View Full Version : The slimeys are back off Evans Head

ranga7
03-09-2011, 10:47 AM
After a couple of years of bugger all slimeys they are back with plenty being caught.;D It concerned me for awhile that they may have been wiped out. Hopefully they hang around now, definately my favorite bait dead or alive. Awesome in crab pots to with a couple of slices in them.

stonecold
03-09-2011, 11:51 AM
Mate its been a long time since slimies were reliable at Evans.....and the ones that where there in recent times where not much bigger than a frog mouth pillie. Good news!

ranga7
03-09-2011, 11:55 AM
Yeah is good news sc some of them are as big as ive seen, i got a couple as long as my forearm.

The_Tub
10-09-2011, 11:39 PM
it's all good,the last 4/5 times i've been out of evans or ballina in close the slimies have been there,i'd like to see them there at the end of feburary in the numbers that they are in now,but i suppose if your getting chased by something big with teeth you want to be somewhere else.i want to know why they are here now and not with the warmer water

ranga7
11-09-2011, 07:32 AM
Hi Tub, they used to be off Evans when the water was warm as well as cold, before they disappeared, hopefully there back they will hang around all year now. We had a 4-5 boat tuna fleet fishin out of here a few years back, which i was a part of for awhile, i was talking to one of the skippers a few weeks ago and he reckons them being here and the amount of slimeys they caught definately helped in the thining out of them.

The_Tub
11-09-2011, 07:15 PM
gday ranga7

yeh i hope they stay around aswell,how many tuna boats work from there now?a mate of mine lives at port stephens and he reckons the tuna boats would prefer yakas than slimies as they are more hardy bait and stay alive longer.i hope to get down to evans this weekend for a fish,hope the weather is good {no wind bit of current and good fish}

stonecold
11-09-2011, 07:39 PM
I saw a couple of slimies from evans last week and holy crap I havnt seen slimies like that at evans for 15 years. Bloody things would near chase the spotties down for a feed they were that big. Where are the slimies off ballina Tub?

ranga7
11-09-2011, 07:52 PM
gday ranga7

yeh i hope they stay around aswell,how many tuna boats work from there now?a mate of mine lives at port stephens and he reckons the tuna boats would prefer yakas than slimies as they are more hardy bait and stay alive longer.i hope to get down to evans this weekend for a fish,hope the weather is good {no wind bit of current and good fish}

There are no tuna boats here now, haven't been for 2 years or so. Yeah they do prefer the yaks cause they last longer but they still caught and used the slims.

deepfried
11-09-2011, 09:29 PM
Would be great to see them here around feb but your right Mal when a big set of teeth are after you there are better places to be. The last couple of years I have caught some huge ones out of port Stephens but never here. Looking forward to a good live bait session esp if they are huge.

The_Tub
14-09-2011, 05:52 PM
hey stonecold

down at reardons,there were heaps last time i went out,the sounder was hot with them and a few big arches around them as well

stonecold
15-09-2011, 06:01 AM
Thanks mate, not normally the direction I head. Hopefully theres a few to the north this weekend.