View Full Version : Any news from awoonga
supa29
30-08-2011, 09:40 PM
Just putting the feelers out to see of any news from the barra front at awoonga, looking forward to the up coming summer now i have moved to rocky, just checking the awoonga fishing front. is there any barra geting caught in the dam or below the dam that would encourge me to run down any chase a few.
kel...........
A couple of mates just spent a few days at both Mondy & Awoonga (boynedale) for a grand total of 1 catfish ........ the weather was wet at Awoonga though :(
Pointyfish
31-08-2011, 08:51 AM
There is rumours of the odd one being caught in Faust. Might be better to head north at this stage.
rabbi
02-09-2011, 08:33 PM
I heard they are getting more below Awoonga than in Awoonga.
that is where a good number of them have ended up ! - A point to note is that that is where the local guides have conducted their business ( below the dam wall)
Pointyfish
10-09-2011, 07:17 AM
I had a go on Wednesday from about 10am till 10pm for no results. The water in the basin was about 18.5c. I fished New Zealand Gully and Cormorant Bay plus some points closer to Dingo island where the temps got up to 20.5c. Tried X-raps, arafura's, bombers, B52's, slick rigs and tangos. Didn't see a fish. Only saw two other boats out.
rabbi
10-09-2011, 09:11 AM
I guess thats the indicator then.
If its chocka with boats then the fish are on.
Its starting to go back to the days like when we went 10 years+ back except the fishing was fantastic back then and only a few trailers in the carpark, Bugger!!
flatzie
14-09-2011, 07:08 AM
I spoke with a guide I know there last weekend and he hasn't heard of a fish being caught in Awoonga since the floods.
A lot of the fish downstream have now dispersed up and down the coast, still fish in the local rivers but they have been hammered hard by the pros who have netted enormous catches.
There have been more fish introduced into Awoonga but it seems its a long way back for this once great fishery. It is now considered that the majority of big fish left the dam, and that with water levels full, the remaining fish are few and far between.
Flatzie
Awoonga
14-09-2011, 10:19 AM
With the current allowed stocking rate l think at least three to five years before the dam returns to some of its former glory
chris69
14-09-2011, 04:18 PM
Ive heard from a good sources that this years fingerlings wont be released because of the chance that the dam might spill again this year or early next year and there just sitting in there grow out pond or ponds getting bigger,you would think that there natural instink would be to go upstream???, wouldnt it make more sence to increace the stocking to bring there numbers up because of the situation in the dam at the moment to protect the income of the people that comes from this dam and the spin offs from that.
aussiebasser
15-09-2011, 02:50 PM
I spoke with a guide I know there last weekend and he hasn't heard of a fish being caught in Awoonga since the floods.
A lot of the fish downstream have now dispersed up and down the coast, still fish in the local rivers but they have been hammered hard by the pros who have netted enormous catches.
There have been more fish introduced into Awoonga but it seems its a long way back for this once great fishery. It is now considered that the majority of big fish left the dam, and that with water levels full, the remaining fish are few and far between.
Flatzie
There was a fish landed during the No Blokes comp which was after the floods. I've also had reports of other fish being taken since.
15-09-2011, 03:32 PM
I was talking to a guide up there a few weeks back..he did not think there would be any problems catching fish once the warmer months arrive.
Ive heard from a good sources that this years fingerlings wont be released because of the chance that the dam might spill again this year or early next year
Wouldn't that apply to every dam in Queensland?
lethal098
15-09-2011, 03:55 PM
I have heard from one of the local charter operators that he has not fished the dam since the floods and is not taking any bookings for fishing as at the end of this month.
Maybe this is a sign of the state up there, I know the Boyne had fished well but with the netters and a virus now killing fish that it will decline very quickly i think.
only time will tell how it goes.
Cheers Lee
aussiebasser
15-09-2011, 05:37 PM
Wouldn't that apply to every dam in Queensland?
Definately not.
aussiebasser
15-09-2011, 06:27 PM
200,000 fingerlings have gone into Awoonga since the floods, although with the closure of aquaculture in Gladstone Harbour I would say that would include the Hatchery because of the threat of cross contamination.
Definately not.
Why all the stocked dams are over 80% with some over 90% and it wouldn't take much to tip them over.
aussiebasser
15-09-2011, 07:07 PM
At extremely low water levels most groups stop stocking. I'm not sure why any would not stock because a dam is over 80%.
15-09-2011, 07:40 PM
The lovely young lady from the water board mentioned something about fingerlings being released into Awoonga..but I think my eyes and mind were elsewhere when she was telling us...and then I got this bloody sharp pain in the ribs..I looked down and noticed wifes elbow leaving my rib cage
At extremely low water levels most groups stop stocking. I'm not sure why any would not stock because a dam is over 80%.
I never said anything of the kind maybe you should go back and read the posts
aussiebasser
15-09-2011, 09:34 PM
Why all the stocked dams are over 80% with some over 90% and it wouldn't take much to tip them over.
I'm not sure what you're saying here.
"Ive heard from a good sources that this years fingerlings wont be released because of the chance that the dam might spill again this year or early next year"
This is what the original poster said and I just said that would apply to every dam in Queensland as they are all full or near full. I made no other comment about weather fingerings were released or not just that all the other dams were near full.
novice23
24-09-2011, 08:50 PM
You won't catch them sitting at home on your computer asking if anyone has caught them lately. Just get out there and have a go. There are fish in the dam and they have to eat.
"Ive heard from a good sources that this years fingerlings wont be released because of the chance that the dam might spill again this year or early next year"
This is what the original poster said and I just said that would apply to every dam in Queensland as they are all full or near full. I made no other comment about weather fingerings were released or not just that all the other dams were near full.
Just release the fish in the upper reaches - if the dam rise again , it's more than likely that these fish would push deeper into cover rather than move into the open & over the wall.
The stocking needs to continue & at a higher rate if there is going to be any recovery
Pointyfish
25-09-2011, 08:04 AM
I agree with Chris. In the wild the smaller fish push up stream and get caught in billabongs where they stay till their able to escape next flood as mature males. Would imagine it would be the same in a lake.
I would also guess that any barra smaller then a mature male that doesn't have the drive to breed would be unlikely to want to jump the wall which is probably why small fish are still being caught at Mondy. I'm sure there would be smaller fish to be caught in Awoonga too but there just isn't enough people out there looking for them.
The situation should become pretty clear over the next few months as the weather warms up and more people get out on the lakes.
rabbi
25-09-2011, 09:36 AM
I would like to catch at least one barra every 7 days.
Aint what it used to be guys, Im going after something else. Forky tails:D
novice23
28-09-2011, 04:59 PM
Took my own advice and went for a drive up to lake awoonga for a flick to find out first hand what's going on.
Spent 2 days sounding my way up to dingo island with the HDS 10 and flicking the shallow weed edges in bays where the water was up around 24degrees.
Saw only 3 small barra on the sounder with side imaging, however the baitfish were in plague proportions. Stayed out after dark and sat silently for a while - didn't here one boof.
Can only hope there is more life beyond dingo island and that the warmer weather kicks things into gear.
supa29
19-11-2011, 08:33 PM
just giving the post a reminder if anyone has heard of fish geting caught, went for a day trip down last weekend saw a few good shows up pig creek, and at mouth of NZ gully around stumps on old creek bed line. 3 kooked 2 small jumped off last was big one but snagged me so anyone else seen or heard of fish geting caught.
supa..
Just keep an eye on the ABT Barramundi web site - there are events happening now & over the next few days ......... this is a good way to gauge the fishing as it is documented and fair dinkum - If these guys struggle , then it is a struggle!
supa29
21-11-2011, 10:23 AM
Naggs just had a look and if im reading write i indicated one fish, i may be wrong but thats sound shit let me know if i read it right mate
hope it improves
kel
Naggs just had a look and if im reading write i indicated one fish, i may be wrong but thats sound shit let me know if i read it right mate
hope it improves
kel
2 in total over 2 days ....... keep looking over the next couple of days
actually it was only 1 fish ...........