View Full Version : And another -Sat 24th looks OK
21-09-2011, 07:49 AM
Tim D texts me early Tues to point out weather might be OK this sat - I wasn't even looking at the weather yet. Still not blooded the new rig enough Tim?
Might be a good chance to slip out via south passage to square patch area. Another Kingie assault? Northerly winds are my only observation, hopefully I can get there early, so if it blows up a bit more it will be following sea home.
I'll try the northern channel this time, have been going out through middle channel but I have to understand why most people use the northern channel ( which I am less familiar with) when middle channel has been easy.
Anyone else?
rosco1974
21-09-2011, 04:35 PM
yep.
im in scalem.what time we leavin ..u can follow me through the northern channel if u want...was just talking to the younfella bout a trip to square patch.
21-09-2011, 05:59 PM
Hi Rosco,
1st light leaving Manly ( that's where you are moored isn't it?) will be around 5.15am. Can meet you at the rock wall entrance around then?
21-09-2011, 07:06 PM
I think we will be heading out around those parts as well. Probably try a little closer in then have a look at Square Patch if the northerly does not kick in too early
rosco1974
21-09-2011, 08:09 PM
yep no prob brian...should be a good day out looking at the forcast.will have the boat put back in the water friday arvo...are u getting livies on the way or just using those plastic things
21-09-2011, 08:24 PM
yep no prob brian...should be a good day out looking at the forcast.will have the boat put back in the water friday arvo...are u getting livies on the way or just using those plastic things
Stopping for Livies? Nah, we'll use our Zmans again with 3oz jigheads. If you buy the biggest Zmans I'll give you some jigheads to try ( not that I'm trying to convert you or anything.) You too Neil, if I meet up.
rosco1974
21-09-2011, 08:29 PM
i have a few of barry's hotlip jigheads in 1,2 and 3 ounce but not just a plain jighead..
rosco1974
21-09-2011, 08:35 PM
hey brian where did u get the zmans and what color works best in what style
21-09-2011, 09:18 PM
hey brian where did u get the zmans and what color works best in what style
Here you go, Tim used a 4oz which is a little oversized where 3 oz was OK, and there is one colour brighter called sexy lady. BCF have them. Rosco, Barry's crystal flash works great, but I prefer to whack a big paddle tail on my jigheads which are designed for plastics, Barrys are designed for bling where the collar is too thick for plastics.
http://i414.photobucket.com/albums/pp223/Scalem/Flurojig.jpg
rosco1974
22-09-2011, 09:49 AM
thanks mate might have to grab a couple off you then...will go to bcf today and grab a few paddle tails to try
22-09-2011, 11:41 AM
thanks mate might have to grab a couple off you then...will go to bcf today and grab a few paddle tails to try
If I don't get a chance to talk to you, drop the 3 or 4 oz with Zman down when you see fish on the sounder, and crank it back exactly the same way as you would rip a knife jig up. The glow powder coat will attract them to it, along with the vibration of the paddle tail.
rosco1974
22-09-2011, 03:48 PM
what ramp do u use scalem...the public with the pontoon or the 1 beside the coastguard,got a couple of packets of zman plastics..
ozassassin
22-09-2011, 04:03 PM
I'm hoping to be able to get out myself, at this stage it looks ok hope every one that gets out has a good day.
Eric
Hopefully i don't have to work Brian :(
cheers tim :)
22-09-2011, 08:43 PM
Rosco, VMR ramp if I can get a deckie, pontoon if going solo, so I'll meet you at the front rock wall at 5.15am.
Tim D - can't help that bud, might have to go to plan S as everyone else inc Matt are busy, so might have a spot if anyone is keen for a fish and likes fishing plastics. I'll go solo if I have to. No stinky stuff on the Yalta ( normally) PM me if interested.
thelump
23-09-2011, 08:06 AM
I'll be out and heading for a feed of squire (hopefully) will be at the amity channel at 5ish am. I have a mate out there at the moment and he had 5 squire in the box at 7am. Mmmmm squire. What radio channel does everyone frequent?
23-09-2011, 08:13 AM
I'll be out and heading for a feed of squire (hopefully) will be at the amity channel at 5ish am. I have a mate out there at the moment and he had 5 squire in the box at 7am. Mmmmm squire. What radio channel does everyone frequent?
I reckon I know where, if the conditions allow we might head over to the c ........ Channel 73 VHF and 90/91 on 27 meg. Good luck mate!
Im in :thumbsup:
Anyone got any marks for the coffee rock east of Moreton, scalem and i wouldnt mind trying some new ground for some snaps and cobia after we get our bag on kings.
MattChew
23-09-2011, 04:04 PM
I'm out Brain. My previous engagement is now on so I'll be out in the Bay .. good luck on the Kings ... hopefully you wont have to measure them;D
Tim, I want to at least see you get one on a jig ... no cheating now!!!!!!
Good Luck guys.
Ta
Tim, I want to at least see you get one on a jig ... no cheating now!!!!!!
Ta
Nar ive got some new 8" glow grubs i wanna put through there paces, the jigs can stay looking pretty in the tackle box for now.
No reduced cheese and bacon rolls this trip :(