View Full Version : trailer gone sunny coast
randell
09-10-2011, 06:34 AM
Saw this in the Sunshine Coast Daily this morning, sunday
http://www.sunshinecoastdaily.com.au/story/2011/10/09/pensioner-shattered-by-boat-trailer-theft/
I left my car there the next day.....
randell
logga77
09-10-2011, 06:57 AM
Scum it makes me sick to the core.
the poor old fella.
Dean
09-10-2011, 08:31 AM
I hope someone reads the article and has a trailer to offer him. What a kick in the guts.
I'll bet it is a collapsible as these are magnets for thieves.
charlie09
09-10-2011, 08:39 AM
I hope someone read the article and has a trailer to offer him. What a kick in the guts.
Maybe we can all chip in some $$ for the 'ol fella. Maybe the Mods here can also come up with some idea of getting the $$ together and the legalities of doing it. I'm sure that with the number people on this site we can come up with a reasonable amount for the guy to get himself a second hand trailer.
Vince
09-10-2011, 09:59 AM
I wonder if the old fella has any insurance??
I reckon it should be law to beat these bastards senseless if anyone sees them in the act of thieving something or defacing somebody else's property.
Also think that every boat ramp should have security cameras located high in the car parks to catch these shitheads. Seems they can place security cameras on most pedestrian crossings these days, why not in high crime areas like boat ramps?
jason p
09-10-2011, 12:35 PM
what a prick, bad enough to have to replace the trailer, but the frig around of getting the boat home and not going fishing untill its replaced, insured or not. i always put a trailer lock on mine cause of the fear of being stolen, i have insurance but i think the hasle of it all would be worse.
i agree jack a good ol floggin would make them think twice.
lol randell just leave the keys on the front seat.;D. i need a new car too, hmmm.
jp
09-10-2011, 01:44 PM
Insurance is the best way to not be out of pocket for this. A coupling lock may have also been a good defence against these low life's. What deterrent did this old guy have
Camera's......... the police are too busy putting camera's up on intersections to catch us for red light and speed infringements due to the cost effectiveness of them. You know....How it slows us down, not the revenue generated.
Camera's would deter some petty criminals and general thieves and I reckon this sort of crime at ramps would virtually be eliminated. No revenue in that but and that is where it all ends IMO
10-10-2011, 05:57 PM
Just makes you shake your head and wonder why, i dont get it,
Ive often wondered what the hell would you do if you returned and no trailer? and if you have a glass boat or a big platey i dont think getting a towie out to drop it on your front lawn is an option.
Corry
10-10-2011, 07:51 PM
I'm all in for putting something together for the old chap, luv to be part of the discipline regime for the convicted too.
Corry
randell
12-10-2011, 04:48 PM
I couldn't figure how to contact the moderator about a colection, or raffle......
Maybe he has viewed the thread?
randell
12-10-2011, 05:21 PM
I couldn't figure how to contact the moderator about a colection, or raffle......
Maybe he has viewed the thread?
randell
Its a bit much to ask the mods or Steve to organize such things. All their work on here is voluntary and they are busy enough as it is.
Organizing it yourself may be easier. Not having a go at all either as the hearts in the right place. Perhaps someone has done something for him already?
cheers JJ
mickjbuist
12-10-2011, 09:09 PM
this is sad to see, ill be happy to throw in some money.
timddo
13-10-2011, 03:55 PM
It's the Word TRUST here. Someone who has time just volunteer and we will deposit money in your bank account. Once all the funds are received you take him to buy a trailer. $10 is just 1 days lunch or a fraction for some.
randell
13-10-2011, 07:25 PM
I'll give him a call and see how things are going....
nice shed....
randell
jason p
13-10-2011, 08:08 PM
i think if you keep it all above board and transparent for all to see it should be ok. i dont think the authorities are going to put you in prison for helping an ol codger out:-?.
a raffle would be the go. hat,stubby cooler, reel or a combo, something thats us full and wanted but nothing outrageously expensive, we are trying to Rais money.
have a thread dedicated to this with a person nominated as treasurer (money holder).
target of ?($1000)? prize ?($180)? p&h plus sundries ?($20)? total $1200- 100 tickets @ $12 each.
if you want a ticket put your name up on the thread and forward the $12 to a bank account to the TRUSTED ausfish member. each entrant gets a number and at the end when the target is reached, the TRUSTED ausfish member draws a number from a “hat” and forwards the prize to the winner. now if its transparency you want the draw could be filmed and put up for all to see.
just a thought if everyone was serious.
jp
randell
14-10-2011, 08:54 AM
OK I called John this morning, the trailer was insured, and he has been paid out and bought a new trailer yesterday.......
He also used the yellow canoe and has had the trailer modified to fit tinnie and canoe.
He wished to thank forum members for the nice thoughts.................
He said he doesn't catch that many fish, and might join the forum....................
His trailer was padlocked to his car............
randell
mylestom
14-10-2011, 09:02 AM
Nice thoughts by all, really glad that the old codger was insured and compensated.
But for the mongrel that took it. Your day will come, its called Karma. "May the fleas from a thousand camels infest your armpits?"
Or the old one "May you live in interesting time" meant that a lot of trouble comes your way.
It was a tribute to the members of this site, to consider and come up with ideas on replacement. Well done
14-10-2011, 06:07 PM
All is wll that ends well, isn't that what they say?
However, how is this guy going to enjoy his fishing trips launching from the same ramp as he had the last trailer stolen? Where is his peace of mind, enjoying retirement fishing without the worry about some low- life doing it all over again?
I want to make a suggestion that does promote a product, but I do not have any interest in it except beleiving that the product is a great idea, because I own one myself. With a retail price of $169.00, I am pledging the 1st $30.00 toward buying one of these for him, to be fitted to the new trailer. Does anyone want to join me? If so, say so here, till we reach the value of the alarm. You can then PM me with your details and we go from there. If we don't reach the value, I don't care, I'll take the entire expense on myself. I will try to negotiate a better price naturally, and if more than sufficient funds are pledged I won't be taking any change - 1st in get to be a part of a worthy cause.. ;) His story moved me when I read it, he deserves a peacful retirement.
http://www.cuda-alarms.com.au/
Randell, can you find out if this is of any interest to him, and let me know.
Cheers for now,
AnthonyL
14-10-2011, 06:19 PM
Good point and good idea, I am happy to chip in.
jason p
14-10-2011, 07:21 PM
i agree scalem, it would be in the back of your mind always. i dont know if i realy like the idea of that alarm, looks to me it could easily be kicked or bumped off, smashed, use a screw driver and take out the batteries. i think a simple hitch lock and a tow ball lock would do a better job at detering,slowing down a theif and at a quarter of the price. just a thought.
jp
14-10-2011, 09:14 PM
i agree scalem, it would be in the back of your mind always. i dont know if i realy like the idea of that alarm, looks to me it could easily be kicked or bumped off, smashed, use a screw driver and take out the batteries. i think a simple hitch lock and a tow ball lock would do a better job at detering,slowing down a theif and at a quarter of the price. just a thought.
jp
Thanks Anthony, I'm up to $90.00 inc you. JP, just breath on this puppy at it will squark at 103db. The alarm is not instead of the tow ball lock, it is in addition to the tow ball lock. So any would-be thief can have a go at it, find it really is more robust than at 1st thought, too late, it's already screaming because they have disturbed it.. then try the tow ball lock. I think a thief will likely move on by this stage. Find something a little easier to steal than this trailer.... Everyone has access to tow ball locks, and thieves can practice on dozens to get their technique just right... have the right crowbar etc.
jason p
14-10-2011, 09:34 PM
i will pitch in 30 because its for a good cause, but still think a simple hitch lock and a tow ball lock would suffice:P.
jp
15-10-2011, 05:12 AM
Depends on what he wants, we have enough coin to buy the best quality tow ball lock there is. If Randell can tell us what he is happy with we will go with that.
Thanks !
randell
17-10-2011, 05:49 AM
Hi Scalem,
I PM'd you saturday with his address.
I told John about your plan and convinced him to accept your gift.
I told him about ausfish , mainly for tips and reports, he had a look and said he was a bit embarased reading about himself.
He wished to thank you all.
It has been a bit different to the usual lost/stolen posts...............
thanks all
randell
AnthonyL
17-10-2011, 06:04 PM
Depends on what he wants, we have enough coin to buy the best quality tow ball lock there is. If Randell can tell us what he is happy with we will go with that.
Thanks !
When you are ready just pm me your bank details and I can transfer the money over.
Angryant
17-10-2011, 08:23 PM
I have been following this thread with interest. From the outset I wish to make the following absolutely clear. I am not advertising any product.
Given the unique situation that "John" found himself in and also the kind promise of donations from a few Ausfish members I propose the following:
1. Funds secured by Ausfish members be utilised for the purchase of a hitch lock;
2. I am more than happy to provide an alarm (note no brand mentioned) to "John" at no cost and I will also offer to arrange installation at a time suitable for both of us.
Randell, can you please check with John and confirm he is happy with this arrangement.
Happy if you wish to PM me.
Angryant
jason p
17-10-2011, 08:42 PM
well isnt the aufish fish crew something else,:scholar::2thumbsup:.
Angryant
17-10-2011, 10:31 PM
well isnt the aufish fish crew something else,:scholar::2thumbsup:.
I suppose you never know when something is going to come from left field.
18-10-2011, 01:50 PM
Thanks for your generousity Angryant, good timing, I was going to arrange some funds tranfers but had not got that far yet..... the only question is will I give my brother in law back his contribution::);D;D
Thanks to all who messaged me, nice to know you don't need to go any further to get John an alarm, but I have to say there are some great people on Ausfish, make sure that if you see me in your travels, on the water, wherever, say gidday!
randell
29-10-2011, 03:54 PM
I just got a call from John Hey to thank every one on the forum . He has installed the alarm.
The lock he has is the type that's meant for leaving the trailer at home as you have to have the trailer detached.....
he could use the other type......
Thanks guys....
randell
ps, I have a look around the ramps and see heaps of guys don't have any security at all..........