View Full Version : Jacks smashed us!
matt fraser
19-11-2011, 02:38 PM
Went for a Jack session yesterday arvo with a couple of mates. The Jacks were on the job, but we weren't up to the task! We all had the privelage of being destroyed once each on lures.
The hit I had on a 4" hollowbelly absolutely smashed me! and stripped a lot of line quickly (30lb braid, 40lb leader) against a bloody tight drag, before cutting me off through the braid on a pylon. I had nothing against that fish! Nath and Karl also got taught a lesson that left them shaking their heads.
We also did a fair bit of bait fishing after dark, and I had a couple of Jack bites, but couldn't get hooks in or when I did they were already into structure. The bait fishing was very quiet compared to what I usually expect.
Still a good sess, Jacks 3, us Nil!
Looking forward to a rematch!
wayno60
19-11-2011, 03:05 PM
30lb braid..... i would have had everything locked up tight. As you have learnt you cant afford to let them take an inch. But arnt they fun when they hit.
Good luck on the next episode.
Went for a Jack session yesterday arvo with a couple of mates. The Jacks were on the job, but we weren't up to the task! We all had the privelage of being destroyed once each on lures.
The hit I had on a 4" hollowbelly absolutely smashed me! and stripped a lot of line quickly (30lb braid, 40lb leader) against a bloody tight drag, before cutting me off through the braid on a pylon. I had nothing against that fish! Nath and Karl also got taught a lesson that left them shaking their heads.
We also did a fair bit of bait fishing after dark, and I had a couple of Jack bites, but couldn't get hooks in or when I did they were already into structure. The bait fishing was very quiet compared to what I usually expect.
Still a good sess, Jacks 3, us Nil!
Looking forward to a rematch!
How good is Jack fishing ??????
wayno60
19-11-2011, 06:09 PM
How good is Jack fishing ??????
To be quiet honest i love all styles of fishing but i would rather sit all night to catch one jack than twenty 25cm bream
killitfillit
19-11-2011, 06:37 PM
It's good to get blown away it keeps you keen and believing.
I fish heavy and still lose a couple here and there.
I don't believe in donating lures and giving a fish a slow horrible death because of light leader.
Glad to see you do the same.
bennykenny
19-11-2011, 10:49 PM
thats jack fishing isnt it Matt, i was out last week and the same happened to me 4 times bait fishing. the first 2 times went through 30lbs leader like cotton, so i upped it to 60lbs and they still smashed me, gotta be some big ones around this year!!!!
nick-o83
20-11-2011, 05:47 PM
I have been busted off or bricked in structure the last 14 jacks I have hooked, not fishing light either.... Horror run not landing a fish but what a rush!! So much fun!!!
matt fraser
20-11-2011, 08:03 PM
Sounds like we are not alone! 14 bustoffs! that is a bad run!
Benny, I went to 60lb leader, then wire a couple of seasons ago, unfortunately the wire puts them off though. I reckon the buggers are that smart, they size up your leader, before they decide if they can take you or not!
It was my first Jack session in over 18 months so I was a little rusty, there was some 'Amatuer Action' at times. Drag could have been tighter, still it took a wrap to pull line off the spool.
A good Jack smashing is always a demoralising, yet exciting few seconds, that sharpens the senses, and keeps you coming back. Its amazing how they remain etched in the memory. I can tell you every pontoon and bridge pylon that I've been smashed on.
There are some big bad boys around at the moment!
Pistol_P
20-11-2011, 08:16 PM
I got bowled over myself today Matt,
on 6lb braid and 8lb leader....went really well around the pylons..!!...NOT..!!!...lol
nipsta
21-11-2011, 08:07 PM
well matt sounds like my session i landed 1 out of 5 what makes it worse was the hooks pulled on a good size jack right beside the boat while was trying to get the net to bring him in . The others i just got beaten up so im not letting that stop me im going again and again till i get that red devil i got his number or i think i have . Power to wieght in rocks ya need strength and good leader that is for sure and even after i had all that they still got me .
steve20v
25-11-2011, 02:56 PM
Sorry if I missed it somewhere Matt but what river system are you targeting the Jacks in?
Screamin Semen
25-11-2011, 04:06 PM
Benny, I went to 60lb leader, then wire a couple of seasons ago, unfortunately the wire puts them off though. I reckon the buggers are that smart, they size up your leader, before they decide if they can take you or not!
Jacks do not bite through 60 lb leader as the line sits between their teeth and not over it...I use 50lb leader and have never had a jack bite through it...maybe something else is smashing you up, bullies maybe?
Cheers SS.
softplasticsdude79
25-11-2011, 06:12 PM
im obviously fishing the wrong river system also,have had 2 sessions chasing jacks with lives around structure and havent had a bite yet,
-Shimano baitrunner 3500-ugly stick-20lb main-40lb fluro leader
-26.8C
-lots of trees in the water
-1-4 metres of water
-3 rods at once,all with live poddies - 1 at 2ft float - 1 at 4ft float - 1 at no weight
-all at night
-all on run out tide
-Caboolture river system
Anyways,your report will keep me hunting them until i find them.
matt fraser
25-11-2011, 09:52 PM
Jacks do not bite through 60 lb leader as the line sits between their teeth and not over it...I use 50lb leader and have never had a jack bite through it...maybe something else is smashing you up, bullies maybe?
Cheers SS.
We're not getting bitten off, but cut off/shredded on oyster encrusted pylons and structure. Bullies generally clean cut or slice the leader, very easy to distinguish between get bitten off and getting shredded!
Steve, the system is on the Gold Coast.
childers
26-11-2011, 02:14 PM
stripped a lot of line quickly
Matt maybe you could try tightening your drag a bit more mate
bar raider
28-11-2011, 06:34 PM
To be quiet honest i love all styles of fishing but i would rather sit all night to catch one jack than twenty 25cm bream
+1 on that!
BLOOEY
28-11-2011, 07:24 PM
I have not done all that much jack fishing, so this is just my theory so far. I think in some situations it doesn't matter how heavy your'e leader or mainline is, if the fish is swimming towards or at an angle towards you they will win every time. By the time you have registered the bite struck and started winding they are already safe at home without you even loading the rod up. Ben
Matthias
29-11-2011, 12:15 PM
If the jacks are pullin drag off your spool you arent set up properly. Try using a longer rod that has no flex- I use my dads old home made broom stick beach rod. Lock the drag, when they hit stand up hold the rod straight up and lock it into your forearm and just crank- no pump and wind. If you do this you wont lose many at all. Spin reels in 4000+ size are the go. The main thing is to be in touch with your bait- if you let it go slack and a jack slams it he will have the jump on ya. You usually feel your livie go crazy before it gets crunched too. Hope this helps.
wayno60
29-11-2011, 12:23 PM
+1
apart from the broom stick beach rod.......
nathank
30-11-2011, 11:18 AM
Exactly... i use a baitrunner and will nearly always see my rodtip bounce a little bit (bait going nuts) just before it gets crunched.. if they pull drag and you are fishing tight structure you arent set up properly at all... 40lb trace or 60 it will make no difference to oysters..just the bites you are getting. its the fun of it all i reckon hanging on for dear life under a locked drag and winning... :)
wayno60
30-11-2011, 04:33 PM
LOL.............
childers
01-12-2011, 04:23 PM
Wats goin on Matt, are you going back for seconds ?
matt fraser
23-01-2012, 01:52 PM
I finally got back out there, long time between trips I know, anyway I got a Jack, well just a Jackling really, at only 37cm.
It had no hope of pulling drag, and got sculldragged it in. Still it was great to see red!
Also got some nice bream later in the day.
Dodgy_Back
25-01-2012, 07:34 AM
Hey Matt.
Just a curious question to you and any one else. Have the Jacks been quiet over the Christmas break ? This was the fisrt year of owning a boat (7 years) that I didnt get a jack at Christmas. But I did find a few of Jacks harder fighting mate, Trev !!
PS if you need a mid week fishing partner, I'm your man ;)
ddobson
25-01-2012, 08:02 AM
Geez Matt i need to have me one of those hits to feel it as the jacks i get in the creeks on livies just hit, run and i pull up without a huge fight but theres not a lot of structure. The 2 i caught up cairns on HB hit hard but didnt brick me but fun as. At least you know were they are so you can gear up and go again. I only got a 65cm flatty sun on my attempt. Cheers DD.....
matt fraser
25-01-2012, 09:35 AM
Hey Matt.
Just a curious question to you and any one else. Have the Jacks been quiet over the Christmas break ? This was the fisrt year of owning a boat (7 years) that I didnt get a jack at Christmas. But I did find a few of Jacks harder fighting mate, Trev !!
PS if you need a mid week fishing partner, I'm your man ;)
G'day Mick,
I only did the one trip in November and then again last weekend, so I can't talk from personal experience. BUT.......November was stinking hot and dry, and from all accounts, both here and other sources, was a great Jack month, December was cold and wet and few Jack reports, bad Jack month. January has been up and down with a fair few caught.
Imho, local temps and rainfall affect the Jack fishing a lot. Just have to pick your times.
Looking back over the seasons, I also reckon that the peak Jack times are when the water first heats up, Oct/Nov and then again late Summer/Early Autumn (March/April). Any hot spell is good.
We must have a fish together this year!
ddobson
26-01-2012, 01:05 PM
Good to see yah getting them on the berkleys as everyones using these z mans and god knows what else. So thanks im not the only one. Cheers DD.....