View Full Version : Fraser Island for a quick greenbak hit this wed - sun

35kg jew
16-08-2011, 11:10 PM
Hi all just got back to the east coast and bout to hit up fraser island as my mate came back 2 days ago and nailed big greenbaks to 3.8kg good fish. Gonna be fishing the bottom end weather is looking fab!!!! We will be in a new landcriuser white ute we wont go past eurong as the bigger fish are down the bottom of late. Well if anyone is up there pull over and say hi will put up some pics of daily catches as im very confident ;)

mort
17-08-2011, 10:40 AM
G,day 35kg jew, just got back from fishing bottom end got a few good tailor and other stuff,got gutters good times

brute78
17-08-2011, 07:52 PM
We got back on Sunday after three days fishing the top end passed Nagala, First cast got me a nice queenie but nothing much after that, should of fished the bottom end like we did last year!!
Some great gutters down that way! Heading over again in a couple of weeks.

Stik-ugly
17-08-2011, 08:15 PM
brute78 not much else around up the top ? we are heading up to Orchid on Friday for a week,so is the fishing a bit quite up there

brute78
17-08-2011, 08:39 PM
Yeh, not alot caught at all, conditions and gutters were good but nothing was coming out of them, gutters south of indian were holding a few choppers. Had success last year fishing the bottom end and will head there again in a few weeks. Thats not to say they won't be there next week, there's a great gutter between north and south Nagala rocks with some rock in it that might be worth a look.

dartman
20-08-2011, 07:44 PM
Brute78

How's the track over Ngkala mate, was washed away a while back wasn't it? I'll be up there in a few weeks, can't wait!!

DM

bondy99
20-08-2011, 08:19 PM
You'll have crap weather this weekend and next few days from what I've seen on the news but good luck with it anyway

brute78
20-08-2011, 11:56 PM
DM
Mate the track was fine, air down the tyres and some right foot and you'll have no dramas. Great part of the island!

Jono_SS
21-08-2011, 04:54 PM
Hi all just got back to the east coast and bout to hit up fraser island as my mate came back 2 days ago and nailed big greenbaks to 3.8kg good fish. Gonna be fishing the bottom end weather is looking fab!!!! We will be in a new landcriuser white ute we wont go past eurong as the bigger fish are down the bottom of late. Well if anyone is up there pull over and say hi will put up some pics of daily catches as im very confident ;)

How did you go? The weather was certainly good on the island during the week, though we found catches of tailor were patchy from the Maheno north.

cheers.

Jono.

35kg jew
22-08-2011, 08:57 AM
Hey guys we did ok came back sat early as wind was gonna get bad over there.We ended up catching over 20 jew for a few days which was great fun no big fish but lots of fun biggest went 92cm round 7kg most were around 85cm all were taken in a small hole down the bottom end of island before eurong on fresh tailor and bonito. There plenty of choppers as well a few bigger g baks as well . Will post pics soon as i get my camera which should be tonite . Heard catches up the island were shocking with just a few choppers and jew being caught and huge amounts of people which if u fish at night is gonna shut the gutter down with so many bloody car lights on the water.We had a mate fishing up near cathedral beach finally starting to get some better tailor and a jew when the usually pilly chopper fishos drove past with there spot lights on which shut his gutter down completely.All i can say is try find a small gutter away from car traffic fish the run out and try bonito and fresh tailor and see the size difference of fish that u will catch. Anyways great few days fishing at fraser no 6kg tailor yet but hopefully next trip in oct.;)

lbm_83
22-08-2011, 09:25 AM
Hey 35kg jew, where abouts do you get your bonito from? im on the north side

35kg jew
22-08-2011, 09:33 AM
Hey bud im not shore up that way i normally go out and catch it or buy from anglers warehouse from tweed heads its expensive bait but u dont need pillys as just use the smaller legal choppers as bait.

robvee
22-08-2011, 12:53 PM
Hey guys we did ok came back sat early as wind was gonna get bad over there.We ended up catching over 20 jew for a few days which was great fun no big fish but lots of fun biggest went 92cm round 7kg most were around 85cm all were taken in a small hole down the bottom end of island before eurong on fresh tailor and bonito. There plenty of choppers as well a few bigger g baks as well . Will post pics soon as i get my camera which should be tonite . Heard catches up the island were shocking with just a few choppers and jew being caught and huge amounts of people which if u fish at night is gonna shut the gutter down with so many bloody car lights on the water.We had a mate fishing up near cathedral beach finally starting to get some better tailor and a jew when the usually pilly chopper fishos drove past with there spot lights on which shut his gutter down completely.All i can say is try find a small gutter away from car traffic fish the run out and try bonito and fresh tailor and see the size difference of fish that u will catch. Anyways great few days fishing at fraser no 6kg tailor yet but hopefully next trip in oct.;)
Great stuff mate .... you making me serioulsy green with envy that the fools I went with dont fish at night :-(

BLOOEY
22-08-2011, 04:07 PM
Good stuff, i'm up there in a couple of weeks but staying up at orchid so probably wont fish the bottom end. Here's hoping they move up for me! Ben

brute78
26-08-2011, 10:01 PM
Heading over to Fraser for three days on the 09 sep, have got the leave pass from the wife (3 kids under 3 means we are busy) to fish friday and saturday arvo/night around Happy valley, just seeing if anyone is over there and wants to catch up for a fish?

Duncan

BLOOEY
26-08-2011, 11:15 PM
I'll be over there brute, 3rd till the 10th but fishing the top end so probably wont catch up for a fish unfortunately. By the sounds of it you are in a better spot (surf fishing wise than i am). Ben

vertico
27-08-2011, 12:22 AM
blooey your not taking a kayak up off fraser are yah i got a mate going those dates and taking his kayak....

BLOOEY
27-08-2011, 09:43 AM
No, not taking the yak mate. Way too many BIIIG sharks up there for my liking. Ben

big_steve001
27-08-2011, 09:36 PM
blooey im heading up on the 4th mated staying at waddy pt campground with the boat so i might see u up there

brute78
27-08-2011, 10:21 PM
Blooey
Should be fun at the top of the island, but I will be limited to around the Valley, I feel the bottom end is under rated, too many miss it thinking it's better fishing at the top end, but in fact the gutters are always better down that way. I'd be happy with a few Jew around the rocks at Yidney. Hope all catch heaps over there!!!! enjoy!!!

BLOOEY
28-08-2011, 06:43 PM
I'll keep an eye out for the boat steve and come and say g'day if i see ya. Nothing to identify me by really, stock standard silver d22 with no bull bar. A mate is taking some sort of boat up though. Brute i think i'll be happy with 1 decent jewie, any good sized bait i put out up there seems to attract sharks. Ben

BayDog
28-08-2011, 09:12 PM
Hey Jew I saw that you recommend fishing the run out, just the first hour or two or right through the tide, I'm always keen to learn a few things. just got back from straddie and nailed these two, 1.8 and 2kg71007