View Full Version : another river report
chief
19-09-2011, 04:01 PM
Had a quick flick and came tight on lizard on the new flexibabe 45 from river 2 sea . Had a bit of trouble finding decent sized herring. Kept getting baits smashed but finally hooked up on another river threadie..Cheers71606716057160471603
Mossy247
19-09-2011, 04:04 PM
Top job chief, I managed a 53cm flatty of the rock walls on my way back from mud on sunday morn, great day on the river. Looks like the thready's are coming back with the heat. Tight lines
p.s shoot you a txt if your keen for a fish this coming weekend. cheers. Mossy
19-09-2011, 04:28 PM
another good effort mate..well done.
But hang on a minute..it is Monday...a work day..you blokes fishing during the week..ought to be a law against it.
Bugger..I don't even have a boat any more..LOL
chief
19-09-2011, 04:49 PM
Too easy Mossy...
Greg whats the go champ you haven't got a boat??? Give us a yell if your fanging for a trip .....
netmaker
19-09-2011, 05:49 PM
nice back to back trips chief. well done mate.
wayno60
19-09-2011, 06:04 PM
cleaned up again..... love ya work.
does anyone know why we dont get threadies around the seaway??
BLOOEY
19-09-2011, 06:17 PM
Another cracker chief! Wayno, a lack of mudflats might have something to do with it and maybe the clearer water, just a guesstimate though. Ben
chief
19-09-2011, 07:11 PM
Wanyno 60,,,,Their in the logan river mate, I think Blooey is on the money
chaspion01
19-09-2011, 07:28 PM
Righto Chief, had a crack in the river yesterday after reading your threads and must say that i bloody enjoyed it, never been out there before and was surprised of the water clarity and calm seas. Where to fish tho? I went in at the port, where should i head for a decent go? I'm in an average 12ft tinnie with 15hp on the back. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!
chief
20-09-2011, 07:22 AM
Sent you a PM chaspion01 Hope it helps
.:::stotty:::.
20-09-2011, 09:36 AM
Nice one Cheif, have you noticed the heavier boat traffic nowadays on the river? Havent fished it for quite a while and went out on sunday for a quick cast and fishermans island boat ramp was 100% full and so was pinkenba. Boats were all over the pipeline up the rock wall near the pooshoot. Then a few more around other random spots.
Must really be getting hit hard these days, the thready's around the mouth have defiently been harder to located this year than any other previous year. Good too see the water clarity back to where it was before the floods thou, maybe even cleaner. I just hope that the threadfin population of the river can survive such a flooging.
Cheers Matt
lucee81
20-09-2011, 10:49 AM
Hi Chief
i dont supose you are willing to spread the love with sending me your advice as the best i can pull from the river is a few snap and the occasional cod.;D;D;D
Lucas
Defore
20-09-2011, 11:11 AM
Nice fish, makes me want to give the river a go.
Always look forward to reading your reports here and B&B.
Keep them coming Chief.
Seahorse
20-09-2011, 02:41 PM
Chief.
I have tried the river a few times, but like the other guys, a few hints would be nice. Not sure how close one can get to those boats. Is it better up near the mouth or head down towards bridge.
Any help would be appreciated.
chief
20-09-2011, 05:45 PM
Stotty...I'm not sure if I'd agree boat traffic is increased. I tend to think about 8 years ago it was at it's worse . You would find 3 boats in every gap between ships along the entire wharve. There were boats everywhere. I think you may have had a few circumstances on that past week end. A mixture of that great weather and also a few blokes told me ifish had done a story on fishing for threadfin in the brissie river and apparently they showed a couple of fish being pulled from the pipe to luggage point area . The exact location you had mentioned had a concentration of boats. every one would have been trying their luck trying to land one and you can't blame them. You may see a lot of boats there but the real question is how many punters actually scored a fish????
20-09-2011, 06:09 PM
Too easy Mossy...
Greg whats the go champ you haven't got a boat??? Give us a yell if your fanging for a trip .....
sold the boat mate, sold a few other things..house going on the market soon..change of scenery ..going to move to bribie. Dependent on how long in selling the house then the move.
Thanks very much for the offer but i will decline thanks.
Tell ya what..gotta love this place..have had a couple of other offers of a trip..but ..declined them all for the same reason..nothing personal of course, but just me.
If there is a better bunch of blokes and more informed around than on this site I would love to know where.
ddobson
21-09-2011, 07:03 PM
Another one geez you got the sounder working well with the thready's and jewies. I need to look more carefully at the sounder once i hook up on one to see what they look like on the bottom as the furuno has good colour but no idea what i am looking at to determine what species they are. Well done as alwayus. DD.....
netmaker
21-09-2011, 07:14 PM
is it just me or does wayno look better as a brunette? reckon blonde was just too much bimbo. maybe another poll?;D
davo
chief
21-09-2011, 09:20 PM
Netmaker... NO NO NO don't tell me thats not actually wayno's photo. Gee I'm sorry wayno about those PMs mate!!!
wayno60
21-09-2011, 11:03 PM
blondes dont aways have all the fun......
ddobson
22-09-2011, 12:53 PM
Nice air bags on there wayno lol. Be good in big swell.
Richo1
23-09-2011, 05:30 PM
Great Threadie Chief, no big ones from me lately just small jew ( 50cm-60cm).
Cheers Richo