View Full Version : help on caloundra 12 mile and cal wide

jason p
30-08-2011, 05:44 PM
gday to all.
i'm heading out to the 12 mile tomorrow arvy chasing snapper then in the morning moving out to cal wide chasing pearlies, trag and perhaps the odd aj or cobe, well thats the game plan anyway. i've never really fished these areas but i'm keen to try somewhere different,new and challenging.

information that i have gathered .

cal wide fishes good during the day, is very flat country with patches of wire weed,between 50 and 70 mt, not beyond 70mt, and shuts down at night. i have a few marks that i've never been too which are within a mile of each other, thats about all i can dig up.

12mile fishes better late arvy and through early evening, with big bumps and pinicals, looking around the 40 mt mark. have a couple of generic marks only.

this is what i'm working on and i'm not sure how accurate this info is but its all i've got.
if anyone can confirm deny or elaborate on this information that would be great

thanks jason

supa29
30-08-2011, 09:35 PM
you got the 12mile pegged fine it fishes best in the arvo but around 7.30 the bit boys come out to play and you will gte big cod and fins so hang on, it isnt that lumpy but there are a few peaks nad bumps.

but whoi ever told you cal wide is flat doesnt know it, there is a ledge out there 15m high and holds some of the biggest snapper and pearlies i have ever caught, fish lunch to dark. a wreck just inside the reef is full of everything and anything. the area to the south is flatter but the further north you go the bigger the lumps get, and the bigger the fish. so dont believe it mate cal wide is a great ground to fish and over looked a lot by banks fisher men so enjoy, his time of yr i would be taking livies out there and trying for a few monster ambo's, there out there 40kg plus so gear up heavy oif you want to chase them

good hunting

kel..