View Full Version : salting pillies

rosco1974
14-09-2011, 07:04 PM
have never done it befor and just wondering how it is done.have herd they are alot better once they have been salted down is this true.always buy a few now to floatline but at the end of the day they are rooted and most times i throw them away.can they be salted down once they are soft to be used next trip
cheers rosco

14-09-2011, 07:15 PM
It is a catch22 this one, fresh pillies then salted will make them last longer, tougher and hold together better, down side is they are not as good as fresh pillies, still better then mullet fillets though.
With old pillies that are almost breaking apart, salting them down will get you a few more hours fishing with them, but once that gut starts to break its too late to try the salting bit.

I do it only when I am going away for a week or so, the bait that is not used on the fishing session gets salted and packed away for later in the week. Keep dragging out the frozen pillies a few at a time until they are used or salted, then start back with the first of the salted ones and work through that reserve.
I find salted pillies make a much better cut bait that whole.

rosco1974
14-09-2011, 07:26 PM
thanks mate.i always use mullet flesh when bottom bashing and maybe squid but never use pillies except for floatlining
cheers rosco

TheGurn
15-09-2011, 07:19 PM
I had no way of keeping my pillies frozen while camping at Moreton once after the kids told me that my bait esky 'just fell apart, honest dad', and I didn't have enough salt to preserve them (the pillies).

I had a lot more fishing to do, and a lot of pillies that were going to go off.
So I did the next best thing.
I strung all the pillies I had on a bit of fishing line (thru the eyes) and hung them out to dry.

The Wife wasn't at all impressed, but a few crows were very happy.

Anyway, the dried little suckers kept ok until they ran out, and they caught quite a few fish.
They were tough, (bonus) but seemed to re-hydrated quite well after they hit the water.

Better than chucking them out.

thelump
16-09-2011, 12:31 PM
Mate I have used them with mixed success. All I did was put all the unused pillies in a bucket then cover them with pool (any) salt then put the lid on the bucket. They last like that for quite a while.

ThePinkPanther
16-09-2011, 07:09 PM
Guaranteed recipe!

Defrost them and place them between several thick sheets of newspaper to take off the excess water.

Spread them out on fresh newspaper again, cover them liberally with coarse swimming pool salt and mix it through them thoroughly.

After FIFTEEN MINUTES, shake all the excess salt off some (not all) thecsalt and again press them between thick sheets of newspaper to rid them of any more moisture.

After THIRTY MINUTES, lay them in the right size/shape zippy bags, add ONE TEASPOON of olive oil to each bag, give them a shake and then put them in the crisper section of the fridge, NOT THE FREEZER!

Don't put too many in each bag, just a layer or two most, about a dozen is fine.

After a week, drain off any accumulated water from the bag and I guarantee they will last three months and give you a firm, tough and natural looking bait.

Do EXACTLY the same with blood worms. Last easy for six months!

ffejsmada
17-09-2011, 11:33 AM
Thanks Pinkie, I'll give that method a go.

Convincing the missus to give up half the vege crisper is my main concern!;D

17-09-2011, 12:18 PM
Thanks Pinkie, I'll give that method a go.

Convincing the missus to give up half the vege crisper is my main concern!;D

You could save the mrs's ire and give up part of the beer fridge i guess Jeff!!

Just pulling ya leg fella!!

rexgrunt
18-09-2011, 10:59 AM
salted are great for a floating steup when chasing tailor as you can give them a good hard flick with out them flying off

18-09-2011, 03:59 PM
When I'm on a long trip I pull out a pack of frozen Pillies (about 20) and chuck in a handfull of salt. The salt works on them as they defrost. Whats not used is drained of fluid and returned to the freezer. They hold up for several outings this way if they are quality Pillies to start with.