View Full Version : What reel for 4kg-7kg plastics rod?

breakthelines
08-10-2011, 04:33 PM
Just wanting to know what reel to get for my berkley pro tactic 4-7kg plastics rod?

Cheers 8-)

08-10-2011, 05:04 PM
How much do you want to spend and what technique (eg depth and target species)?

breakthelines
08-10-2011, 07:36 PM
Snapper, flaties, other reef species. Money isn't an issue, but I prefer shimano.

Carry
08-10-2011, 08:01 PM
Hey mate,

I have a 4-8kg plastics/slug casting setup. The majority of my reels are shimano. I was looking at the shimano stradic in the 4000 size. But this time I thought I would try a diawa after much deliberation. I bought the Diawa sol 4000. I am very impressed to say the least. Great reel that has stopped many big macks, snapper and longtails without any trouble. Hope this helps.

Luke

madmaskbass
08-10-2011, 08:43 PM
I just recently purchased a daiwa cerate 2500r and they are a truly awesome bit of gear but at around 550 aus they are not cheap...i would also recommend the daiwa luvias DA these are bullet proof, light, smooth both drag and use...if money is not an issue have a look at a moerthanbranzino...anyway i obviously prefer the high end gear but i truly beleive that in most price points the daiwa just edges out shimano IMO as far as new spin reels go anyway...

but in shimano the twin power or sustain look like the goods i will never forget that video of the bloke landing a sailfish on a 3000 sustain..very impressive...of course there is always the stella which is probably still the highest rated spin reel available...

good luck mate

if you do want to be a bit more specific with your price range it may help with narrowing it down a bit...the stella is about 800 the morethanbranzino is about 1200 if money was not an issue...

08-10-2011, 09:00 PM
Why don't you get a Stradic 4000FJ and let us know how good it is;D. The FIs have been great reels. You may be able to get away with a 3000 size Daiwa if staying shallow but in Shimano I would look at 4000 and even a 5000 if venturing offshore on a regular basis

08-10-2011, 09:31 PM
I justvhave a cheapie 40 Shimano on mine and can only say to pull it apart early and add some decent grease then you should be worry free for quite a while if you just give it a little care

breakthelines
09-10-2011, 01:35 AM
Will be using it for many Goldy reefs. Stradic C4i 4000 do the job?

Giveitacrack
09-10-2011, 04:42 AM
[QUOTE=breakthelines;1319666]Just wanting to know what reel to get for my berkley pro tactic 4-7kg plastics rod?

Giveitacrack
09-10-2011, 04:51 AM
Gday mate.I have the same rod with a Stradic FI 3000 which is a good match.I would try the new Shimano rarenium 4000 which would be a good match.These are around $280-300 mark.They are superlight for there size being CI4 and are made for the jap domestic market not for export which means quality.

breakthelines
04-11-2011, 12:55 PM
Picked up the new stradic FJ 4000, what a great reel.

Bit dirty on Shimano though, no longer provide a spare spool with the reel.

softplasticsdude79
04-11-2011, 02:23 PM
Shimano seido 4000

$99 At allround angler caboolture,have one myself,a great reel for the price when your on a budget

04-11-2011, 04:31 PM
Picked up the new stradic FJ 4000, what a great reel.

Bit dirty on Shimano though, no longer provide a spare spool with the reel.

Let us know how it goes. Thats a real shame about the lack of a spare spool

Jackson 53
05-11-2011, 09:37 AM
Hi mate. Out of interest what line are you using on your Stradic FI 3000. I have just bought one and was considering spooling it with 10lb Tuf Line.

Jackson 53
05-11-2011, 09:40 AM
Gday mate.I have the same rod with a Stradic FI 3000 which is a good match.I would try the new Shimano rarenium 4000 which would be a good match.These are around $280-300 mark.They are superlight for there size being CI4 and are made for the jap domestic market not for export which means quality.

Hi mate. Out of interest what line are you using on your Stradic FI 3000. I have just bought one and was considering spooling it with 10lb Tuf Line.

13-11-2011, 06:43 PM
On my Stadic 3000 teamed up with my Phlueger plastic rod I use 10 pound Finns and heaps of it. I love the Stradic - its the best reel I have by far.

Coodgee
24-11-2011, 08:58 AM
On my Stadic 3000 teamed up with my Phlueger plastic rod I use 10 pound Finns and heaps of it. I love the Stradic - its the best reel I have by far.

I just bought a pflueger Patriarch 4-6kg plastics rod and I am in the process of picking a reel for it. I will be using it in the river and in the bay but also venturing out offshore to the cape from time to time. I am tossing up between a stradic Ci4 3000 or 4000 size. I figure a 4000 size ci4 stradic will weigh about the same as alot of 2500 size reels so if I got the 4000 size reeel it could both onshore and offshore. I thought probably 10lb fins braid on it, should be able to get nearly 300 yards on it I reckon. According to the guy on here who does the braid tests, fins 10lb actually breaks at just over 25lb so I would think 10lb would be enough eh?

halcoholic
25-11-2011, 09:46 AM
ive got a ci4 3000 and love it i use it chase barra and jack and its got more than enough grunt to handle them got a big queenie on it the other day and it handled it with ease i run 20lb on mine and got 150 yards on no problems best reel i have ever owned

Coodgee
25-11-2011, 12:53 PM
I ended up ordering a Daiwa Fuego 3000A. I thought the Ci4's looked a little tacky to be honest. I'm sure it makes no difference to the performance though. The 3000 size Ci4 was too small for the rod really.