View Full Version : New big eye jigheads
dayoo
22-08-2011, 02:29 PM
Purchased a new mould from the USA and knocked up my first batch of bigeye jigheads for bay and estuary fishing. They will undergo trials over the next couple of months to ascertain the best colours but from past experience I reckon pink and fleck brown will nail them.
I have made them with Gamakatsu hooks No1 to 5/0 and in sizes 1/16oz; 3/32oz; 1/8oz; 1/4oz; 3/8oz; 1/2oz and 5/8oz.
Pics attached.
Barry
did you use powder paint?
22-08-2011, 04:57 PM
Looking good Barry. How's my order coming along??
Wags
dayoo
22-08-2011, 05:49 PM
did you use powder paint?
Yes I will only use CS Coatings powder paint.
Wags,
I have attached the lead to the No1 hooks in the sizes you requested and will powder coat them tomorrow (silver with red eyes) and finish them off with the two pack gloss on Wednesday.
Barry
bombora
22-08-2011, 08:02 PM
Hiya, those head styles are also known as chub heads. Do you bake your powder paint? Makes a world of difference. Without it powder isn't that much better than nail polish with a couple of coats of Sally Hansen over the top. Actually convinced pure lead heads are worst for paint chipping cause of their softness. Lead alloy heads are lighter but less denting and less chipping. Cheers and v good lookin heads!
22-08-2011, 08:23 PM
Hiya, those head styles are also known as chub heads. Do you bake your powder paint? Makes a world of difference. Without it powder isn't that much better than nail polish with a couple of coats of Sally Hansen over the top. Actually convinced pure lead heads are worst for paint chipping cause of their softness. Lead alloy heads are lighter but less denting and less chipping. Cheers and v good lookin heads!
The 2nd and 3rd jigheads from the left are the chubheads.
dayoo
23-08-2011, 07:47 AM
The head style is known in the USA as Walleye. I use soft pure lead on small jigheads as lead alloy goes off too early and will not fill the small cavaties giving only 50% success rate. On larger heads and sinkers I use pure lead mixed with a small piece of alloy (Antimony) which keeps the head shiny and hard::)
I bake all my jigheads for 25 minutes at 140 degrees not the 15 minutes at 160 degrees as recommended by the powder paint manufacturer. The slower bake time helps to give a better finish and durability.
Barry
mattooty
23-08-2011, 01:44 PM
Where did you buy the mould from and what did it cost? Me and a mate are looking into getting one and getting a few years of heads done up.
What style hook did you use and did you ascertain a final cost per unit?
dayoo
23-08-2011, 02:47 PM
Where did you buy the mould from and what did it cost? Me and a mate are looking into getting one and getting a few years of heads done up.
What style hook did you use and did you ascertain a final cost per unit?
The mould is a Do it Mold purchased from Barlows Tackle in the US for $30.74 (shipping is $55.00 and minimum order total is $100 . The hooks are Gamakatsu Jig 90 heavy wire available from most tackle stores in Australia. Unit price for each jig is about 85 cents including 3d eyes, powder paint, hook, lead and gas but not counting the initial cost of the mould.
I can do some for you for $1.20 each (up to 1/4oz) and $1.50 each (from 3/8oz up to 5/8oz)
Barry
23-08-2011, 07:11 PM
Nice work Barry. I don't have the patience you do with fiddly little eyes. At these prices I should buy them all done, but make a few glow white for me will you? They should look alright too.
At these prices I should buy them all done
Where is the fun in that Brian, half the fun is making them yourself :thumbsup:
cheers tim :)
mattooty
26-08-2011, 12:55 PM
Thanks for that insight mate. I'm looking at a few moulds myself though at the price you're offering, thats quite a solid purchase for a quality product.
have you tried any other makes of jighead hooks at all?
dayoo
26-08-2011, 05:25 PM
Thanks for that insight mate. I'm looking at a few moulds myself though at the price you're offering, thats quite a solid purchase for a quality product.
have you tried any other makes of jighead hooks at all?
I have about twenty different moulds most brought from the US. Moulds are designed to take a certain size hook but can be altered with a dremmel tool to accommodate different hook sizes and brands. I use heavy duty Mustad, Owner and Gamakatsu jig hooks in various jig moulds.
I have Ultra Minnow, Shad, Hot Lips and Walleye moulds in all available sizes as well as others.
Barry
27-08-2011, 07:08 AM
There are a few guys around that can help you Matt, we had a jighead making M&G a few years ago and we had around 20 people turn up. Bar up is another ( where are you these days Peter?) who has a collection of molds. If Barry doesn't have the style you are looking for just ask. Out of all the different types I have I think this big eye looks the right goods, it's shape would reduce the number of snags, it is balanced in relation to the eye of the hook and the weights through the range make it perfect for Moreton bay. Can't wait to try some Barry;)
dayoo
27-08-2011, 07:34 PM
There are a few guys around that can help you Matt, we had a jighead making M&G a few years ago and we had around 20 people turn up. Bar up is another ( where are you these days Peter?) who has a collection of molds. If Barry doesn't have the style you are looking for just ask. Out of all the different types I have I think this big eye looks the right goods, it's shape would reduce the number of snags, it is balanced in relation to the eye of the hook and the weights through the range make it perfect for Moreton bay. Can't wait to try some Barry;)
Brian,
They are selling like hot cakes at Tackleworld, Sandgate.
I have make some in white with red eyes for you to try in Moreton Bay.
May be able to drop them off tomorrow.
Barry
28-08-2011, 05:48 PM
Barry
Thanks for dropping some off. I'll definitely try to hold up my end of the bargain:D
Brian
01-09-2011, 09:04 PM
Thanks Barry for my order. Jigheads look great and I get to try them out on my days off next week.
Wags
Damned67
01-09-2011, 11:02 PM
Hi Barry,
I just did a bit of a cook up this evening, and was thinking that I haven't said 'Hi' for some time. Those Big Eye jigheads look like quite the package. I'll have to consider buying that same mould for myself!
Cheers!
Jason