View Full Version : Re: River To Mud 2011 & Report.
13-08-2011, 07:49 PM
I joined the rest of the crew at Whyte Island today. A big variety of boats launched to participate.
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/thequeue.jpg
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/wetdream1.jpg
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/tinny1.jpg
The Boat Passage was looking great
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/boatpassage2.jpg
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/boatpassage.jpg
13-08-2011, 07:51 PM
Cheech & Chong Charters hit the water..theradio could be interesting tonight.
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/candc1.jpg
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/candc2.jpg
13-08-2011, 07:54 PM
a couple of the other members on the water:
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/dazza.jpg
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/loveylaunching.jpg
13-08-2011, 08:01 PM
then there is Marty's marvellous boat..The White Rhino:
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/whiterhinoname.jpg
there is no shortage of electronics on this boat:
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/wrelectronicsfront.jpg
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/wrelectronicsback.jpg
no shortage of bait eirther:
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/wrbait.jpg
and then the launch
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/wrlaunch1.jpg
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/wrlaunch2.jpg
13-08-2011, 08:05 PM
and along comes Mike and his new boat..Bec n Call:
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/becncall1.jpg
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/becncall2.jpg
BUT..ya gotta take the winch strap off:
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/becncallstrap.jpg
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/becncallundostrap.jpg
Finally free and under way:
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/becncallundoonthewater.jpg
13-08-2011, 08:09 PM
I fished in the river for a few hours..got told ot move over near the bank by Port Security..they told me a small boat was heading dwon the river and it needed some room:
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/cruise2.jpg
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/cruise1.jpg
Could not rasie a bit in a few places so home seemed the better place to be.
rosco1974
13-08-2011, 08:19 PM
sure looks like a good turn out.went for a run down to mud around 1.30 in hope i would run into a few of them but none to be seen
Mike Delisser
13-08-2011, 10:56 PM
Thanks for the pics Greg. I just got home and I'm about to hook up the boat and head down, though I may watch the rugby first if we're going well.
Great pics PinHead Thanks mate!!
Keep them comming for the guys like me who cant be there because we are at work.
14-08-2011, 06:38 AM
it is a small world..Webby used to have a red boat..the fire truck.. which he sold to Marlin Mike. marlin Mike has since sold the boat to someone else. We were all standiung around having a chat and webby's son Cameron says..have a look at this. The firetruck arrives back at the ramp.
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz54/grog_02/R2M%202011/firetruck.jpg
14-08-2011, 06:39 AM
and....you guys will get a laugh when you see the CHONG AWARD. I have photos of it but will not put on here until after the recipient receives it..it is a classic.
14-08-2011, 09:01 AM
Thanks for the pics and report Greg.
bigjimg
14-08-2011, 12:11 PM
Thanks for the pics Pinhead,good to see a large turnout.Unfortunately had other commitments,seems every year so far,hopefully next year.Gave the ramp,cleaning tables and sheds a birthday Friday arvo so the place is all spic and span.By the sounds of it it was hard to raise fish in the late stages of yesterday arvo going into the evening.Looking forward to the wash up.Jim
14-08-2011, 03:35 PM
Just back in tidying up the event.
Thanks to Webby, Bush'n'Beach, Chief, Chong and Ausfish as sponsors and prize donations.
Thanks to thedeckie for cooking up a storm of a BBQ breakfast.
There was a pretty good turnout in my books and appreciate the effort of those that urned up. It was a hard nights fishing with that big moon in the sky. Conditions were comfortable though.
Brian will post up details of winners names and fish etc when his satelite dish gets cranking again.
I'll let the others sort the stories.
Photo's below tell some tales
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/winners.jpg
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/winner-grinner.jpg
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/winnerd.jpg
Winner of the Fred " Touchy " Wood, memorial fishing rod. Marty. Captain Seaweed.
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/winnerb.jpg
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/winnera.jpg
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Touchy-Winner.jpg
Team White Rhino..... drying out !!
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/White-Rhino-drying-out.jpg
rafting up at Mud. to the West........... ---- >
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Rafting-up-3.jpg
rafting up at Mud. to the East <------------
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Rafting-up-1.jpg
The Chong Award...............
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/BS-awarded.jpg
The breakfast getting warm...............
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/BBQ.jpg
Webby dismount from Bec'n'Call
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Aigutso-5.jpg
That award............... :-? ::)
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Chongs-award.jpg
WH&S................... !!!!
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Aigutso-3.jpg
Congrats to all the winners.
Funds raised go to VMR for their continued good work keeping us boaties safe on the water.
14-08-2011, 03:37 PM
Late at night I found this Feret perched on the bait board of Rebait. Nothing would shift it.
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Chong-Perched.jpg
:) :) :)
LP
14-08-2011, 03:41 PM
other assorted stuff.
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/c--c-1.jpg
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Aigutso-6.jpg
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/c--c-2.jpg
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Aigutso-1.jpg
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/do-it-like-this-.jpg
Ausfish
14-08-2011, 04:58 PM
Great pics and info, thanks guys. Sorry I couldn't get there again, someone keeps picking a date that clashes with a trade show I attend every year in Sydney :-)
Maybe next year.
gunna
14-08-2011, 05:41 PM
Good stuff guys - thanks.
Captain Seaweed
14-08-2011, 05:44 PM
Gents,
I would like to thank you for a bloody great time. I can still hear the VHF echoing in my ears and unfortunately, the VMR probably does too. This is the second M&G I have attended and can honestly say that these are very well organised events which always seem to go to plan, well done Phil and Webby.
I am honoured to take home the Chong Bullshit and Bycatch award and would like to thank those involved. I am looking forward to 1770 as I know this will all be repeated over again.
I am proudly sporting my award on the family mantle piece.
Cheers For a great time
Marty
White Rhino;D
14-08-2011, 06:43 PM
Many thanks to Webby and the sponsors/helpers who put this on, and the bbq topped off a top weekend, its what Ausfish is all about, I dont usually do long reports,
getting into a glass boat 2 weeks ago from a tinnie has had its moments and Pinhead captured one of them,:D got to get those trailer rollers sorted out and i might put it into forward next time as well, anyway we headed out and caught up with Pinhead while waiting for Col and then headed off to the eastern side of Mud,, it was lucky to be 5 knots mid afternoon and we starting drifting. Quite a few Ausfishers there as well,
Late afternoon it started to get lumpy and blowing a bit but we persisted for a while but we where pretty much by ourselves, Webby got a couple more squire in the 40 range and i scored a nice bream which inhaled both snelled hooks on a whole pilly?
It was getting a bit uncomfortable so went around the other side, went in close looking for bream and there was Cheech and Chong Charters 50 metres away this time rafted up, Webby was complaining we weren't in close enough ( 2 metres was close enough in the new boat after my last weeks efforts),
We got some nice bream and Lucky Phill then turned up with thedeckie (who wasnt coming out), rafted up and the party started,,, I was hearing double, Marty and Chong are next to each other, boat to boat and communicating through VHF, something about dugongs, landing strips, anyway,
We motored up the inside of Mud and anchored up, Webby's chook didnt agree with him so he had a kip so i then proceeded to get busted off by rays or wobbies and had a kip. Woken up with Ch 81 going off and boats going everywhere to a special CCC spot and a lot of banter, White Rhino was charging around with Chong guiding him in.
Woke up again and this time they are all rafted up again 100 metres away, White Rhino won the light contest.
Went around back to the east of mud in the morning for a final fling and Webby scored a starfish, back to the ramp and thanks to thedeckie for helping to sort out the rollers.. and cooking up the barbie.
I had great time and thanks to Webby for showing me around Mud.
14-08-2011, 09:33 PM
Surely there was more caught than a starfish, a bream and a few squire this year?
looks like a great weekend ...... better try to get there next year!
14-08-2011, 10:31 PM
Big thanks to all those that put in the time to organise this. Have been meaning to attend this for a few years but I always seemed to be away when it was on. The night before was spent up late replacing trailer hubs, bearings and brakes to make the trip from the coast. After picking up a bucket load of big live herring for the tank I thought we were in for a good trip... It wasn't to be! All that was landed was a snodger catfish and a baby black tip reef shark. Good to put some faces to the posts on here.
Greg doesn't have a small head funnily enough ;)
Marty needs to stop being a cheap prick and get some decent electronics into his boat ;)
the boat ramp needs a pontoon so my deckies don't get their nuts wet boarding :D
Fingers crossed I can make it to 1770 where the catches are sure to excel.
Mossy247
15-08-2011, 07:40 AM
I would like to thank all of the guys involved for putting on the event I appreciate all the effort involved to have something like this which is great.
This was my first M&G after being on the site for a while now and meeting a few ausfishers on the water prior.
Was great to put faces to names and also enjoyed the shenanigans going on in the other boats. Netmaker "Davo" and myself hit the river for a few fish off the rockwalls with plastics before loading up the estuary pursuit and heading over to mud around 4pm anchoring about 100 metres near a cardinal marker, dropped in at the shute for some fresh herring, davo grabbing a heap with the cast net.
First introduction to Stones I found myself sipping away while davo grabbed some ZZZ's.
Plenty of wobbies, a few bust off's always the laughs from boats around.. Got to about 3am and abit windy n lumpy so headed to the river for a kip, 4.30am headed back to whyte dropped the excess warm clothes required for an O/N off mud hit the river for a last effort on the plastics davo & I scored some tailor, a lost flatty and some small squire.
All in all a great night plenty off laughs, great times and a pretty good feed from the boys on the BBQ. Managed to have some luck on the plastics and scored plenty of stickers and a trophy to boot.
I will be back next year and will be installing a few comforts on the estuary pursuit including decking it out with my ausfish stickers for the O/N trips.
Thanks to Webby and all sponsors and everyone involved. Such a great group of blokes, plenty of characters and good times.
tight lines. Mossy
Chong
15-08-2011, 11:25 AM
Flaps down...coming up from the rear.....in flight refuelling....man that’s a big 48hrs::)....made it to base camp at Maryborough....been in coma for a while:sleeping:. Just like to say thanks to you all for another entertaining weekend.
Special thanks to Cheech and DJ for puttn up with me again:earmuffs: even with our usual:argue: still we share the:love:
Few small bits of thought pattern that I would like to share:
Next year can we????
Not have a full moon:-X
Enlarge the fishing area...maybe say from Frazer Island to Woody Heads, at least some one might be able to catch a decent fish. But seriously since the old Bay is pretty flogged, what if we include the new artie reefs, green island, Moreton, peel...maybe say the whole bay???;D
Pass the hat round so I can get a dial a driver...:P
Increase the play list on the Golden Rhino:D
Another category other than just say bait and plastics....explosives??? Or what I had sitting in freezer:-X
Not including 4000lbs pilchards
More cushions for the bait boards
No Trade show clashes
the boat ramp needs a pontoon so my deckies don't get their nuts wet boarding...this is a very good idea, if your not on the boat;)
Need designated AF radio channel, can we buy one??? 69 would be a good number ha-ha
Any ways thanks again all, good laugh, good catch up, good practice for 1770 if I am still able.
Chong
15-08-2011, 01:33 PM
Thanks all for organising and attending. Was a top trip, great group of people. Can't remember a bigger session out at Mud, and there has been a few. I do vaguely remember going to bed. Knew it was time because I was talking to someone and realised even I had no idea what I was saying. August was way to warm. My vote is for Saturday 21st July next year.
15-08-2011, 02:03 PM
why that date Cheech?
cbruh1
15-08-2011, 02:09 PM
Woud like to ay a big thanks to Webby and all sponsers and helpers to this years R2M.
It was a pretty good outing for me. Taking out this years R2M Best species :) even if it was only a 42cm squire. But you might be happy to know, that it was my first legal squire so I was cheering when I landed it just before sunrise :) Other then that I caught little squire, little bream, little whiting, little stipey fish and a bloody lot of coral....
The night out on my little 4m tinny was quite comfortable on the western side until the wind changed direction in the middle of the night and started rockin and rolling. So I pulled up and motored nice and close to Mud.
All in all a great R2M, great to meet some new people and catch up with some old people. Will be back again next year to defend my title :)
Check out the huge winning fish :)
15-08-2011, 07:26 PM
It seems to be that each yr the R2M is too late in the year for decent catches in the area. The weed tends to move about from early July and peaks at about the end of August each year.
Maybe a May to June date would provide much better catches plus it is more in line with the decent jew runs in the area.
Next yr I think tt will appear for the meet, this yr got waylaid with family crap.
fisho8
15-08-2011, 07:28 PM
Looked like all of you guys had a good time I was out on Sunday Morning in my mates Tournament 2000 Bluewater saw the White Rhino down the Southern end of Mud in the morning I gotta say that is one awsome rig and saw Aigusto belting along in his cruisecraft as well as that Kevlacat to. Wish I could have joined in but I had commitments on saturday night. Will definatley try to make it next year.
15-08-2011, 07:37 PM
Well finally back on the airwaves after a week being down with a satellite issue.
What a bunch of drunken ferrets fishing around Mud this year, next year there will be a booze ban;D
Had a phone call today from the Dept of Communications, regarding the continuous jamming
of the airwaves by a certain group of skippers during the past weekend in the bay, wonder
who they would be. (I hope who ever it was finally got it up the arse, they'll know what i
mean):o
And you blokes wonder why you could catch a scale, the vibrations from all the bullshit stories being
told, along with the rattle of cans would have scared every scale out of the bay.;D
A lot of new faces this year, and great to see. As you found out there's not too much serious fishing goes on.:-?
Will have to revert back to june or july when the really cold snaps are upon us.:-?
Got invited by Aigusto to be his deckie for the weekend, in his new baby cruisey.
Next time when we say put it in gear put it in gear, the bloody winch handle rotated at a
million miles an hour and smashed me watch in the process.:o
Every reasonable bump we passed over, he hit the mark button, so if anyone wants to know were
every bump is on the bottom around mud give mike a call.
The full moon sure made it hard for the bream gurus, even the snaps were on holidays, making it a hard slog for the duration we were out there, think we ended up with
3 squire, 5 bream, 1 sole, 1 lizard, 3 wobbygong, 1 grinner and me star fish.
But thats fishing.
Now to the serious parts.
Best Species chrub 1 squire on bait, good effort Callum
Runner up Bisbro squire on bait
Best river catch went to moss247 squire plastics
Best boat catch went to aigusto (dont no if he caught anything);D
Best Individual none other then darren 2dknbj with, forgot how many species he
caught, oh yes he did get a tuskie.:-*
The Fred Woods Memorial Award for best bream 37cm went to Mark (capt seaweed)
Got me buggered how he caught it and where, think they poured alcohol over board and
the poor bloody fish floated too the surface.8-)
The Shithouse Award (yes a real shithouse) thanks to that smart arse from Maryborough ??? , went to the boat that spewed the most bullshit over the weekend,
and created the most noise, created the most lights (when it was lite up you could see moreton). But anyway the shithouse was won by the crew of Capt Seaweed.::)
Thanks again to all that turned up,
Thanks to Steve (Ausfish)
Thanks to Ben (Bush & Beach)
thanks to all other that donated a few prizes.
Oh i better not forget, THANKS (otherwise he'll cry) Paul (The Deckie) for being master chef sunday:P
Captain Seaweed
15-08-2011, 08:09 PM
Thanks Webby,
As a suggestion for next year and maybe future M&G's is it worth bringing a hand held UHF for group chat on boats? Either way I will not be defending the Bullshit and bycatch award next year.
I certainly hope you didnt cop any grief Webby.
2DKnBJ
15-08-2011, 08:15 PM
Where does one start.
Thanks to Webby and Lucky Phill for organising the event and everyone that donated the prizes.
For once the weather wasn't too bad it's just a shame the fish didn't co-operate.It was one of the slowest trips fish wise i have had at Mud.Not even many undersize fish with only 4 legal fish finding our esky so with the sun going down we headed in close for a feed and a bit of a fish.
You know if Cheech & Chong charters with DJ pull up along side just on dark the fishing is really slow and it's time to socialise after all it is a meet and greet. Shortly after Lucky Phill and TheDeckie joined and not long after Marty and Tim (White Rihno) completed the raft.Had a top night with plenty of laughs with a great bunch of guys and for the record we passed a bottle of GGW around as a toast to Touchy.
Always good to meet some new Ausfishers and put faces to the names.
Congrats to the guys that one the trophys and as Callum said you have to be in it to win and i believe that is another win for the STINKY BAIT BRIGADE.
I won the best personal tally 6 fish 6 different species
Cheers Dazza
Mattg68
15-08-2011, 09:09 PM
what an awesome event. after nearly tossing back my river caught 40cm/.971kg squire thinking the "legends" overnighting out at mud would be pulling teeth on much larger models, i was gobsmacked to find out it was enough to bag me runner-up. just goes to show you never know. personally, i think the boys out there were bending their elbows not with rods in hand but cans of social lubricants.
the fishing was tough to say the least and i felt sorry for my catch as i felt he "ran into" my hook as he was passing and managed to hook himself silly bugger (this is where circle hooks come up trumps). big thanks to my skipper - dogsbody (dave) for "putting me on a trophy fish - again", i'm not expecting an invite from him next year! cheers bro.
anyway, my 3rd R2M and it was a great turnout and what a great bunch of rambling fishing mad gents you're ever likely to meet. congrats to all other winners. big thanks to Webby, Phill, thedeckie & all the sponsors etc. for organising a more than welcome sunday brekkie & brilliant event for a great cause & the memory of a good friend. will definitely be back next year - although i think i may be landbased.
matt
16-08-2011, 08:01 AM
why that date Cheech?
Nothing special about it apart from being around a new moon, incoming tide through the hours after dark, and in July when the bream should be more prolific.
2DKnBJ the bait you caught is bigger than your keepers :P
never looked at the lead up to this event before but going by the reports I will have to come up with boat in tow and show you hopeless QLDer's how to fish in your own back yard next year ;D
top stuff folks :)
and love the Chong award that is GOLD hahahahaha
cheers Murf
Killing time
16-08-2011, 07:32 PM
Hi gang the boat in the third pic sf460 offshore stessco what year is the boat also is it a purpose built order as im in the market for a good open boat and ive looked around but this boat looks really good for the kids to take aboard any help would be good.
netmaker
16-08-2011, 09:03 PM
hi all,
my first river to mud (thanks mossy). great event and great to meet a few fellow ausfishers in the real world. mossy and i spent the night fishing at mud seriously (all for one wobby - way to go mossy) but i reckon the real fun was had in the shallows on the nw end of mud. whilst we were laying out a lovely berley trail of minced herrings, hardies, mullet gut and squid (plus other secret ingredients;)) i reckon those noisy bastards 300m upstream collectively spewed out such a continuous stream of super powerful bullshit that overpowered our sweet juicy attractant:P. thankfully mossy put us on some fish in the river (out of reach of the powerful anti berley) and deservedly won the best river species and put in a show for the plastics:D. a great time and i will be in again with mossy next year in my boat unless he has led lighting and a cooker by then:P. thanks webby and phill for what was a great do.
davo
Mattg68
17-08-2011, 09:35 AM
never looked at the lead up to this event before but going by the reports I will have to come up with boat in tow and show you hopeless QLDer's how to fish in your own back yard next year
cheers Murf
we show you how to play footy & you teach us to fish - yeh, i can live with that Murf, see ya next year. lol.
matt
17-08-2011, 11:44 AM
Nothing special about it apart from being around a new moon, incoming tide through the hours after dark, and in July when the bream should be more prolific.
thanks cheech..thought it may have been yours or chongs birthday...now that would be a session and a half on the water.
17-08-2011, 01:58 PM
What a great report and photos, very entertaining. Good to see some faces to put to names.
Loved the award too, thats a cracker. Would've been good to see a video of the reaction when it was first brought out.;D;D
thedeckie
17-08-2011, 08:51 PM
thanks cheech..thought it may have been yours or chongs birthday...now that would be a session and a half on the water.
Those mad pair of pricks together don't need an excuse!;D