View Full Version : Bream season ???????

10-08-2011, 07:59 PM
Has anyone been catching any or has this winter been a bit of a non-event so far? :-?

wayno60
11-08-2011, 12:52 AM
mate we're right in the middle of it...
got these guys a few weeks back in the nerang river...got a few more like the bigger one's sunday night in the same place.

11-08-2011, 02:02 AM
non event this year. Fished Caloundra probably 12 times for very little return. Also fished the Pin..one trip of 15, one of 28 and one of 9..all overnighters. No good size to any of them and something I noticed..very few big females. Of the catch of 28 only 2 were females. The big females have not turned up in numbers.

stonecold
11-08-2011, 06:32 AM
much like the jew this year in Ballina.........but at least you caught a few......between Rabbi and myself. A combined 50 odd trips and maybe 150 hrs of fishing we caught a bloody big donut

11-08-2011, 08:07 AM
hey stonecold, i heard a very nasty rumour yesterday from someone i know ............. 800kg of jewies netted by pros off bribie surf beach a week or so ago, can't substantiate it but got info from a reliable source.

i've been targetting summer whiting but was wondering whether to get cold and try for a few bream one night, but from what you're saying pinhead it's not quite happenning yet.

rabbi
11-08-2011, 08:38 AM
Geez Paddles,

That would be like 80 x 10kg jew which woulda kept most of the jew fishos around ballina happy all this year.

Bugga with gravy on it!!!!!!:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(>:(

Business woulda been down in tha bait n tackle shops this year cause no one was catching any around here and I reckon the cost per kg and benefits injected into local business would far outweigh the $4 a kg they get for them

feeling depressed now, mite go for a walk on Angels beach here at Ballina.
if it gets really bad I might get me bream rod out but I wont make any hasty decisions just yet:D

11-08-2011, 09:19 AM
they were my thoughts exactly rabbi, i wasn't too impressed when i heard. again i can't substantiate the rumour, i only heard it from a mate with no reason to tell a fib. i can only think it was a very accidental catch and they weren't being targetted.

maybe i might have to get a bream chase happening myself in the next few days.

11-08-2011, 09:33 AM
I'm surprised that with all the hrs that I have fished with Placcies over the last couple of months - I have not caught a bream ( plenty of small jew) - but no bream!

Dodgy_Back
11-08-2011, 02:18 PM
Yeah, I reckon this year has been very quiet for the bream. Have got a few but nothing like previous years

11-08-2011, 02:32 PM
this time of year you should easily be able to catch 40 legal fish on an overnight trip.

rabbi
11-08-2011, 02:53 PM
Yeah,
I have found most species have gone underground this year, apart from the good ol jackets and trag and snappy tom salmon.

Fairly quiet fishin the rivers and rocks at the moment.
I have not gone out at all lately apart from outside trips.

Saved heaps on jew tackle this year which has made the better half happy.