View Full Version : New Estuary Fishing Boat : seeking advice on a few things, live well, trailer, leccy
Chas & Clarry
05-12-2011, 10:55 PM
About to purchase a new estuary boat having almost finalised our deliberations.
Following trips to the dealers on Nth and South Coasts and Brisbane we have narrowed down to Tabs Bullshark 4.2 and Anglapro Outlaw 424. Both are V-nosed punts, pretty solid construction. We will be putting our exisiting 40 yammy on it.
Clarry and I prefer the layout of the Tabs (much better storage and more length in the front casting deck, plus aluminium console whereas Anglapro console is fibreglass). However unless we can get the price down on the Tabs we will be going with the Anglapro because it is considerably cheaper and we are certainly happy enough with it not to see value in the current price difference. Set up we will get is front and rear casting platforms, side console, minicota ipilot.
Still thinking about Lowrance HDS5 or Humminbird 788cxi combo (any opinions welcome).
We are uncertain about the benefit of a plumbed live well and would really like to hear what other think about them. We have never had one before but see real benefits both re freshness of catch when out for a long period, capacity to choose which fish to keep and which to release...and of course there is always the temptation of trying our hand at tournaments/comps (probably getting a bit ahead of ourselves there, but they look like great fun and retirement is beckoning so we will have more time on our hands :)).
Final question is trailer: both come with a standard long skid trailer but we have been advised that if we travel a fair bit (which we do) we could benefit from a more rigid trailer for an extra $400. It is not a lot of money and the rigidity of the design is definitely there, but I am not sure if it is really necessary. We have travelled miles with the old tinny heavily loaded on a pretty basic trailer without trouble BUT we think that our future will to include a bit more in the way of dirt roads but not 4WDing. I am thinking that the need for a stiffer trailer is marginal however advice on that would be very welcome.
Anyway, we expect to finish our haggling about price this week and place an order.
Would appreciate opinons and advice.
C&C
Shawn 66
06-12-2011, 02:54 AM
About to purchase a new estuary boat having almost finalised our deliberations.
Following trips to the dealers on Nth and South Coasts and Brisbane we have narrowed down to Tabs Bullshark 4.2 and Anglapro Outlaw 424. Both are V-nosed punts, pretty solid construction. We will be putting our exisiting 40 yammy on it.
Clarry and I prefer the layout of the Tabs (much better storage and more length in the front casting deck, plus aluminium console whereas Anglapro console is fibreglass). However unless we can get the price down on the Tabs we will be going with the Anglapro because it is considerably cheaper and we are certainly happy enough with it not to see value in the current price difference. Set up we will get is front and rear casting platforms, side console, minicota ipilot.
Still thinking about Lowrance HDS5 or Humminbird 788cxi combo (any opinions welcome).
We are uncertain about the benefit of a plumbed live well and would really like to hear what other think about them. We have never had one before but see real benefits both re freshness of catch when out for a long period, capacity to choose which fish to keep and which to release...and of course there is always the temptation of trying our hand at tournaments/comps (probably getting a bit ahead of ourselves there, but they look like great fun and retirement is beckoning so we will have more time on our hands :)).
Final question is trailer: both come with a standard long skid trailer but we have been advised that if we travel a fair bit (which we do) we could benefit from a more rigid trailer for an extra $400. It is not a lot of money and the rigidity of the design is definitely there, but I am not sure if it is really necessary. We have travelled miles with the old tinny heavily loaded on a pretty basic trailer without trouble BUT we think that our future will to include a bit more in the way of dirt roads but not 4WDing. I am thinking that the need for a stiffer trailer is marginal however advice on that would be very welcome.
Anyway, we expect to finish our haggling about price this week and place an order.
Would appreciate opinons and advice.
C&C
Bud ,
I have the 4.2 Seascape Viper , which is built by Tabs and is the same layout as the Bullshark. Am very happy with it . As for the plumbed live well , I would recommend it for the reasons you have stated ( all except the one about the comps ).
Shawn
On the trailer - a more rigid one can cause problems ......... A trailer needs to flex under load , otherwise welds break - as I found out. ( my trailer was rated to about 50% more than my typical going away type weight) .......... eventually the penny dropped & I softened the springs - that has helped!
So be aware of this when choosing a trailer
Chas & Clarry
06-12-2011, 07:30 PM
Thanks for the info Chris and Shaun.
The other thing we are wondering about is a quick release mount on the minn cota. Initially we were thinking this was a good way to go so we could get the motor off the boat if the boat was spending time in public places unatended on trips (roadside or anchored). However it has been suggested to us that it is actually better to mount it normally and burr the nuts / screws....makes it difficult for an opportunistic theif to get off (ie without planning and appropriate tools).
Any experiences with Minn cota theft??? ANy opinions re best way to go for the security? We won't be switching it between boats so the quick release mount won't be needed for that reason.
nautimax
06-12-2011, 08:55 PM
It's a sad sad world we live in when we have to go to some lengths to protect our possessions but I totally agree it must be done...burring threads of bolts will only stop the nuts loosening and drop off...it won't stop a turning spanner applied to it. There are other fasteners like - Security Torx, Spanner Heads, various lobe head screws etc that you may use. Have a search for "Tamper Proof Screws or Fasteners" online....good luck!
Shawn 66
07-12-2011, 03:10 AM
Hey C & C ,
Just thinking , depending on where you are , you could always take my girl for a bit of a squirt (water test ) if you wanted to . I am at Burpengary ( Brisbane Northside).
Shawn
Mossy247
07-12-2011, 06:19 AM
Quick release is a must if your not locking it down. Trust no one, even think about security of your sounders, dual cycle etc. If its worth anything some idiot will try and steal it. Avoid the pain and be prepared.8-)
Chas & Clarry
07-12-2011, 07:02 AM
Hey C & C ,
Just thinking , depending on where you are , you could always take my girl for a bit of a squirt (water test ) if you wanted to . I am at Burpengary ( Brisbane Northside).
Shawn
Hey Shawn
That is a very generous offer mate!
We are in Pine Rivers so would really like to look at this as a possibility (but no worries if we can't find a time that works for you...just appreciate the offer!!). I'll PM you tonight.
Shawn 66
07-12-2011, 07:58 AM
Hey Shawn
That is a very generous offer mate!
We are in Pine Rivers so would really like to look at this as a possibility (but no worries if we can't find a time that works for you...just appreciate the offer!!). I'll PM you tonight.
G'Day Tim,
Mate usually on the Pine every Sat and Sun , unfortunately I have a course this Sat , however will be on the water early Sunday hopefully .
Shawn
TheSaint
07-12-2011, 06:43 PM
Clarry and I prefer the layout of the Tabs (much better storage and more length in the front casting deck, plus aluminium console
Layout is most important thing imo in a boat because it just makes fishing more enjoyable..
I thinks Tabs/Seascape is the pick between the two boats as a few boys that fish bass electrics have them & set out very well for that tournament/Lure fishing & having a livewell is great as you keep the fish the want all day & if you don't feel like taking them home you can just release at the boat ramp..
Chas & Clarry
07-12-2011, 08:11 PM
G'Day Tim,
Mate usually on the Pine every Sat and Sun , unfortunately I have a course this Sat , however will be on the water early Sunday hopefully .
Shawn
Sounds like it might work Shawn (will pm you)! I could be a bit worse for wear early Sunday morning though...son's 19th birthday party on Saturday night with a pile of his friends celebrating at our place overnight
Chas & Clarry
11-12-2011, 11:14 AM
Just wanted to put a public thanks up to Shawn66 for showing us his Seascape Viper and taking me for a test run this morning at Deep Water Bend.
Great to meet you Shawn. Nice boat and good to have your opinons on it. Hope you got a few fish later in the day :)
Hope to see you on the Pine again soon.
Tim and Trace
Shawn 66
11-12-2011, 04:45 PM
Just wanted to put a public thanks up to Shawn66 for showing us his Seascape Viper and taking me for a test run this morning at Deep Water Bend.
Great to meet you Shawn. Nice boat and good to have your opinons on it. Hope you got a few fish later in the day :)
Hope to see you on the Pine again soon.
Tim and Trace
G,Day Tim and Trace ,
Bloody nice to meet you , and it was my pleasure . It was good to give something back , after the amount of info I have obtained from other members of this forum . Bloody fishing was @@@@house today , but still good to be on the water . Whichever way you go , hope to see you both on the water soon .
P.S Hey Tim ,what bait did you use to land Trace , it must have been good , you lucky bugger.:P::)
Shawn
Mate, I went to the 2011 brissie boat show, I Bought a tabs 540 Southerner, had it all fitted up with what I wanted except for the donk as I used my own, 2009 90 honda. For the money I spent upon the tabs Without the donk, I could have had a Formosa 5.5 with a new 115 2 st yammie for the same price!!! The Only reason I went for the Tabs was the quality of the build of the boat, (the materials used and the way it was put together, rocker system ect. ) The extra money it cost me to buy the Tabs is worth every cent, in just 6 weeks I have put 70 hours up on the Honda and I have been out in Moreton bay as well as around flat rock in some rotten weather and not once did i think I was in any trouble with the boat not being able to handle the conditions I was faced with. I say do your home work, you get what you pay for and go with the gut feeling.
Chas & Clarry
11-12-2011, 09:45 PM
G,Day Tim and Trace ,
Bloody nice to meet you , and it was my pleasure . It was good to give something back , after the amount of info I have obtained from other members of this forum . Bloody fishing was @@@@house today , but still good to be on the water . Whichever way you go , hope to see you both on the water soon .
P.S Hey Tim ,what bait did you use to land Trace , it must have been good , you lucky bugger.:P::)
Shawn
Thanks Shawn...you made Trace blush with your comment...I am very aware of how lucky I am, been married to Trace for nearly 29 years (honeymoon photo from Noosa River in 1983 attached....I am going to get slapped for putting that one up :-X, so it might get edited out soon...29 Tarwine that day :), needless to say she caught more than I did :-[).
She is more even more into fishing than I am. Buying our first boat together before we were engaged helped land her. That boat was the terrible tiller steer I told you about.
gav73
11-12-2011, 10:00 PM
Good on ya Shawn for going out of ya way to give Chas & Clarry a run in ya boat .
Gav
Thanks for the info Chris and Shaun.
Any experiences with Minn cota theft??? ANy opinions re best way to go for the security? We won't be switching it between boats so the quick release mount won't be needed for that reason.
I have a quick release bracket & use a shielded padlock (Master) - Now while it is only a small padlock , being shielded it makes it a little more difficult to take to it with bolt cutters ........... more than anything it is a deterrent & takes care of an opportunistic theft. So far so good!