View Full Version : Aqis Inspection.... Getting nervous
mustang5
07-12-2011, 03:15 PM
Gday,
If it were any other time in the year, and I didnt have big dreams and ambitions in taking the newly imported boat out and about for the only holidays I have all year, I really wouldnt care too much about failing an AQIS inspection.
However, the boat arrives at the POB on the 15th December, with the AQIS inspection set for the 19th December.. If it passes, I receive it that day, if it fails, I am told it will then be transported to an AQIS approved premises and I wont see it for 2-3 weeks????
Now, I have had it steam cleaned and shrink wrapped, so quite frankly I am at the mercy of the man in the hard hat with his clipboard, and whatever his mood is on the day (I hope his wife was nice to him the night before)...
So, in saying this, I suppose I should ask all the other boat importers, how they went with the AQIS inspection, and how long did you wait for those of you who had their AQIS inspection fail??
Any tips on getting it quicker, or anyone know any magic words that can be spoken to these makers or brakers of happiness they call Quarantine Inspectors??
Cheers all.
P.S. I dunno about you guys, but on the 19th December it will have been 55 days in transit, 80 days after purchase.... I was first told it was a 30 day sailing direct..... THIS IS NOT a Healthy thing for a man having boat withdrawls!!!
Postal
07-12-2011, 03:22 PM
Mate tell me about it I know how you feel.. its be close to 6 months without a boat for me and it looks to be another 6 before I will be able to get another. Lucky I have mates with boats who I can get out with most weekends. As to the inspectors not sure what you can do, I've had stuff go thru them before without dramas, might depend on the person/day to some degree however. Either way good luck mate, hope you can get you toy for Chrissy!
mustang5 i deal with aqis on a regular basis for our research facility. when they come to inspect there's nothing you can do and just hope that your last minute clean up, paper work, compliance is up to scratch. we've had good inspectors and bad inspectors, some will nit pick and others are cruisey as.
there isn't too much in way of magic words unless you know someone high up or deal with them often enough to be on a first name basis.
either way hope you get your chrissy present! sounds like it's been a long wait.
mustang5
07-12-2011, 04:55 PM
Cheers fellas,
Yeah would be good to get the Xmas pressy, its been far too long a wait.
I suppose the biggest fear is that I was not present during the cleaning, nor the shrink wrapping and also I havent gone over the boat with a fine tooth comb either (Actually havent seen it in the flesh lol).
Heres to hoping anyways... Waiting after the initial delivery date is a lot worse than waiting at the start :p!
wirlybird
07-12-2011, 05:22 PM
I prefer the Gas and paperwork method they dont even look at them. this is previding the boat can fit in a container.
Muddy Toes
07-12-2011, 06:30 PM
Who shipped it and cleaned it owen?
mustang5
07-12-2011, 07:10 PM
Import-usa-boat and customs brokers are generation logistics.
Shipping agent engaged there own subbies over in the US to clean and shrink wrap.. So i have had a bit of the "she'll be right" treatment. Even received an email not long ago saying not to email the shiping agent, conveniently after the invoice was paid..
Generation logistics have been helpful however everything is the shipping lines fault isnt it ;)
Muddy Toes
07-12-2011, 07:38 PM
You'll be right mate.....mine passed when it was covered in dirt, leaves in the live bait tanks and some sort of 'liquid' in the head.
mustang5
07-12-2011, 09:34 PM
Haha hope so, without the foreign objects of course lol!
Did you attend the inspection?
Muddy Toes
07-12-2011, 09:40 PM
Nar......the only thing they got me for was a couple of bits of untreated and undeclared bits of timber used for packing.Didn't hold anything up but had to pay for them to get destroyed.
The whole waiting game is fun hey......you hardly notice it.It really goes quick.;D;D;D
Chill out....you'll be right8-)
Cav(J.C.)
09-12-2011, 04:13 PM
Hi,
Imported a 28ft. fibreglass boat from the Philippines. Made sure no timber or biologicals. On a flat rack container. Boat builder had it on a steel tubular frame-(Disposable) and heavilly strapped down. Cover was a soft sheeting material, covered by a heavy duty sheet plastic tarp. I wanted shrink wrap, but Shrink wrap is a pain in the but for underneath inspection, and anything that is difficult for the customs guys---you pay for.
From time of ship arrival in Brisbane to delivery at Runaway Bay was 4 days. "Universal Group of Companys" was the shipping agent, and I highly recommend them.
Customs costs---Compilation fee---$75
Customs advance payment--$15
Customs quarenteen fees---$283.50
Customs inspection---$165
That was 2 years ago.
Main hassle was getting it shipped from the Philippines, as there aren's ships which go direct.
This cargo had to go via Singapore, Hobart, Sydney.
Lots of bargaining to get a reasonable shipping price as well. as we are not on the Asian trade routes.
The boat is worth the hassle though.
Best of luck,
Cav.(J.C.)
wave dancer
09-12-2011, 08:33 PM
Mustang5, mate i am sure everything will be fine. On a personal level i worked at the POB for 15 years prior to starting my own company (Brisbane Container Solutins). I have dealt with AQIS on a daily bases now for near on 20years.If you have any dramas or need any help, just pm me or contact me on 0423433095.
cheers, Mick.
mustang5
13-12-2011, 01:33 PM
Cav,
Thanks for the info mate, those prices for the process are pretty much spot on with what I have paid :) Give or take a couple hundred lol.
Wave Dancer,
That is very generous of you mate, thanks for the help. Will give you a call if I need some inside tips however, I would much rather you read my happy post when its in my backyard lol!!
Cheers fellas!! ;D Not long now! (Lands Thursday)
sharkcat 23
15-12-2011, 12:54 PM
Be very carefull using "The Universal Group" for importing, I am importing 2 motors from the US, got a quote off them the $2000, then later they added $300 for timber treatment, the motors landed and they handed me an invoice for $4650. Not happy, apparantly I didn't ask the right questions.
Good luck with the boat mate.
Doug
mustang5
15-12-2011, 02:12 PM
Be very carefull using "The Universal Group" for importing, I am importing 2 motors from the US, got a quote off them the $2000, then later they added $300 for timber treatment, the motors landed and they handed me an invoice for $4650. Not happy, apparantly I didn't ask the right questions.
Good luck with the boat mate.
Doug
Hey Sharkcat, I have not had that problem as of yet, sorry to hear mate. Thats definitely dodgy and there is no shame in naming them.
I suppose the only thing they can charge me on is extra holding fees for whatever reason. Whether it be failure on the quarantine or anything else...
Quarantine inspection due for Monday morning 9am.. Never thought I would say it but, it is going to be a looooong weekend lol!
sharkcat 23
15-12-2011, 04:54 PM
I was told the storage charges after the free period was $126 a day whatever the reason for the hold up, after bitching very loudly they kindly dropped it to $50 a day. Mate I hope you have a lot better run than I did and enjoy the boat.
mustang5
19-12-2011, 10:09 AM
LATEST: Inspection found a single Black Widow Spider which will need to be fumigated/destroyed.
They have released the boat to a Aqis approved facility for cleaning and Im led to believe it will not need a reinspection. So I could finally have my boat either today or tomorrow... FINGERS CROSSED!!!
Bloody expensive pet spider though!! $350 to put her down.... Although a bit of a hit in the pocket and timing of things, Im also glad to see they are doing their job at the Ports. I dont want to be responsible for bringing a new breed of spider into the country.
MudRiverDan
19-12-2011, 11:19 AM
There is no way AQIS could inspect everything that comes over here in a ship.
Must be special treatment for some folk.
lol look at all the dodge food we get from Asia... and they worry about a boat?
mustang5
20-12-2011, 06:53 AM
There is no way AQIS could inspect everything that comes over here in a ship.
Must be special treatment for some folk.
lol look at all the dodge food we get from Asia... and they worry about a boat?
Yeah you are not wrong, although if it is a used boat, it is a requirement by law that it is inspected. I think if new it is based on a selective process.
Boats in Quarantine now, having a bit of a compliance issue with the trailer... Will advise when I know what the go is :x
mustang5
22-12-2011, 04:10 PM
Finally got her home (well the olds house anyways.).. Bit of an ordeal but I never set my hopes too high with a perfect clearance so I was well prepared.
Bit of a drama with the trailer import permit as for whatever reason, the numbers did not match up. All sorted in a couple of days.
Hired a 4t truck from Thrifty and for a big boat, I cant believe how well it tows..
I think I may have an issue at some servos and some bridges with height as I have underestimated how high it is with the hard top on... Finding a spot to park it isnt easy either :p
All in all Im very happy right now, but looking back I was told I would have the boat in 40 days, but it took 75 days.. No biggy now but it was after 40 days :p
More pics to come.
Cheers all.
Gazza
22-12-2011, 04:33 PM
Nice tub M8....
Regards Santa LOLOL
22-12-2011, 05:06 PM
I was at a boat storage place on tuesday and there was a 32ft boat with twin yammy's on a ramp trailer, no brakes, lights, mud guards, the lot. The boat was landed here for 60k. The owners have been towing it to the ramp about 5klm away with a rodeo 4wd. :o:o Not many cops in that area.
The 4 T truck sounds better.
mustang5
23-12-2011, 06:48 AM
I was at a boat storage place on tuesday and there was a 32ft boat with twin yammy's on a ramp trailer, no brakes, lights, mud guards, the lot. The boat was landed here for 60k. The owners have been towing it to the ramp about 5klm away with a rodeo 4wd. :o:o Not many cops in that area.
The 4 T truck sounds better.
Thats just crazy. Seems a waste of 60k if anything was to happen on the trip to the ramp.
fishfreak01
23-12-2011, 07:53 AM
hey Mustang,
Could you please post some photos of your new rig as we are all waiting to see her.
myusernam
23-12-2011, 08:29 AM
Thats just crazy. Seems a waste of 60k if anything was to happen on the trip to the ramp.
not to mention the lack of insurance on whatever or whoever you would take out!
23-12-2011, 10:00 AM
Yeah pulling the load is one thing but stopping the b@stard is another alltogether
Yeah come on Mustang make with the pics of the new toy - lucky bugger Merry Xmas indeed!
mustang5
23-12-2011, 10:03 AM
Lol they are coming. Just finishing up with work and then its off to clean her up for some pics. (Unbelievable how dirty they are after 3 steam cleans lol).
Stay tuned.
mustang5
23-12-2011, 10:12 AM
Heres a couple of it leaving Alabama, USA.
Heres one showing my height concerns.. thats next to a 6ft fence.. without the top on..
More to come.
mustang5
23-12-2011, 10:23 AM
23-12-2011, 10:41 AM
Hi mustang
Was this new or second hand? Very nice looking rig by the way.
mustang5
23-12-2011, 10:48 AM
Its a 2002 model mate with twin 02 optimax 200s
fishfeeder
23-12-2011, 11:47 AM
Mate looks the goods, I bet you cant wait to hit the reefs !!
FisHard
23-12-2011, 12:58 PM
NICE RIG! No wonder you've been anxiously waiting. Look forward to hearing about your maiden voyage. Hope it goes as good as it looks :)
Gazza
23-12-2011, 01:19 PM
VERY nice tub m8 :o
LUV the toilet ;D
frankgrimes
23-12-2011, 02:05 PM
Awesome looking rig mate!! Whens the maiden voyage??
btw - what did it end up costing to land in aus(pm if preferred)?
23-12-2011, 03:00 PM
Hope AQUIS checked for brown mullet. I'd hate USA mullet to get released over here.
MyWay
23-12-2011, 07:29 PM
very very nice and good boat
congratulation and happy boating
23-12-2011, 07:36 PM
A beast of a boat. Good luck with it from here
mustang5
23-12-2011, 07:49 PM
Cheers all, thanks for the encouragement.
@frabkgrimes, all up it was landed for 34k au.
23-12-2011, 08:26 PM
Outstanding value - well done. Best Chrissy present you will ever get.
frankgrimes
23-12-2011, 08:31 PM
Cheers all, thanks for the encouragement.
@frabkgrimes, all up it was landed for 34k au.
Wow! Ill have to show my missus this thread...could be time for an upgrade ;)
when you planning on taking her out?
23-12-2011, 08:44 PM
34k:o:o.....Lot of boat for that $$$..You've done well Mustang. Someone must be crying in the land of oppertunity. Does that include the trailer as well?
FisHard
23-12-2011, 10:36 PM
$34k landed? Wtf? So the boat was like $15k? How is this possible Dr Spock?
Muddy Toes
23-12-2011, 11:01 PM
$34k landed? Wtf? So the boat was like $15k? How is this possible Dr Spock?
Probably a bit more than $15K for the boat but $34K landed here isn't really an astonishing feat in today's global financial situation.There are a lot of people over in the states that are hurting at the moment and are forced to sell things or the banks just repossess them as in the case of the boat i bought over last year.Mine was about $30K landed.
mustang5
24-12-2011, 07:41 AM
Muddys hit the spot there. The seller had 24k on it, and over the space of a month i talked him down to 17500. Shipping, interstate transport, gst and all the shrink wrapping cost about 16500, which the best part about it was this was payable in about 3 separate payments to 3 different people which was handy on the cash flow lol.
Included the trailer however trailer needs to be australianised which will cost a few k.
Im going to give her a full clean out and aim at taking her out in gladdy next week after xmas.
honda900
24-12-2011, 07:48 AM
Mustang,
That is one nice boat for that kind of money.. enjoy..
Honda..
FisHard
24-12-2011, 08:28 AM
Included the trailer however trailer needs to be australianised which will cost a few k.[/QUOTE]
Good going mate, sounds like a cracking bargain! Re the trailer, what do you need to do to it? I would have assumed it would be cheaper and better for compliance to do the work prior to import? But then again, having dealt with the yanks a bit myself, I guess you'd want to keep things as simple as possible!
Here's an example of my experience of email correspondence with our American pals-
Me: Hi Chuck, can you please tell me how many hours are on your 200 Suzuki? Thanks. Doug.
Chuck: Thanks for your email, Dough! Its great to hear from you! That's a great motor! Its been serviced to death and comes with a 19" prop. Please let me know if I can help you out at all! God bless you. Chuck.
Grrr :(
24-12-2011, 08:54 AM
Hope Mustang doesn't mind one diversion but that story reminds me of the boat I went to look at last week. I asked the owner if there was any rust in the trailer he said no it was right to go. When I drove 3 hours to look at the boat the only place where the trailer was right to go was the tip.
mustang5
24-12-2011, 01:42 PM
Yeah i factored a lot of that into the price i paid. I really only bought the boat which was in good nick, i didnt even enquire about the motors as i will be getting newys at easter time, so anything else is a bonus.
Spent all day putting the hard top on, my god they over engineer everything. I counted 32 6mm bolts and 8 10mm bolts for that alone.
Started both motors and they purred like a kitten, although the controller is a bit hard to get the port side motor in and out of gear, so ill get that checked out.
It came with smart gauges so i wasted my money on fuel flow meters for the lowrances so ill be selling those lol.
Fridgre, baitwell, macerators, shower, toilet, sinks and all lights work so thats a plus.
Will need to get a sparky in to change all the shore power from 110 to 240v which may be some work.
The trailer will need new lights, coupling, new axles and electric brakes, so a few k there.
Other than that its looking good :)
mustang5
24-12-2011, 01:43 PM
I also found that i had better responses to enquiries from private sellers rather than dealers.
clevelandv8
24-12-2011, 09:29 PM
OH MY GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
SUB 35k?!?!?!?!!?!?
I'm sold...... let the search begin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
awesome boat mate
dadstinny
24-12-2011, 09:38 PM
Very decent price wise, so you are not keeping the motors?
If you don't mind sharing how did you go about checking the boat out and handing over cash / paperwork?
buggerit
26-12-2011, 07:30 AM
Mate that is one very nice rig , and under 35k , cheaper than chips . Looking forward to seeing pics of her on the water and the test report . You probably won,t have any trouble getting the boat up the driveway , not to sure about the grin on your face . Enjoy
Kev
mustang5
27-12-2011, 09:09 PM
@dadstinny, i just simply asked for a whole heap of photos mate, including a video of te motors running and in the same vid, showing the hours on the smart gauges. Luckily i had a good seller who was very cooperative.
Shes all cleaned and polished now, motors have been run on the muffs and all my electronics are installed. Looking through the smartcraft gauges they are very impressive!!! There is nothing they dont tell ya!!
All thats left now is the trip to gladstone then its off to the reefs for a tester.
mustang5
03-01-2012, 02:11 PM
Took her on the water for the first time, in 35knot winds and all I can say is WoW...
Trolled for a while whilst I was getting used to the twin controls and one motor trims at a different speed to the other which isnt easy but im getting the hang of it..
It is a HEAVY boat, and its a hell of a feeling riding 4t at 50mph.
Towed it up from Brissy with a Canter 4t truck, and towing it around town with a cruiser which is AT ITS LIMIT when empty. Need an F truck for sure I think :)
04-01-2012, 01:22 PM
4t..just the boat on the water..that is VERY heavy for that size boat.