aren't in great shape. the shallows on the Northern side of green can hold good numbers in Winter but not sure about now. Plenty of Snub Nosed in some of the Dams but I don't know how they go.
fish_head
20-12-2011, 11:06 AM
Tackle shop down at Ballina cant even get any frozen gar in down here. Asked today,cant get any and if they do get any down the track will be paying a fortune for it. I am keen also to stock up on gar
20-12-2011, 07:31 PM
Jason try the jetties around dunwich and the one mile, if not get a tinnie and get out over the dialba banks, you can get through
a lot of the channels on mid tide.
20-12-2011, 08:12 PM
Wonder if Morgans Seafoods or Aussie Seafoods have them?
Freeeedom
21-12-2011, 04:36 AM
Heaps in the Bribie passage at the moment. Hundreds of them behind the boat in the berley trail, almost close enough to put a cast net over them if you wanted. Find a patch of weed or a yabby bank and move up onto it at high tide and berley with pellets or bread crumbs.
Also good numbers of big ones at Mud in the berley trail as well.
Usually plenty of snub nosed gar in the North Pine Dam but I haven't been there lately
Cheers Freeeedom
thelump
21-12-2011, 11:11 AM
Thanks for the replies fellas. I neglected to say in my first post I would like to buy gar as I am a lazy bastard. But, with all this info, it looks like a kids bait gathering mission will be on after xmas .
Cheers Jason
Spectre
21-12-2011, 04:04 PM
Jason
You could try The Fish Factory at Colmslie or maybe Aussie Seafoods at Capalaba.
Have seen good gar at these places b4.
Phil
thelump
22-12-2011, 07:56 AM
Jason
You could try The Fish Factory at Colmslie or maybe Aussie Seafoods at Capalaba.
Have seen good gar at these places b4.
Phil
Thanks Phil. Yeah I have got them from seafood house at Capalaba before but its hit and miss with quality. I reckon the only way to get fresh is gunna be to catch the things myself.
Jason
Spectre
22-12-2011, 01:21 PM
No worries..
Yes ..defn more fun catchin em yourself or with the kids !!!
Lets hope the Macs turn up asap ...so we can put the gar to good use.
Phil
22-12-2011, 03:50 PM
I just bought 2kg of medium to large fresh gar in good nick from Aussie Seafoods at Lawnton. Do not appear to be thawed as the eyes are still good and the gut is clean.
Saw some oddities in there though, milkfish for sale and quite a bit of imported species.
kingcray
03-01-2012, 07:20 AM
Watched some Asian fellas pull in almost 100 from the bank down at Forgan Road at Lake Samsonvale. All they did was throw some bread around for 10 or 15 minutes then hundreds of gar turned up. Little float and small hook with some bread - Couldnt miss.. good size too, then they cleaned every one straight after.
backhoe
03-01-2012, 11:58 AM
Seafood house at Capalaba had some yesterday that looked pretty good
trueblue
03-01-2012, 01:43 PM
I bought some yellow snub nosed ones at aussie seafoods that were ok. not flash, but ok. firm enough to troll. didn't appear to be defrosted.