View Full Version : Who makes the best fishing tackle?

Jason Killen
20-08-2011, 06:16 PM
What is the most popular rod and reel brand in Aus?

20-08-2011, 06:55 PM
This will be a fun thread to watch and read ........ but IMO it is too broad .....::)
However getting into the spirit of it ....... All round Daiwa :)
Best spin range (most best in class)
Best baitcasters (best mid to high end)
Best rod range (best high end spin & baitcast rod)
Certainly the best light to medium tackle .

Though if I was to buy a game reel it would be Shimano . A fly rod it would be Sage.
I have no trouble with looking at some reels from Pflueger , ABU & Quantum ....... plus others in certain specialised areas.
Now do you include G Loomis as Shimano :-?.

As I said too broad to really answer without a bit of tongue in cheek

fisho8
20-08-2011, 08:04 PM
I would have to say Shimano I have a TLD 25 over head reel and 6500 Bait runner spin reel both on Shimano Rods.I also have a Penn rod and reel combo I got from BCF and it is not bad also caught quite a few fish with it and it has not let me down yet.

wamjam
20-08-2011, 08:55 PM
I don't have one...I reckon people get to tied up in brand names and forget what they are out there to do....Catch fish !!!!And have a good time...

Scott......

len71
20-08-2011, 09:02 PM
I grew up on Alvey's and still have a few of them, but also love my Shimano Stradics (1000, 2500 x2) and my Baitrunner's (3500 , 4500 x 3) and a Sedona...........
About to swap 1 of my 4500 for a 6500
Luckily my wife isn't on this site. :)

2manylures
20-08-2011, 09:30 PM
How much money are you willing to part with?

21-08-2011, 09:08 AM
Hard to vote if Loomis isn't included somewhere. Just as well Shimano doesn't paint their gear white, we'd be up to 28 pages by now and Nagg up to 10,000 posts, stirring the pot.

TheSaint
21-08-2011, 09:20 AM
I think Daiwa make the best all round gear but the Daiwa reels are the standout for me..

21-08-2011, 09:30 AM
Hard to vote if Loomis isn't included somewhere. Just as well Shimano doesn't paint their gear white, we'd be up to 28 pages by now and Nagg up to 10,000 posts, stirring the pot.!!

Haven't you seen the new Shimano Chronarch , Citca & Stradic .......... all painted WHITE ;D
I'm sure this thread will add to my post count ;)

Shawn 66
21-08-2011, 09:48 AM
Just brought a new combo yesterday , ( Daiwa ) ,could not tell you the model number of reel or what the rod was branded with . It just " felt " right for me .
Plus the reel was red , so automatically that makes it go faster .
Shawn

Stuart
21-08-2011, 04:12 PM
Why do people still think that it has to be the big brand names that build the best tackle. Shimano and Daiwa have copied that many rod designs from small guys over the years it would blow your mind.

Stu
Precision Rods

21-08-2011, 05:07 PM
Why do people still think that it has to be the big brand names that build the best tackle. Shimano and Daiwa have copied that many rod designs from small guys over the years it would blow your mind.

Stu
Precision Rods

Hi Stu

what rods have been copied ? - How many truly original rod designs are out there ?.
I'm not defending them - & love a custom rod but lets face it ........ the likes of Shimano & Daiwa are using their own blanks - while most custom rod builders are using pretty well mass produced blanks anyway.
I'm not saying that they produce anything exceptional (barring the Steez range ) - but what they do produce are functional rods that meet a pricepoint .
I would defy any rod builder to build me a baitcast rod that would match my Daiwa Zillion 631 for under $300 ...... let alone the $210 that I paid for it .

reggy
21-08-2011, 06:56 PM
like Chris said, a very broad question, but most popular and best are not always the same thing.
I think Shimano and Daiwa would win the most popular, simply on sales figures and the size of their range.
But best is a more difficult question.For me it is Jigging Master.

21-08-2011, 07:06 PM
like Chris said, a very broad question, but most popular and best are not always the same thing.
I think Shimano and Daiwa would win the most popular, simply on sales figures and the size of their range.
But best is a more difficult question.For me it is Jigging Master.

Most Popular ....... would always be Shimano ( they pretty well cover the lot) - plenty of good tackle in their product line to pretty well guarantee it !

21-08-2011, 08:18 PM
If I could only use one brand of gear it would be Shimano as they have pretty much covered all the bases for my fishing styles. There is a lot of very good gear out there at the moment from a variety of companies and some provide much better value than the big two

Si
21-08-2011, 09:27 PM
popular or favourite?

popular would have to be shimano or arguably daiwa. That is the most popular with people.

my favourite - other for rods and probably daiwa or shimano in the reels. hard for me to decide really.

22-08-2011, 09:08 AM
this is going to be a Shimano cake walk, just like the outboard poll where Yamaha was always going to win, ( as predicted by ME) the poll should have been run EXCLUDING Shimano and daiwa, as daiwa was always going to be a close(ish) second, people get confused by what is popular/common and what is the best, Shimano is by far the most common brand by a country mile, you can buy them in department stores and they have the "name" gained by advertising in TV shows and so on.

fishfeeder
22-08-2011, 03:18 PM
OK then what is more important the ROD or the REEL ??
Should one spend more on the quality of the Rod or on the Reel ??

Sorry to add extra to the thread but thought it fitted in with the question.

22-08-2011, 06:40 PM
OK then what is more important the ROD or the REEL ??
Should one spend more on the quality of the Rod or on the Reel ??

Sorry to add extra to the thread but thought it fitted in with the question.

Equal but lean toward the rod ......... the best reel in the world would be crap on a broomstick ( we are talking casting outfits)
If I buy a quality reel - I like to match it with a a rod that is just as good if not better .........

MudRiverDan
22-08-2011, 10:38 PM
I find a good rod will compliment an average reel but a good reel doesn't do much for an average rod.

The again in saying that a good drag is an advantage when the rod is been pushed.

So simply.. I don't know.

23-08-2011, 08:30 AM
yeah, the rod is a very individual thing, whereas a reel can be suited to a whole range of people and fishing situations, as an example, I like a very fast taper on my rods, and tend to fish the rod with a heavier line than intended (if you get what I mean) so the rod is the bit to get right first, but n saying tat, there is no use spending a motza on a custom rod and fitting a $10 department store special on it either.

rexgrunt
23-08-2011, 07:29 PM
Whats the best in terms of what?
ive caught 50ib jews on abu 7000s and 5kg macks on 2500 shimano twinpower both fantastic fun onthe gear i was using and both held up well.
love the abu as its a perfect reel for chasing jews off the stones or flicking lures for taylor or kings.
also the twinnys great for plasticking or throwing slugs for macks.
have also got an old mitchell 408 but dont use it as its in mint condition.

insider
24-08-2011, 10:40 AM
Do you mean brands or manufacturers? Of that list only four actually manufacture their own reels. The others are just logos stamped on other manufacturers products.

Stuart
24-08-2011, 04:21 PM
The tackle industry is much like the car industry; they all copy from each other. What rods have been copied, well just about all of them have done this. My own situation back a few years ago I was selling my own bream sticks called “Bream tournament series". These where on custom blanks designed by me. I know no one was using this name and I sold heaps of these rods under that name. Then comes a long a tackle company name with held, and flogs my name for there own bream rods.

I got legal advice and yes what they did wasn’t right and I could go them and confidently win. I contacted the manager of this company and told him and he said well take me to court, I said when I catch up with you I will go one better mate. Another case not all that long ago, another very large tackle group starting with B and ending F decides in all its wisdom to call one of their rods a “Precision Boss Rod”. Hang on one minute, that’s my name, Precision Rods. Again I could take them to court and win easy, but yet again it’s going to cost me heaps. No wonder I was getting heaps of emails asking for warranty on broken Precision Boss Rods.

I took another company to task when I found out they wanted to copy one of my products, this time I didn’t hang back, I took action very quick and they backed down as quick. I know this is a rant but it does piss me off when these companies think because there shear size will win them any battle is crap. I have had plenty of designs of mine flogged by these dead brains. These boof heads actually think they come up with there own designs while sitting in the back of an office in the inner city, please. The small guy actually trials there stuff, designs from scratch so the customer has an absolute bullet proof product. It’s the small guy that is actually forced to keep ahead of the industry so we can show that we are innovative and not imitators like most are these days.

The current crop of crap is testament to that. You only need to go to the tackle trade show to see the shear amount of crap that they will be pushing for the next 12 months. Most of it is the same crap as last year’s models but with a different paint job. The importers in most cases wouldn’t have a clue and mostly just buy what they think should fit our situation in Australia or just follow the current trend. Again most of these people wouldn’t know crap from clay so they pay some personality to say “I use this Chinees crap because I’m being payed to say so”. Anyway I could rattle on for ages but you guys are probably thinking get some help Stu. I may just take my wifes advice soon and get out of the tackle game.

TREVELLY
24-08-2011, 06:08 PM
Hear what you are saying Stu, you put your heart and soul into a great product and get sold out easily and too often. You do need a thick skin to survive unscathed - good luck.

My favourite rod was a light weight composite developments blank I built into a beautiful little rod. Had it for a few decades till it went over board recently - that hurt.

The yanks do like the Van Staal and they look like the Penn Torque and I know looks are personal but I think they look like a turd in fishnet stockings, but one day I will buy one of those Penn reels to see if it is as good as the review or break it.

I have no favourite reel -I do look after my gear but do hate reels that break easily and some do. I am disappointed that some have not lived up to the price tag in performance or durability.

24-08-2011, 07:26 PM
The tackle industry is much like the car industry; they all copy from each other. What rods have been copied, well just about all of them have done this. My own situation back a few years ago I was selling my own bream sticks called “Bream tournament series". These where on custom blanks designed by me. I know no one was using this name and I sold heaps of these rods under that name. Then comes a long a tackle company name with held, and flogs my name for there own bream rods.

I got legal advice and yes what they did wasn’t right and I could go them and confidently win. I contacted the manager of this company and told him and he said well take me to court, I said when I catch up with you I will go one better mate. Another case not all that long ago, another very large tackle group starting with B and ending F decides in all its wisdom to call one of their rods a “Precision Boss Rod”. Hang on one minute, that’s my name, Precision Rods. Again I could take them to court and win easy, but yet again it’s going to cost me heaps. No wonder I was getting heaps of emails asking for warranty on broken Precision Boss Rods.

I took another company to task when I found out they wanted to copy one of my products, this time I didn’t hang back, I took action very quick and they backed down as quick. I know this is a rant but it does piss me off when these companies think because there shear size will win them any battle is crap. I have had plenty of designs of mine flogged by these dead brains. These boof heads actually think they come up with there own designs while sitting in the back of an office in the inner city, please. The small guy actually trials there stuff, designs from scratch so the customer has an absolute bullet proof product. It’s the small guy that is actually forced to keep ahead of the industry so we can show that we are innovative and not imitators like most are these days.

The current crop of crap is testament to that. You only need to go to the tackle trade show to see the shear amount of crap that they will be pushing for the next 12 months. Most of it is the same crap as last year’s models but with a different paint job. The importers in most cases wouldn’t have a clue and mostly just buy what they think should fit our situation in Australia or just follow the current trend. Again most of these people wouldn’t know crap from clay so they pay some personality to say “I use this Chinees crap because I’m being payed to say so”. Anyway I could rattle on for ages but you guys are probably thinking get some help Stu. I may just take my wifes advice soon and get out of the tackle game.

So it's the name that is being copied / stolen - not the actual rod design .
because unless they are using the same blank , guides , reel seat & spacings ...... it wouldn't be a copy -
unless you were the first person to use a split grip or do an acid wrap - it would be pretty hard to claim anything as something unique .

Steve B
24-08-2011, 07:42 PM

Totally hear what your saying Stu.

I feel for you blokes with the ability, skill and knowledge to craft rods specifically to a purpose. I know of a couple of great rod builders that have been doing it longer than I have been alive. It is absolutely amazing what 'technicalities' go into rods, from quality of materials, rolling blanks, fittings...even heat tranfer in guides....I know F all really...but there are differences (subtle as they are) between rods that make them unique and YOUR DESIGN. !!!! its a total shame that these big mobs esentially 'knock off' poor quality imitations of YOUR designs, and then have the hyde to pinch your names etc.

Unforunatley the average punter cant tell the difference between these designs and a truely custom rod....and these companies prey on that.

As long as it has a spit grip these days, and some asian writing somewhere on it.....and the words 'tournament' mentioned somewhere, the masses will keep flocking....because the celebrities said so.

SO Stu, dont give up making your rods mate. I may have never used one, but I bet they are true quality. The fishing industry needs blokes like you carving the path.

Cheers Steve

PS; on topic..who makes the best gear???....its impossible to know. I have felt and played with a $1500 bass spin rod, made in Japan. Bloody nice too, but I love my Egrell bass spin rod too.....for 1/4 the price

Reels?? I like shimano and Daiwa.....some designs and models for each brand are better than others, and some are crap...from all stables.

MudRiverDan
24-08-2011, 07:47 PM
Gloomis don't do split grips do they?

24-08-2011, 07:56 PM

Don't you dare until my rods are finished..LOL
I'll vouch for Precision Rods..already got a couple and a couple more on order...top shelf gear.

Stuart
24-08-2011, 08:22 PM
So it's the name that is being copied / stolen - not the actual rod design .
because unless they are using the same blank , guides , reel seat & spacings ...... it wouldn't be a copy -
unless you were the first person to use a split grip or do an acid wrap - it would be pretty hard to claim anything as something unique .

I have had all of the above happen to me mate. My aunty is a patent and trade mark lawyer and she is my go to for advise. There are certain things Im automatically protected with in relation to my designs and my stand up game blanks.

Stuart
24-08-2011, 08:26 PM
Pinhead,

Dont worry mate, yours will be done very soon. I have to much invested to just drop the ball and go home, although I would like to. If I could sell the whole lot I would.

culbara
25-08-2011, 07:43 PM
Well fo rme it would have to be loomis in fishing rods as i have 9 of the buggers including fly rods and as far as a spin reel i like the shimano twin power

devocean
26-08-2011, 08:59 PM
Shimano for reels custom for rods all the way. Refuse to buy dawai they rip us off in oz and refuse to discount any of there good gear

davo
01-09-2011, 10:25 AM
I have a lot of Daiwa stuff but hate their baitcasters has I don't like the drags. I own all Shimano baitcasters but it will be interesting with the lastest models being built cheaper.

MEG-A-BITE
01-09-2011, 10:26 AM
Shimano for me cant beat, the stella and Tiagra range.

03-09-2011, 07:24 AM
Shimano for me cant beat, the stella and Tiagra range.

They would just about be the only Shimano reels that are worth buying (IMO) -

Jason Killen
03-09-2011, 02:24 PM
I have both Daiwa and Shimano reels and my Daiwa reels have had the same problem. Daiwa sol and certate both had these problems in that the bail arm will stop clicking over and the ball bearings in the line roller stop working. Don't get me wrong they are great reels but these simple problems are a pain and take forever to get the parts to fix. My shimano reels (Rarenium ci4 4000 and twin power 4000) haven't put a foot wrong even though they are cheaper reels. I like Daiwa but these problems have led me to go with Shimano. If Daiwa fixed these problems then we would probably see a more even contest because I have heard that many other people have had these same problems and are moving away from Daiwa.
Jase

03-09-2011, 03:10 PM
I have both Daiwa and Shimano reels and my Daiwa reels have had the same problem. Daiwa sol and certate both had these problems in that the bail arm will stop clicking over and the ball bearings in the line roller stop working. Don't get me wrong they are great reels but these simple problems are a pain and take forever to get the parts to fix. My shimano reels (Rarenium ci4 4000 and twin power 4000) haven't put a foot wrong even though they are cheaper reels. I like Daiwa but these problems have led me to go with Shimano. If Daiwa fixed these problems then we would probably see a more even contest because I have heard that many other people have had these same problems and are moving away from Daiwa.
Jase

The only dramas I've had with Daiwa spin reels are noisy bail rollers ( common problem in the Certates) . daiwa baitcasters often suffer from stuttery drags - between these two issues & a $20ish fix ( quality line roller bearing or Erskine drag washers) you end up with very good reels ............ though you shouldn't need to do this when buying a quality reel :(. Regardless the daiwa reels are much better built & maintain their tolerances for much longer ( particuilarly when fished hard) - Over the years I've retired several Shimano baitcasters that ended up feeling sloppy .... . then switched to Daiwas ( Zillions , Steez & Alphas )

2manylures
03-09-2011, 07:19 PM

I don't believe that for a minute Chris :o:)

03-09-2011, 07:55 PM
I don't believe that for a minute Chris :o:)

You are right ...... there would be a couple of others in the light game genre .

2manylures
03-09-2011, 08:09 PM
You are right ...... there would be a couple of others in the light game genre .

YEH, see where you're coming from Chris, Charter Specials and TLD's have been around for a couple of years. 8-)

I'm surprised none of the little tackers take your fancy:o;D

04-09-2011, 08:21 AM
YEH, see where you're coming from Chris, Charter Specials and TLD's have been around for a couple of years. 8-)

I'm surprised none of the little tackers take your fancy:o;D

Hi Dave

When it came to overheads I was Shimano through & through - my game / offshore stuff & baitcasters ......... but when I got away from the big gear & started into the lure casting ..... particularly barra I started to look for robust & smaller reels (low profile) ..... I had a Chronarch SF & Calcutta 200 that failed - & this is where I was introduced to the Daiwa Zillion & I was impressed at the build / design - Now I started to take more interest in Daiwa gear (JDM & Local) ...... & while Daiwa were introducing little gems , Shimano were falling off the pace ....... & continue to do so .
When it came to spin reels - when Daiwa introduced their tournament range in the 1990's it was game over (quality small reels)- then came the Saltiga & Certates during the earlyish 2000s ..... outstanding & powerful reels that were only matched with the introduction of the Stellas . ( Real Four customisation 8-)) Today Daiwa cover the spin range so much better than Shimano - A lot of the technology used in the more expensive Daiwas have filtered through to the cheaper reels. Compare a $200 Daiwa / Shimano spin reel and you will see what I mean.
I dont have blinkers on though & will always check out what other manufactures incl Shimano are putting out - I bought a 2000 Stella a few years back & it turned out to be a wind knot generator & now has corrosion in the spool :( ....... & this was Shimanos best offering .
Today if I'm buying a reel - I still look at what Shimano have in their range at the same price point & with the exception of the Curado - & the high end Stella Daiwa cover the bases with a better offering particularly mid to high end .
Personally I feel that Shimano have gone down the path of building reels for a price point rather than developing better performing reels & that is where my bias originates from. I'm not interested in the cheapest reels , I'm after quality ones that fit my needs........ & maybe a bit of WOW factor :P

Anyhow that's where I'm coming from -

04-09-2011, 11:14 AM
shimano grea all the way..and to find the fish definitelt need a humminbird sounder..and if you are pushed along by a ETEC, what more could you ask for?

04-09-2011, 12:35 PM
shimano grea all the way..and to find the fish definitelt need a humminbird sounder..and if you are pushed along by a ETEC, what more could you ask for?

something better ;)

.:::stotty:::.
04-09-2011, 12:54 PM

This is also what I thought at one point Chris.

I used to own all daiwa products, zillions, alphas r's, blacksheeps ect. But they are all great reels until you fish an entire season with one, I have broken 3 zillions now and 2 alphas's. 2 zillions the main gear started stripping itself or something like that I was explained and it had so much backplay. The alphas r's where just terrible after a while.

Now I own a 200calcutta dc, core 100mg, core 50mg, stella 3000 and soon a 5000stella. The core's are amazing, they are light, they would be the best casting reel I have ever used, out performs the DC anyday. They are great to use all day.

The calcutta 200dc is a big reel, but it so powerful and solid I dont mind pushing it or throwing it around on the boat or on landbased sessions, matched up with a megabass destroyer broom stick of a rod it is now my favorite jack combo.

Everyone should feel and consider a Shimano core before looking into something else, I would buy a 3rd one if I ever need another bc.

.:::stotty:::.
04-09-2011, 12:59 PM

A Suziki :D

04-09-2011, 02:04 PM
This is also what I thought at one point Chris.

I used to own all daiwa products, zillions, alphas r's, blacksheeps ect. But they are all great reels until you fish an entire season with one, I have broken 3 zillions now and 2 alphas's. 2 zillions the main gear started stripping itself or something like that I was explained and it had so much backplay. The alphas r's where just terrible after a while.

Now I own a 200calcutta dc, core 100mg, core 50mg, stella 3000 and soon a 5000stella. The core's are amazing, they are light, they would be the best casting reel I have ever used, out performs the DC anyday. They are great to use all day.

The calcutta 200dc is a big reel, but it so powerful and solid I dont mind pushing it or throwing it around on the boat or on landbased sessions, matched up with a megabass destroyer broom stick of a rod it is now my favorite jack combo.

Everyone should feel and consider a Shimano core before looking into something else, I would buy a 3rd one if I ever need another bc.

That's a bad run on the Zillions & Alphas ..... not good at all. I did destroy my HLC when I engaged the gears just when a big barra charged off after free spooling it ( just bad timing I guess) - but every other Zillion have gone fine
I had a Metanium Mg - (which is the the JDM version of the Core) ...... It was a pretty decent casting reel though I noticed a lot of wear & play after some solid bass sessions . I got rid of it when I bought my Steez 103. (shame it is not a salt water reel)
I've gone right away from drum type baitcasters - but have used a couple of Conquest DC & Calcutta DCs ...... they were ok but just felt too heavy to use all day ( I feel the same about the Daiwa Pluton).

Anyhow always good to hear of someones personal experiences with tackle .

Mike Delisser
04-09-2011, 10:22 PM
I have a lot of Daiwa stuff but hate their baitcasters has I don't like the drags. I own all Shimano baitcasters but it will be interesting with the lastest models being built cheaper.

I've got quite a few baitcasters for bass ::)
12 Daiwa and 3 Shimano in fact, but my fav to use by far is my Shimano MG50.
I prefer it over more expensive models from both brands and very glad I picked up a spare (still unused) while there were still a few around. I recon they're a fair bit better than the Shimano "Core" that replaced them too.

I've got quite a few spinning reels as well, can't afford anything high end, just up Sol and Sustain. I must say I do like my Sols, also have 1 Tierra 2000 that would be the smoothest reel I own. It's a bit of a mystery as the 3 other Tierras I have are very average reels but I guess that can happen.

Mike Delisser
04-09-2011, 10:43 PM
I would defy any rod builder to build me a baitcast rod that would match my Daiwa Zillion 631 for under $300 ...... let alone the $210 that I paid for it .

Hi Chris, if you compaired apples with apples and consider your Zillion 631 came out of a factory in China, I recon if you found a custom rod builder over there you could get 4 rods of at least the same quality (and made to your specs) for your $210 Aus.
Don't get me wrong the 631 is a great rod, but apples with apples.
Mike D

05-09-2011, 08:03 AM
Hi Chris, if you compaired apples with apples and consider your Zillion 631 came out of a factory in China, I recon if you found a custom rod builder over there you could get 4 rods of at least the same quality (and made to your specs) for your $210 Aus.
Don't get me wrong the 631 is a great rod, but apples with apples.
Mike D

Actually , It is apples with apples Mike ....... forget the labour componant , I couldn't buy the blank (or similar) plus the other componants for that price. I think the kit for a NV7 Samurai is about $200 & that only comes with alconite guides..... not the stainless steel Fuji Sics that come on the Zillion - blank wise as a minimum standard you would be looking at a Samurai , IMX Loomis but more like a United composite blank. (That's what I'm referring to). I think there is an Aussie version of the Zillion & it retailed for over $400
If a local rod builder was to build me something along the same line , I reckon I would be up for something fast approaching the $500 mark ......... but it would only be as good.

Here is the tackletour review of the Zillion baitcast rods - http://www.tackletour.com/reviewdaiwazillionrod.html

Mike Delisser
05-09-2011, 04:31 PM
I'm not saying that they produce anything exceptional (barring the Steez range ) - but what they do produce are functional rods that meet a pricepoint .

So now the comparison is a Chinese factory made Zillion against a custom rod that has to be locally made using locally purchased blank and parts , well yes of course you're right Chris it won't get near your $210 Daiwa. But do you really believe thats apples to apples? I don't but we're all entitled to our opinions so it's all good.

BTW can you tell me who's making the Zillion blanks for Daiwa, I think St Croix were making the Steez blanks.
Mike D

05-09-2011, 10:12 PM
So now the comparison is a Chinese factory made Zillion against a custom rod that has to be locally made using locally purchased blank and parts , well yes of course you're right Chris it won't get near your $210 Daiwa. But do you really believe thats apples to apples? I don't but we're all entitled to our opinions so it's all good.

BTW can you tell me who's making the Zillion blanks for Daiwa, I think St Croix were making the Steez blanks.
Mike D

What I am trying to say is that for $210 - I can buy a rod that would be better than any $300 locally made rod (probably $400). -I'll qualify that by Having made my own rods over the years & having had custom rods made for me - or bought semi custom rods ( millers , howard , Egrell) - I can look any one in the eye & say - "this is a awesome rod" ... . not just because of the price but of the blank design , build quality & componants used. Even sourcing componants globally from the likes of acid rods - I would struggle to get the guides & grips / winch fitting & decent blank.
I might do the exercise ($190 ish - no freight)

PS - Not sure about the Daiwa blanks - but I thought they built there own in several factories around the world

Stan53
13-09-2011, 04:58 PM
I have mainly Shimano but also have Diawa and Abu - I prefer to have Shimano reels as they have never failed me. However I have two Diawa Spinning reels and they have handled use and abuse for over five years without complaint. The Abus I have had for over 20 years - yes they were made in Sweden and whilst they have not failed they are getting dated and the newer reels run rings around them. I still use them for Live Baiting but little else.

Rods I have many and varied and generally don't look for a particular brand, I looks for what I need.

rando
21-09-2011, 03:19 PM
Despite appropriate care after use e.g. warm water wash, dry, spray with anti corrosion agent such as inox and a regular service regime , all my Shimano reels have corrosion on them at various points and to various degrees.This after only a couple of years of low to moderate use.
To me, that is a crap piece of machinery and reeks of designed failure.

Gon Fishun
24-09-2011, 04:22 PM
;D
Just brought a new combo yesterday , ( Daiwa ) ,could not tell you the model number of reel or what the rod was branded with . It just " felt " right for me .
Plus the reel was red , so automatically that makes it go faster .
Shawn

Has it got a wireless too?

Gon Fishun
24-09-2011, 04:36 PM
Last weekend had a sleep over at Bribie8-) and dragged the 10ft Jarvis Walker fibreglass surf rod with the fold down first guide out of moth balls, fitted the 600B Alvey side cast, a bit of lead,::) 3 gang an pilchard:D and it cast just as good if not better than the new rod with an egg beater on it. :o
Now, how do I get it back off the missus>:(
The rod is about 36 years old and in top condition.

Stuart
25-09-2011, 07:33 PM
Who makes the best tackle? thats easy I do. Dont belive me then ask my mum. ;D

Stu

sid_fishes
28-09-2011, 02:52 PM
followed closely by me, just ask stu,s mum

MudRiverDan
04-10-2011, 10:43 AM
I had an Okuma Aquios for many years.

Turned out to be quite a solid reel, catching me large Jew, Threadfin and a large number of bloody huge rays.

I will be looking at them for my next bait reel.

I also have a Shimano Fireblood 2500 that over the years has turned out to be quite a tough little reel, punching well above its weight on many occasions.

MEG-A-BITE
13-10-2011, 04:06 PM
Shimano for my trolling outfits and diawa for spinning and jig kit.

Mrs Ronnie H
28-11-2011, 11:06 PM
hi
Sure is some differing opinions here.
Matter of personal choice I reckon-- me I like my Okuma overheads and my Wilson Live fibre rods.

I have to agree with Wamjam-- forget the name and hefty pricetags-- we all go out to fish and who cares if my reel aint a Stella or made by Daiwa-- i still catch fish.

Ronnie

BLOOEY
02-12-2011, 07:11 AM
First of all, i dont treat my reels all that well, a rinse when i remember too and a once a year service. I purchase mid $range reels.I have had daiwa reels before and after a decent amount of usage they wear out, become sloppy or simply fall to bits. Shimanos can definately cop more abuse and use without dying. Ben

21-12-2011, 06:49 AM
First of all, i dont treat my reels all that well, a rinse when i remember too and a once a year service. I purchase mid $range reels.I have had daiwa reels before and after a decent amount of usage they wear out, become sloppy or simply fall to bits. Shimanos can definately cop more abuse and use without dying. Ben

It will be interesting if you will be able to make the same comments about the latest Shimano range - particularly their mid price lighter rods and reels ........... they are certainly being made to a price point & are lowering the bar

MudRiverDan
21-12-2011, 11:50 AM
hi
Sure is some differing opinions here.
Matter of personal choice I reckon-- me I like my Okuma overheads and my Wilson Live fibre rods.

I have to agree with Wamjam-- forget the name and hefty pricetags-- we all go out to fish and who cares if my reel aint a Stella or made by Daiwa-- i still catch fish.

Ronnie

Okuma make some good gear but it does not seem to be so available as Shimano, maybe they have downsized their range or are being pushed out of the retail market.

21-12-2011, 12:41 PM
Shimano are trying to introduce a sort of restricted sale thing too, you may not be able to buy one in just any old shop (so I was told) just like (say) Penn Spinfishers are almost only available at BCF now, but then, maybe the other tackle stores don't want to go anywhere near them after they changed manufacturing countries! or maybe BCF just sells them cheaper than "they" can buy them for? who knows where all this will end, ut the fact remains, ANY poll will see Shimano on top, same as the motor poll will see Yamaha on top, 4X4 will see Toyota first, does not make them better though, just more common/popular.

21-12-2011, 04:13 PM
while I'm a Daiwa reel fan or real daiwa fan :D I do like to toy around with other manufactures product - my last purchase was the top of the line Pflueger patriarch XT baitcaster ....... now this was priced at a point where it would be competing against a Core or Alphas type R - no way jose:( certainly it reads well on the specs but it needs to be pulled apart every trip to make it tolerable .......... certainly a disappointment .

softplasticsdude79
21-12-2011, 06:18 PM
shimano baitrunners for me,but everything else Daiwa.

Adam

reggy
22-12-2011, 10:50 AM
while I'm a Daiwa reel fan or real daiwa fan :D I do like to toy around with other manufactures product - my last purchase was the top of the line Pflueger patriarch XT baitcaster ....... now this was priced at a point where it would be competing against a Core or Alphas type R - no way jose:( certainly it reads well on the specs but it needs to be pulled apart every trip to make it tolerable .......... certainly a disappointment .

Yes, reminds me of the pot metal kick levers issue with ABU Revo reels. Very dissapointing considering the $285.00 price tag.

MudRiverDan
22-12-2011, 11:15 AM
I have a Diawa Alphas R edition, definitely robust, light and easy to use, has some real winching power too for a small reel, very nice.

I recently bought a Shimano Seinna 4000 for general rock wall and live bait fishing,of course bait reels dont do the milage of a sp/lure reel so it looks tough enough to handle the mess and punishment of bait fishing from the shore.

not a light reel but you can't go wrong for $60.00

softplasticsdude79
22-12-2011, 04:10 PM
I have a Diawa Alphas R edition, definitely robust, light and easy to use, has some real winching power too for a small reel, very nice.

I recently bought a Shimano Seinna 4000 for general rock wall and live bait fishing,of course bait reels dont do the milage of a sp/lure reel so it looks tough enough to handle the mess and punishment of bait fishing from the shore.

not a light reel but you can't go wrong for $60.00

yeah,i know i didnt mention in my first post,but If this was a value for money poll,the Shimano sienna would take the cake for me,Great little reels for the price.I used them for years until i could afford some better quality.

insider
07-01-2012, 03:40 PM
For every piece of fishing gear you should look at the specification NOT the brand. The poll shows that Shimano and Daiwa are the two "Ford and Holdens" of this world but it does not mean they are the best. Most of the Shimano and Daiwa products are produced in China, Malaysia and Thjailand and NOT in Japan. They also outsource production so they are not making all their own products. There are so many better producers of better gear, you need to just have a look.

Jason Killen
07-01-2012, 05:51 PM
Hi Insider,
I'm interested in what these better products are? I'm not having a go I genuinely want to know. I know there are heaps of good rods that are not well known but what are some of the reels? I stick with Shimano or Diawa because I know what I am getting and they also tend to be more reliable from experience than other brands. I think a lot of people are relucant to spend the same money on an unknown brand when for all you know may be an inferior product. What other reel brands in your experience are better products than shimano or daiwa?
Jason

07-01-2012, 06:10 PM
For every piece of fishing gear you should look at the specification NOT the brand. The poll shows that Shimano and Daiwa are the two "Ford and Holdens" of this world but it does not mean they are the best. Most of the Shimano and Daiwa products are produced in China, Malaysia and Thjailand and NOT in Japan. They also outsource production so they are not making all their own products. There are so many better producers of better gear, you need to just have a look..

Just my opinion - but Daiwa & Shimano produce some of the best tackle across the entire range... ... at most price points . Yes there may be some specialist manufactures that produce absolute gems (rods & reels) but they are usually high end and or specialist tackle (Megabass , Smiths , Van Staal , Hardy Bros to name a few .
when it comes to mainstream tackle .... the likes of Penn , ABU , Pflueger , Quantum , Okuma , etc etc all try hard but produce very few products that become standouts.
Even custom rod builders fail to get over the top of the best that that are offered by Daiwa & Shimano ( I'll include Loomis as part of Shimano).

So with that said - Can you give some examples of tackle that you deem to be better ........ I'm actually looking at some new gear ...... so I'm interested

insider
09-01-2012, 02:55 PM
Hi All

Please don't get me wrong the high end Shimano and Daiwa reels are excellent peices of engineering but if you look around there are much better peices of gear made by specialists in their field. Of the reel manufacturers Shimano, Daiwa, Omoto, Banax and Tica are really the only quality manufacturers of a large range of reels. If you want quality spinning reels that are the top of the line Nagg nailed it saying Van Staals. He also pointed out a good point that the following are now only marketing companies "the likes of Penn , ABU , Pflueger , Quantum , Okuma" all the preceeding companies do not make their own gear and access suppliers that many smaller companies work closely with. Quality game reels you can look at the Italian Gladiator and Everol reels along with the Internationals + Tiagras. It is interesting to note that the Everol reels have patented a system where the drag pressure stays constant whether the spool is full or getting empty.

For the rods please note Diawa and Shimano do not have a rod factory they own so their rods are coming from selected Chinese and Taiwanese factories that many other comp[anies can source so look for ranges that are made for our market and not Japanese / European / USA rods that suit what we do.

For the sake of lures there are too many to go into but the specialists win out in the end. Hands down.

For line, go "Made in Japan" or made in Europe.

Insider

09-01-2012, 03:08 PM
Hi All

Please don't get me wrong the high end Shimano and Daiwa reels are excellent peices of engineering but if you look around there are much better peices of gear made by specialists in their field. Of the reel manufacturers Shimano, Daiwa, Omoto, Banax and Tica are really the only quality manufacturers of a large range of reels. If you want quality spinning reels that are the top of the line Nagg nailed it saying Van Staals. He also pointed out a good point that the following are now only marketing companies "the likes of Penn , ABU , Pflueger , Quantum , Okuma" all the preceeding companies do not make their own gear and access suppliers that many smaller companies work closely with. Quality game reels you can look at the Italian Gladiator and Everol reels along with the Internationals + Tiagras. It is interesting to note that the Everol reels have patented a system where the drag pressure stays constant whether the spool is full or getting empty.

For the rods please note Diawa and Shimano do not have a rod factory they own so their rods are coming from selected Chinese and Taiwanese factories that many other comp[anies can source so look for ranges that are made for our market and not Japanese / European / USA rods that suit what we do.

For the sake of lures there are too many to go into but the specialists win out in the end. Hands down.

For line, go "Made in Japan" or made in Europe.

Insider

Shimano own Loomis - Loomis make their rods in the US ........ I have also heard that Daiwa infact do have rod making operations ( I think one is even in the UK)

Everols - like the Finnor are not like they once were (IMO)

dan1990
26-01-2012, 10:28 PM
what a horrible argument, Daiwa clearly wins

reggy
27-01-2012, 07:06 AM
what a horrible argument, Daiwa clearly wins

I hope you are going to tell us why.

insider
27-01-2012, 07:59 AM
I think Daiwa and Shimano win the marketing awards, not necessarily the "best of" awards.

27-01-2012, 08:58 AM
FWIW.... the best rods I have ever used are the ones I have built myself. 8-)

Using the best available blanks, guides, reel seats, grips, butts, thread, glues and epoxy and I get a truely custom wrap. Best thing is actually using something YOU made and having that rod do exactly the job it was intened for. Obvioulsy made a couple of boo boo's early on, but now have a very good armoury.

Nothing beats a custom rod....... ;D ;) 8-)

Reels..................

depends on the purpose... why has no one mentioned THE best offshore reels ?

http://www.alutecnos.it/page.php?pageid=CATFA001

cheers LP

lucee81
30-01-2012, 01:08 PM
FWIW.... the best rods I have ever used are the ones I have built myself. 8-)

Using the best available blanks, guides, reel seats, grips, butts, thread, glues and epoxy and I get a truely custom wrap. Best thing is actually using something YOU made and having that rod do exactly the job it was intened for. Obvioulsy made a couple of boo boo's early on, but now have a very good armoury.

Nothing beats a custom rod....... ;D ;) 8-)

Reels..................

depends on the purpose... why has no one mentioned THE best offshore reels ?

http://www.alutecnos.it/page.php?pageid=CATFA001

cheers LP

Because no one can read the website.....:P:P

Mrs Ronnie H
03-02-2012, 08:55 AM

Phil it must be satisfying to make your own rods and the Reel page is in Italian.
For those of you that can't read it Google has an app that will translate it to English. look and sound impressive.

Ronnie

cuzzamundi
18-02-2012, 03:36 AM
Depends on the context for me. For game, can't go past Shimano or Penn. For smaller speedsters, I reckon the above, as well as Pfleuger and Diawa. Beach, can't beat the resilience of an alvey. Bread and butter estuary - any! Hell, my niece's 13 dollar &mart Jarvis Walker outfit catches me tea all the time!

Cuzza

Jackson 53
03-03-2012, 04:06 PM
I lke Shimano spinning reels and own a range of reels from Alivios to Stradics that have served me well and believe that Shimano offer reliable reels that are functional and enjoyable to use for a reasonable price. They are relatively simple to service and maintain and provide a reel at just about every price point. Reputationally, Shimano are like the Toyota of the fishing tackle world, but you can always spend the extra and get a Lexus i.e.the Stella.

grave41
22-03-2012, 10:48 PM
Silly question there are too many good reels and rods out there.My new toy Zeebaas right hand wind is best right now along with stella"s ,saltigas accurates van staals and even ryobi metalroyal in spinning.Duels, accurates, torsa's in overheads. Rods lets forget that one toooooooo hard except for the customs i make for myself hmmmm not bad even the spiral wrapped 15-24kg seeker.
Very few of the top brands are better than one another they are better suited to different uses thats all.Aren"t many brands i haven"t used but havent used tuff tackle yet and probably wont.
Get over it its personal choice.
IMO Graham

wayno60
22-03-2012, 11:12 PM
Shimano offer reliable reels that are functional and enjoyable to use for a reasonable price.
I dont care if its winds itself in theres no way i would ever buy a stella for $760.00

Shawn 66
11-06-2012, 06:50 AM
I dont care if its winds itself in theres no way i would ever buy a stella for $760.00
Bloody hell . It would have to cook me breakfast in the morning for that sort of money .
Shawn

lucee81
11-06-2012, 07:10 PM
Bloody hell . It would have to cook me breakfast in the morning for that sort of money .
Shawn

Shite it would have to do more than just cook breakfast....

dudley
22-07-2012, 11:08 AM
I have found that it is a holden or ford thing. I own both brands in shimano and daiwa especially stellas and saltigas. Both made extremely well ( and so they should for the money). They both differ in spool capacity and drag pressure. I also own van staal reels which are top quality but around half the price of shimano/daiwa. I know that everyone cannot afford/justify stellas and saltigas or even van staal, BUT if you buy the best you can afford, you will enjoy your fishing a lot better without the stress of having cheaper gear let you down. And it will when you don't want it too. I have had it happen to me over 40+ yrs of fishing hence why i buy what i buy.
That's my 2c worth.

grave41
02-08-2012, 05:37 PM
Dudley i second that motion!!
Graham

kingcray
03-08-2012, 05:03 PM
i have about 6 shimano spin reels never have any probs and they all get flogged. Just recently bough a quantum catalyst ci30 and for the money its brilliant. I also have a quantum spin reel my dad bought for me when i was about 7 or 8, 20 years on it still works as good as new, only ever replaced the handle got bent when i fell off my bike years ago.

04-08-2012, 03:53 PM
8306583064,,,,,,,,,,,,, reading through this thread,,,, I decided it was time to do the obligatory clean,,,, 1 bucket soapy water,,,, hose,,,, 2 stubbies in esky,,, 1 smoke

job done,,,,, i'll clean the rest tomorrow

Bronson
07-08-2012, 05:01 PM
Over the past 6 years Ive gone through a few reels and a few rods and the only oldish rod still operational is my Shimano raider.Thou i have been using a TeamDaiwa RedBack 7 footer for the past couple years and hasn't missed a beat.But my Shimano Stradic performes effortlessly and have had no problems in the past couple years not even a thought of getting a new reel.(My Vote went to Shimano thou Daiwa do make some good tackle too.)

bron

MudRiverDan
01-09-2012, 01:42 PM
G loomis make the best rods.

Why?

Because the models are built on SPECIFIC experience and stand the test of time.

I have one that has had the tip snapped off it and I still use it a lot, why?
Because it handles the fish and big ones, no probs.

01-09-2012, 04:44 PM
G loomis make the best rods.

Why?

Because the models are built on SPECIFIC experience and stand the test of time.

I have one that has had the tip snapped off it and I still use it a lot, why?
Because it handles the fish and big ones, no probs.

Love the blanks (IMX / GLX - some of the blends) - but they can suffer from poor build quality ...... built off the spine / incorrect number of guides or poorly spaced.
I've owned / own 7 loomis rods ...... 3 had faults - 2 of the 7 have been exceptional - though for the price you can do better ......... just my opinion .

MudRiverDan
03-09-2012, 11:54 AM
Love the blanks (IMX / GLX - some of the blends) - but they can suffer from poor build quality ...... built off the spine / incorrect number of guides or poorly spaced.
I've owned / own 7 loomis rods ...... 3 had faults - 2 of the 7 have been exceptional - though for the price you can do better ......... just my opinion .

I sold my IMX, too flimsy.

I have a Mossyback and a GL3.

MudRiverDan
30-09-2012, 11:14 PM
Just bought a G Loomis 10 ft surf rod IMX.

about $250 cheaper than a AU purchase, Icast display rods.

I am sure I will have no qualms with the rod, unlike Shimano rods and other rod brands, G loomis are built for results, love em.

I think this thread is about reels, noone has really touched on rods.

Hawker
07-10-2012, 07:14 AM
Overall Shimano I think bring out very good products all round in Australia. Daiwa I believe produce many more products globally and they are more innovative but sometimes i feel their gear is a little bit too fancy in design and they should stick more to the basics.

For fishing rods I cant go past Hearty Rise - the rods need to be seen to be believed absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!! I think pretty hard to buy here in Australia though i would think.

Toddy_again
11-10-2012, 08:12 PM
IMX and GLX are not the be all to end all.GLoomis have some fantastic blanks but are far from the best.As Nagg said their build can be crap.That hasnt stopped me buying them though.
The reality is different horses for different courses.
I have a 5'4" GL2 that outcasts the same barra and jack lures that a 6'0 IMX baitcaster will.Flatter and further and loads up much better.
There is a lot of cheap stuff out there now that ticks all the boxes and some.

Toddy

SWANO1
12-10-2012, 07:48 AM
IMX and GLX are not the be all to end all.GLoomis have some fantastic blanks but are far from the best.As Nagg said their build can be crap.That hasnt stopped me buying them though.
The reality is different horses for different courses.
I have a 5'4" GL2 that outcasts the same barra and jack lures that a 6'0 IMX baitcaster will.Flatter and further and loads up much better.
There is a lot of cheap stuff out there now that ticks all the boxes and some.

Toddy
tell em about ya fav lizard rod

Toddy_again
12-10-2012, 07:00 PM
tell em about ya fav lizard rod

Hahaha...Well...out of the 4 rods that come flatty fishing with me the rods alone cost around the $1500 mark(pretty shameful really) and the one that gets the most use is a Rovex Energy 7 foot 3-6kg thing worth a bit over a $100.Its a cracking rod for 4" plastics and 1/4-3/8 oz weight.

Its made me rethink what rods I buy a lot.

Toddy

banshee
12-10-2012, 08:17 PM
Interesting comments re loomis being built off the spine,took this up with the rep once and was informed that they (the casting models anyway) are built at 90 degrees to the spine to deliver maximum energy transfer during casting.....all mine are at 90 deg.
As far as reels go,any Shimano with worm drive oscilation will outlast most other reels,Daiwa included, when it comes to long term heavy use....just my observation.

Stuart
13-10-2012, 02:07 PM
Loomis use to be good blanks, you cant keep riding on a name for ever. Loomis progressed there brand and models due to rod builders and fisheman, not loomis themselves.

MudRiverDan
14-10-2012, 05:13 PM
Loomis use to be good blanks, you cant keep riding on a name for ever. Loomis progressed there brand and models due to rod builders and fisheman, not loomis themselves.
Biggest problem these days is finding a fish worthy of testing them.

Stuart
20-10-2012, 04:35 PM
Get real mate. I take your statement is based on something you read in a mag. I have built on many 100s of loomis blanks and I can tell you for sure they are not what they use to be. The day Shimano took over the blanks went down the shita. There are far better blanks than Loomis these days mate::).

20-10-2012, 06:44 PM
To answer the OP, you get jack for jack......ya want quality ya got to pay for it..figure in the manu's take...the wholesaler's take.....the retailer's take......custom, direct and small-scale manus are suddenly looking better value for your $..........IMHO.

MudRiverDan
20-10-2012, 07:20 PM
Get real mate. I take your statement is based on something you read in a mag. I have built on many 100s of loomis blanks and I can tell you for sure they are not what they use to be. The day Shimano took over the blanks went down the shita. There are far better blanks than Loomis these days mate::).

Lot of bling on the market.. Are you meaning me?
I own 4 G Loomis rods, 3 Garry Howards, and a Few Daiwas.

MY comments are not based on magazines at all.

I also notice you say "blanks", and I am sure you know there is a bit more to a rods design for intended use than the blank alone, I just find Gloomis always get it right and make some awesome all rounder spin sticks.

As far as price goes I have never bought one in Australia as they often go for $200 more than the US price. :o

At Aussie prices they are asking a bit much, for what they are, considering many just have the stock grips reel seat and guides.

Stuart
22-10-2012, 09:21 PM
Its called price gouging in Australia. You know, when an Australian tackle mob lands an agency for a product that is also used in the manufacture of that product and then offers the same part to other rod builders at a massive inflated price often 10% less than what there built up rods retail for. Yet they jump up and down when people buy from overseas, wankers. I refuse to support these mobs on principal, screw the lot of them.

banshee
23-10-2012, 10:46 PM
Its called price gouging in Australia.........

A bit off subject,I was quoted $140 for a yamaha swingarm chain guide/protector and a three week wait.......I got a genuine OEM part out of England for $49.50 AUD delivered......and it took six days.I'm with you,screw them.Then you've got the likes of Gerry Harvey screaming bloody murder over everyone doing him out of money.We've got a real problem in this country and it's not the retailer (in most cases).

insider
07-11-2012, 12:03 PM
Stuart I assume you mean Fuji parts. Same company is about to put up the Gammas by 30%.

Nicko_Cairns
13-01-2013, 10:02 AM
I've got a TLD-25 I use for trolling that I absolutely love, however I've got a Daiwa BW35 for bottom bashing that I love too.. for fly fishing though it would have to be sage, although I've found a cheaper label albright that make some outstanding rods for the price and servicable reels (non-drag fly fishing so small tarpon up north, rainbow trout etc down south). haven't tried their drag fly reels.

macka17
15-01-2013, 12:27 AM
Well.......
Shimano make good treadlie gears. and that's about it. They too complex inside..(too many bits)

Daiwa Baitcasters the best.. and serious fishing...Penn Inter's. Everol or Dual
Eggbeaters. The Daiwa again I would think. My Capricorn 4500j is a nice one.

About the only things I buy in this country nowadays is braid and hooks\line.
Mainly my braid comes from Chark though, Prespooled on reels.

Sevric
15-01-2013, 07:03 PM
I do not know what all the rest of you think but for me there are to many models of rods and reels between the big two players in the tackle game. I do not believe there is a great deal of difference between many models the manufactures produce. Yes there is a difference between to most expensive and the cheapest but there is a plethora of models in the middle with mostly the same specs. Choice has become confusing for both rods and reels and it must be a nightmare for retailers to stock all the models in their different sizes. Perhaps if they concentrated their efforts into a line up of 4 or 5 models covering both ends of the purchase price spectrum they could conserve manufacturing costs and either lower prices or provide a better quality product at that price point...............I think i am dreaming.

macka17
15-01-2013, 08:05 PM
Perhaps if they concentrated their efforts into a line up of 4 or 5 models covering both ends of the purchase price spectrum they could conserve manufacturing costs and either lower prices or provide a better quality product at that price point...............I think i am dreaming.

Agree with that.
I go the top baitcasters for Barra. Daiwa Black Sheep. SW etc.
Penn Torque 200. Accurate and Daiwa Saltiga for Jigging. and Mainly Inters and a coupla old Italian Everol game reels for trolling.
with the rods though. I've stuck mainly to Shimano Tournament. Wilson Live fibre (They do a beaut 6kg Baitcaster.) and Live fible Sticks for trolling. Oh and a coupla V-Fox jiggers. they nice too.

A mate put me on to a dealer of the new style Chinese built rods recently.
Finish as good as local, better than some. Iffy runners and Mainly composite blanks.
I've bought a few for self and granddaughters. and they bloody good sticks.
Only got a jigger and couple of popper sticks so far. price.
Shhh $14.50 for cheapest $27.60 for dearest. plus freight. If runners play up I'll just rebind better ones on. But so far.
They good enuff I'm running a Saltiga z40 on one for Spanno's. Cobe. and Tuna.and Saltiga 50 lever 2spd on other for Mainly Sails and the small Marlin up here..
Daughter using one i bought her with my Penn Torque 200 40lb braid on it.
All are happy.

These dealers with their mark ups and importers better look out. Like the Koreans and Thai's. The Chinese manufacturing QUALITY is improving.
Look at the new Jigging reels...JM etc.

MudRiverDan
23-01-2013, 03:29 PM
Personally I will be looking at the cheaper end of the spectrum in future, I have done two 400 dollar rods in car doors now (actually one in a rear wagon hatch and the other in an automatic window), and like others have said I just cannot see the worth in a general rod and reel for whiting bream and flathead.
The LOX range of rods looks pretty good to me for estuary work.
Not a bad style of rod, bit exy but good.
I have a Gary Howard Gforce and from memory it is only 2-4kg , but it would take a big estuary fish to put any hurt on it.
Same with a Mossyback 10lb , put a good reel on it and your really just skulling a 70cm flathead.

I am looking cheaper and lighter in future.

Sevric
24-01-2013, 07:07 AM
That is an interesting point you raise Dan. The are some areas of my fishing where the gear seems to get more unintentional rough but treatment. I went through several top of the line graphite/carbon rods fishing baits for Snapper in the dark. Hell knows how much this cost me but these days i use very successfully a cheap $60 Shimano offering that is some kind of glass graphite composite. It is as tough as nails and will no doubt see my remaining Snapper days out (with a bit of luck). There are some places however that the expensive light weight rods and reels just fall into their own such as Bass fishing or fishing Bream / Flathead with plastics; they are simply so much better. At this point i have resisted the urge to upgrade my surf rods to the top shelf stuff; i have seen way to much of it damaged getting to the beach.

MudRiverDan
24-01-2013, 03:24 PM
That is an interesting point you raise Dan. The are some areas of my fishing where the gear seems to get more unintentional rough but treatment. I went through several top of the line graphite/carbon rods fishing baits for Snapper in the dark. Hell knows how much this cost me but these days i use very successfully a cheap $60 Shimano offering that is some kind of glass graphite composite. It is as tough as nails and will no doubt see my remaining Snapper days out (with a bit of luck). There are some places however that the expensive light weight rods and reels just fall into their own such as Bass fishing or fishing Bream / Flathead with plastics; they are simply so much better. At this point i have resisted the urge to upgrade my surf rods to the top shelf stuff; i have seen way to much of it damaged getting to the beach.

Well in the Australian surf I think glass will always have its place.
I see that a certain overseas store is selling Daiwa balistic surf rods at 50% off, so I am thinking they are not selling too well for the high price they ask in the first place.

gotya
25-01-2013, 10:23 AM
For rods i make my own. Reels i cant complain about Shimano

manchild
08-02-2013, 12:05 PM
I use Silstar Crystal Powertips for a long time . I dont know if they are the best but they yet to let me down so why change ? Reasonably priced too . Just looking at the rods i prepared for tomorrow ,there is 2 Okumas and a Shimano overhead reel ready to rock & roll.
George

Salmonaire
12-02-2013, 08:21 AM
I think it comes down to "what you pay is what you get". I find that cheap bottom range stuff use cheap material/component that tend to fall off, break off, crack or rust after a few use. It is ok if you only fish with it once or twice a year, but I think it worth spending a bit extra on something that is good quality that will last.

I have been using mostly shimano rods, but recent acquired a Ryobi rod. I thought Ryobi is a power tool and lawn mower company. I didn't know they have expanded into fishing. I was sceptical at first, but after using it in the last few outings, I was quite impressed by it.

Hawker
12-02-2013, 09:24 PM
I think it comes down to "what you pay is what you get". I find that cheap bottom range stuff use cheap material/component that tend to fall off, break off, crack or rust after a few use. It is ok if you only fish with it once or twice a year, but I think it worth spending a bit extra on something that is good quality that will last.

I have been using mostly shimano rods, but recent acquired a Ryobi rod. I thought Ryobi is a power tool and lawn mower company. I didn't know they have expanded into fishing. I was sceptical at first, but after using it in the last few outings, I was quite impressed by it.

Ryobi has actually been in the tackle game for a very long time and at one stage were regarded worldwide as one of the largest tackle companies. They just never bothered with the Australian market and probably thought it was too small to be worthwhile. It's not until you go overseas that you realise just how many brands are out there and it aint just Daiwa and Shimano...

H

MudRiverDan
15-02-2013, 07:55 PM
I find glass and resin pretty good for the price, depends what you like to fish with.
But when you start going into carbon there seems to be a large selection that vary with price and quality not always corresponding.