View Full Version : Old Timber Lures - Leads Lures & C Lures

Si
13-09-2011, 11:04 AM
Gday,
Just wondering if anyone has any old leads lures (By Terry Leadbeater) lying around and are happy to offload for a reasonable price. Shoot me a PM. Any other old timber lures im willing to have a look at too. 8-)

TimD
13-09-2011, 04:49 PM
My dad gave me some old tackle box the other day and i think theres some old wood lures in there, im not 100% sure they are wood as i haven't had a good look at them, i will be happy to offload them though if they are what your after.

cheers tim :)

13-09-2011, 04:53 PM
Why the interest in Leads Lures specifically?

nickstock
13-09-2011, 05:11 PM
Hi mate,

I thought you may like to have a squiz at a tiny part of my lure collection. I have a real soft spot for timber lures and 99% of my Barra fishing is done with a Richo.IMO, Kenny builds the best Barra lure on the market full stop. The famous Leads Hi-Jacker was one of my favourite Barra lures however they are just so bloody weak.

I collect timber lures and used to have over 40 Hi-Jackers however all have since died with the typical Leads problem of the center wire pulling through, arising within a few good Barras. I put my two favourite Leads colours in with a few C-Lures and Lucinda Lures for the pic for you.

I love looking at old lures and some days I can spend an entire day rumaging through my collection of Barra lures. My favourites would have to be the old Norm Edwards lures for timber lures and I also have a few Abu Killers tucked away somewhere. I caught my send ever Barra in Tinaroo as a kid on a Abu Killer.

Other lures that you should look up are the old "Wild River Lures". Great lures that I have not seen for years.

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/Lures0011000x667.jpg

Moffy
13-09-2011, 06:22 PM
thought i had an abu killer set aside with these - but it was just a clone of one...

Si
13-09-2011, 07:23 PM
My dad gave me some old tackle box the other day and i think theres some old wood lures in there, im not 100% sure they are wood as i haven't had a good look at them, i will be happy to offload them though if they are what your after.

yeah i would definitely be interested in having a look for sure mate. cheers. any chance you could take a quick photo of em?

Si
13-09-2011, 07:38 PM
Why the interest in Leads Lures specifically?

hard to answer really. i guess i have a soft spot for em as they were the first hard body lure i bought when i was a kid and did pretty well on them. They had a massive action on em and they use to catch fish. when i first noticed them when i was say 12 or thereabouts i was astounded by some of the paint jobs. they really stood out amongst the rest back then. i have only a couple left that were not lost to the snags or fish and would love to add to the collection. I'm interested in all types really.

Si
13-09-2011, 07:56 PM
i have only these leads left.

the top one has hardly been used. it is an exact replacement when my mate got the other original that was heavily battled scarred from spotties finally met its death off mooloolaba from a bite off. kind of inevitable really. i dont use it and dont plan too although i know it would probably be a nice barra lure.

The bottom one is special and was the very first one i bought around 1987. It has caught a handful of bass, mary river cod and golden perch. the paint is coming off unfortunately.

Si
13-09-2011, 08:03 PM
Hi mate,

I thought you may like to have a squiz at a tiny part of my lure collection. I have a real soft spot for timber lures and 99% of my Barra fishing is done with a Richo.IMO, Kenny builds the best Barra lure on the market full stop. The famous Leads Hi-Jacker was one of my favourite Barra lures however they are just so bloody weak.

I collect timber lures and used to have over 40 Hi-Jackers however all have since died with the typical Leads problem of the center wire pulling through, arising within a few good Barras. I put my two favourite Leads colours in with a few C-Lures and Lucinda Lures for the pic for you.

I love looking at old lures and some days I can spend an entire day rumaging through my collection of Barra lures. My favourites would have to be the old Norm Edwards lures for timber lures and I also have a few Abu Killers tucked away somewhere. I caught my send ever Barra in Tinaroo as a kid on a Abu Killer.

Other lures that you should look up are the old "Wild River Lures". Great lures that I have not seen for years.

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/Lures0011000x667.jpg

very nice nick. if thats only a tiny bit then your collection is massive. i like the richo lures as he puts them on the old card style. i bought a few of em when in rocky at barra jacks. has a whole wall devoted to them. i really love the cream one above the purple and gold with black stripes. very nice. thanks for sharing.

13-09-2011, 09:18 PM
I know what you say about the Leads being the ducks nuts, I'm down to only a dozen or so left now I guess. Did have well over 4 dozen at one stage. Mainly have the 4" deep diver similar to the cream tiger striped one low in the picture above, plus several 4" and 6" bibless minnows and one or two 2" divers left in the Leads. Got a couple of Arbogast timbers in there and a few Heddons timbers as well. Ummmm, Think there are a few really old ones too (somewhere around 1930's -40's vintage as well) and a Timber Tilsan I think as well??

TimD
13-09-2011, 09:19 PM
yeah i would definitely be interested in having a look for sure mate. cheers. any chance you could take a quick photo of em?

G'day mate just checked those lures out, i dont think any of them are timber. I know 2 of them are Elliots Darwin Darts, if you still want some pic's let me know.

GPB
13-09-2011, 09:29 PM
SI, you've got me thinking too ;), I'll see what I can dig up on the weekend, I have about a doz bibbed and bibbless mid to late 80's models in some lure pouches somewhere, most are unused but some have cracked flaky paint from the wood drying out. I have a dark red 160mm older model hanging up in the shed that is more the shape the bottom one in your pic, 'Classic lures' .;D

Si
13-09-2011, 10:09 PM
check this little stumpjumper out at the bottom. made with mother of pearl, collectable display only and is reported to be the most expensive lure ever. i think someone paid $10000 for one recently:o.

reggy
14-09-2011, 03:11 PM
thought i had an abu killer set aside with these - but it was just a clone of one...
They look like Eric Moller or Vic McCristal lures.

rexgrunt
14-09-2011, 03:26 PM
if your after a real collectable bass lure you cant go past the bellbrook wobler.

Moffy
14-09-2011, 05:36 PM
They look like Eric Moller
Yeah Reggy - 3 original Eric Mollers - Dad gave them to me over 20 years ago - have never used them myself - just kept them tucked away.

reggy
14-09-2011, 05:39 PM
This is getting very nostalgic. Reminds me of the days I used my ABU Duet Zoom rod and ABU Cardinal 55 reel to toss my ABU Hi Lo lures.about mid eighties.8-)

reggy
14-09-2011, 05:43 PM
Yeah Reggy - 3 original Eric Mollers - Dad gave them to me over 20 years ago - have never used them myself - just kept them tucked away.
I reckon they would have legendary status in the history of Aussie lures.

ifishcq1
14-09-2011, 07:45 PM
Hi SI
I have a few leads, a couple C lures and a pair of original killalure barra baits still on cards
I need to get rid of a heap of lures while they are still in good nick I will pm you some pics on the weekend to see if you are interested
as a couple of the others have said they like Richoes These days I only use Richoes mainly because they work and secondly Ken Richardson is a mate
my offsider Thommo and I have landed over 500 barra and quite a few jacks this year on the deepest Richo extracta

ifishcq1
21-12-2011, 07:09 PM
Hi Si
the old girl stashed my old lures in a spot not to be lost, they finally turned up today
I tried to get the pics onto a pm and I can't do it so hit me with you email address

Si
21-12-2011, 07:34 PM
Hi Si
the old girl stashed my old lures in a spot not to be lost, they finally turned up today
I tried to get the pics onto a pm and I can't do it so hit me with you email address

pm sent. cheers mate.