View Full Version : Scarborough Reef Advise
Drupwl
29-08-2011, 09:21 AM
Hi Guys,
Looking at a late arvo/night go at Scarborough Reef on the 10th of September.
Been out there once or twice before but with no luck.
Can anyone sling a couple of novices some sound advice on this area and what gear and bait to use.
Would love to catch a few on plastics also so any advice there would be appreciated.
Tide is high around 20:30 and 2 days before full moon.
Andrew ;D
charlie09
29-08-2011, 11:34 AM
Hi Drupwl few months ago got a 50 cm flowery cod there on live pike which I got there as well. It seemed to fish better just on that dusk period. Heaps of just under size squire and bream tho.
fisho8
29-08-2011, 11:55 AM
I have caught a few good size squire and good size sweetlip out there. Went out about 4 weeks ago on a friday night on an incoming tide caught a few good size bream. I mainly use Prawns and Squid for that area haven't had alot of luck there on the plastics.
Drupwl
29-08-2011, 12:22 PM
Hi Drupwl few months ago got a 50 cm flowery cod there on live pike which I got there as well. It seemed to fish better just on that dusk period. Heaps of just under size squire and bream tho.
Hi Charlie,
How did you get the pike. Just by jigging around the beacon?
charlie09
29-08-2011, 01:27 PM
Yea mate just bit of berly and bait jig. Going out there this arv/night if u wanna catch up.
Drupwl
29-08-2011, 01:40 PM
Thanks for the invite Charlie would love to but not sure if the missus would think too much of it.
You will have to let me know how you went though.
Maybe we could catch up out there in a couple of weekends.
Fish away from the reef proper. It is fairly shallow around there so stealth mode is best the noise sends them out of the area because they can't really go deep. Dusk is good in this area, prawns and squid or lives from the marina or tripod marker will also work.
Good luck.
fez
fat-buoy
30-08-2011, 11:55 AM
I used to fish around the western side of the tip of the reef and anchor out a bit and float my bait along the bommies that spread out from the reef... there is some good fish there at the right time of the year... seen some nasty sharks there also with one coming right up to the boat with the fin out like a B grade movie.. even snapped up a pillie tossed at it for about 5 seconds of reel spinning fun before being bitten off :)
Drupwl
30-08-2011, 03:34 PM
Thanks for the advice fez and fat-buoy. Will be sure to give both a go.
What sort of gear would be best suited for the area. Was thinking of going pretty light and maybe try a livey on something a bit heavier. Any Ideas?