View Full Version : New rod for new Curado 200E5

DarkHorse
15-09-2011, 11:20 AM
G'Day Crew,

Thank you for your help regarding new reel. Decided to get Curado 200E5. As I mentioned previously will be using for Barra on NT trip and maybe back in Sydney on Bass???

I will be buying from site advertiser American Legacy.

In two minds in buying a rod at the same time. Was thinking Loomis IMX or NRX??

But found this:
http://www.americanlegacyfishing.com/shimano-cumara-7-11-cuc711m-casting-fishing-rod.html

Your thoughts please!

Again thank you.

P.s. Finger is poised on buy button, lol ;D

sprocketman
15-09-2011, 06:13 PM
I went with the NRX 893C JWR ( http://www.americanlegacyfishing.com/g-loomis-nrx-casting-fishing-rod-nrx-893c-jwr.html ) matchted to a JDM Shimano Scorpion and love it - though it's probably a little light for what you're after.

DarkHorse
16-09-2011, 10:26 AM
G'Day Sprocketman,

Thanks for the response. I do like the idea of the loomis, but with soooo many different actions and types, I find it VERY difficult to choose the correct rod.

I was thinking medium/heavy but I get lost on line weight and lure weight :-?

It will get more use chasing Bass than Barra, so any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

17-09-2011, 07:21 AM
G'Day Sprocketman,

Thanks for the response. I do like the idea of the loomis, but with soooo many different actions and types, I find it VERY difficult to choose the correct rod.

I was thinking medium/heavy but I get lost on line weight and lure weight :-?

It will get more use chasing Bass than Barra, so any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Just to give you a little guide - we fish 10-17lb rated rods for salty barra / jacks - rated @ 1/4 - 3/4 oz lures. If bass fishing , a rod like this would be used for big spinnerbaits & mask vibes ( a heavy outfit).
So if you are thinking bass - you want to be looking at something lighter than this (4-10lb - 1/8 - 3/8 oz lures) & probably a rod lenngth of 6'6".

The trouble with shopping for a such a bass rod out of the States is that the yanks dont do light well ...... what they consider light , we would use for jacks / cod / barra

DarkHorse
17-09-2011, 08:09 AM
Chris, Thank you for the info. I was looking at medium heavy or medium. Some of the bait casting rods are 7'11"..............

Shipping though for 1 or 5 rods is the same USD$105. Bit pointless for 1 rod. Might wait or see if anyone is interested in a group buy????

Loomis NRX or Shimano Cumara........... from site advertiser American Legacy!

Dan5
17-09-2011, 08:25 AM
Mate i'm not sure on legacy's full range but have a look into the kistler rods aswell.

I'm running a 6'3'' Kistler Helium and a curado E7 on it it's a great little set up for flicking light/medium lures i did a comparison post against my Loomis crankbait and the Kistler has a better action IMO it's also built better.....way better sic guides etc.

I have got maybe 8 loomis baitcaster rods and they are over priced IMO.....You should be able to find something really good on the net for similar dollars to the NRX have a look around for a mid range model Megabass or Evergreen IMO...or even the Majorcraft is great stuff for cheap coin.

17-09-2011, 11:25 AM
Chris, Thank you for the info. I was looking at medium heavy or medium. Some of the bait casting rods are 7'11"..............

Shipping though for 1 or 5 rods is the same USD$105. Bit pointless for 1 rod. Might wait or see if anyone is interested in a group buy????

Loomis NRX or Shimano Cumara........... from site advertiser American Legacy!

Take a look at www.tacklewarehouse.com - their prices are good & you can get a couple of rods shipped for $40 (Fed Ex)
They sell a really good range including Cumara & NRX.
I use both - but find TW a bit better than AL

As for those longer rods - they are technique specific ......... big swimbaits , frogging or pulling fish from deep cover (pitching & flipping). The rods that would be better suited are the spinnerbait & crankbait rods.

Good luck

DarkHorse
17-09-2011, 07:57 PM
Thank you Chris and Dan! Awesome info. Just went to tackle warehouse, WOW :o

Very nice. Geez even the GL2 pieces look alright!

If the shipping is cheaper, will definitely buy the rod from there or 2.............

My credit card is about to feel the hurt ;D

Many thanks and tight lines to you both.

DarkHorse
20-09-2011, 01:53 PM
Chris,
Bit the bullet and after looking at various rods decided on the StCroix 7' extreme cast rod. Was stoked.

Got email today saying that it was no longer being stocked (even though it showed in stock on the site)>:(

They want to know if I want something else or refund. Sigh. Was looking forward to that rod, haven't heard anything bad about St Croix. Was only $200 as well..........

Option is the St Croix legend extreme 7' 12-20Lb or the Kistler 6'9" 12-17lb

The St Croix is Fuji recoil guides, the Kistler has alconite guides!

Thoughts appreciated,

DarkHorse
23-09-2011, 06:35 PM
Dan5 and Nagg,

I optioned the 6'9" Kistler Helium, it is on its way. I must say that Tacklewarehouse are VERY good to deal with, they apologised for the mistake in regards to the St Croix, email communication has been excellent. I can't wait.

You are right Nagg, their rates for postage/freight are very good. Thank you all for your thoughts and taking the time to help me out. I really appreciate it.

23-09-2011, 08:47 PM
No worries Rob - i've used a few overseas sellers & just find TW brilliant ( you can get some real value) - shipping is fast ( Fed Ex) & at a reasonable cost for a rod or reel - buy 2 and you get exceptional value8-)
if you buy small items - you can get the shipping down to US$7.50 - and land a few lures and a spool of braid :) - at the same time as saving 50% of what you would have spent locally