View Full Version : What is your biggest bream in Photograph and measurement

Poppin King
08-08-2011, 05:07 PM
Hi all this is a thread to see who has the biggest bream. I've started taking my fishing seriously and this is my first legal bream caught in the Clarence river NSW, it was just legal at 25cm but i released it. So show me your biggest bream in photo and measurement. PS notice my bream has a chunk taken out of its dorsal fin towards the rear.
PK;D

Hornblower
08-08-2011, 10:18 PM
Hey Poppin King, good going. I love catching bream, pound for pound - kilo for kilo, they are the best fighting fish in my opinion. You will find the deformity is reasonably common - probably a larger predator took a liking to that one when it was a bit younger. I have seen some that have look like they have been hit by a boat prop with a large incision type scar almost down to the backbone. You will find they are always deformed along the top, I have never found one with a scar underneath though - not to say they aren't around.

The biggest I have caught has been 37 cms - but no photo unfortunately - so I can't claim it as confirmed - only a probable!!!!...LOL.

I have seen one caught at around 40cms which came out of the surf at South Straddie caught by my brother in law and he does have a photo to prove it. I ininitally thought it was a snapper until I got closer as I didn't think they got that big. Howerver, that being said I don't have access to his photo so I guess that is another probable.

You currently have the photo so yours is a confirmed! Judging by your smile - you really "hated" catching it too. Well I hope you catch many more. I have had a heap of great experiences catching bream and I love ctaching them, from tiddlers to thumpers they all put up one hell of a good fight.

wayno60
09-08-2011, 03:24 AM
dont know the weight of the one above but i got one down at Brunswick heads that went 1.2kg, gilled and guttered.

Poppin King
09-08-2011, 07:47 AM
Thanks for your input Hornblower and Wayno60 ( nice catch by the way), now we wait till more people put in their catchs and then this will be a pretty good thread...
thanks
PK;D

thelump
09-08-2011, 07:54 AM
I have one somewhere that is 43cm and I lined up 3 x Tooheys New cans end to end and they were nearly spot on to the length. I will try and find it.

Poppin King
09-08-2011, 08:17 AM
Ok thanks Lump, it would be greatly appreciated if you could find it.
PK;D

fat-buoy
09-08-2011, 08:56 AM
Lost the photo in the divorce but the biggest I have ever caught was 48cm caught in Hayes Inlet at Redcliffe Qld several years ago. The big ones come through in migration at certain times of the year. Had the photo as proof but sadly no more :(

Funchy
09-08-2011, 10:37 AM
Hey Poppin King,

Looks like your grandad got you onto some!!! Great stuff. Ok give us the low down.

What was the bait, tide, time of day etc.

I am really happy for you. Keep at it mate!!

09-08-2011, 11:45 AM
If you have a look in my gallery "some of the better ones" - I've got some photos of 41-44cm fish.
I did have a club record "Penrith Sportfishing Club" that was a (from memory) 1.9kgs on 2kg mono ......... sadly no photo (rarely carried a camera back then) .... I reckon it would have been a tad under 50cm.

Slates
09-08-2011, 12:18 PM
G'day guys.
I've never caught any very big bream. Maybe 40cm would pull me up. Some members of our fishing club caught some real rippers out of the Barwon River in Vic. They were not regular captures and all on bass yabbies but some that I can remember were 48, 49, 50 and 52cm plus a 54cm estuary perch that went (officially) 2.89kg. The pic I've attached is of a 52cm fish caught by Greg Livermore from the Barwon back about 2003/4 using a bass yabbie. This fish was oficially weighed at 2.26kg.

Cheers, NS

09-08-2011, 12:31 PM
my biggest Bream is 2.1KG, length unknown, caught on 2Kg line from a boat in about 3m of water on a bombie, used a peeled Royal Red prawn (my favorite Bream bait) had plenty arong the 1Kg mark.

Poppin King
09-08-2011, 03:45 PM
Hey Poppin King,

Looks like your grandad got you onto some!!! Great stuff. Ok give us the low down.

What was the bait, tide, time of day etc.

I am really happy for you. Keep at it mate!!
Well Funchy this bream was caught on the 11th of June,2011, bewteen 8:00-10:00am, tide had just started running out, Location: Clarence river(NSW) around the Maclean area (drifting next to a red bouy to be more precise), Rig: cheap reel (unknown brand) and a 7ft shimano rod (which is not really ment for the boat), with approximately 10lb mainline and 12lb mono leader, just a simple sinker, swivel and about a metre of leader, which lead to a jarvis walker size 6 (I think) baitkeeper hook, BAit: just a simple prawn from the fishermans co-op. It was freezing that day, strong winds and about 6 degrees and i quote my grandad here, "it was so cold it could freeze the balls of a brass monkey,".:P
I think i remembered everything.
PK;D

Dignity
09-08-2011, 07:17 PM
PK sounds like you had a ball and welcome to the forum, I hope you get many more and as much enjoyment as this one gave you. Biggest I got was 40cm and sadly no photo, I still chase them occasionally although usually go for bigger game these days. You will see deformities in a few bream, not a regular occurrence where I fish but still around.

Floating Rib
09-08-2011, 08:25 PM
Just for interest sake there is a mounted Bream in the Laurieton fishing club, went something like 4.6kg ( hard to believe but true ), biggest ive seen live about 1.7kg.

Poppin King
10-08-2011, 07:34 AM
Just for interest sake there is a mounted Bream in the Laurieton fishing club, went something like 4.6kg ( hard to believe but true ), biggest ive seen live about 1.7kg.
4.6kg that must have been a stonker Bream??? I find that really hard to believe considering the biggest ive seen is only like 1.5kg, i would love to see a photo of this goliath, if someone could get a photo of this fish it would be greatly appreciated.
PK;D

Dignity
10-08-2011, 06:50 PM
I did hear of one mounted in a club somewhere that was in excess of 8 pounds, or around 4 kgs but that was in a fishing magazine back in the days when Vic McCrystal was writing, all the old folks will recall him. Now I think I have just realised how old I am :( but hey I am still fishing and enjoying it :)

Floating Rib
11-08-2011, 05:23 PM
A Little more info on the Laurieton giant Bream, apparently the cast is in the RSL there, did a search but couldnt come up with a photo online, found a few entries mentioning it though as below. Have friends there who may chase a photo for me.

Australian Anglers Assoc National Record

Bream, Yellowfin
4.445 kg
Horace Sedgley
Camden Haven River NSW
7/7/1984

Also on a sydney forum a pro-fisherman claimed the biggest they had netted was 6kg and aged by fisheries at 22yrs.

vertico
11-08-2011, 05:30 PM
46cm and 2.1kg
biggest pb and probably will never break it

Vitamin Sea
11-08-2011, 06:18 PM
46cm and 2.1kg
biggest pb and probably will never break it

That's a horse Sean, big bream

where abouts?

Bill

TheSaint
11-08-2011, 06:53 PM
My biggest bream is 35cm to the fork which i got in Abt comp & it went 1kg..

Freeeedom
12-08-2011, 05:37 AM
There has been a thread like this before. If you do a search you may be able to find it but if it's an old one the photos may be gone.
My biggest bream (and second biggest) were caught from the Hornibrook Highway on live herring in the mid 80's from memory. No weight or measurement and only a grainy photograph, but I've caught plenty of 40cm bream and this one made them look small. If you take the smaller bream in the picture as being just legal fish (I think they were easily bigger than the 23cm legal length at that time) then the two larger fish are at least 46cm and probably a bit more.
Cheers Freeeedom

Freeeedom
12-08-2011, 05:57 AM
The biggest bream I can recall appearing in this forum in recent years was caught by member Ryansrods at Yamba while fishing for jew. Here's the link

http://ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?128504-big-bream-pic

Cheers Freeeedom

Poppin King
12-08-2011, 07:40 AM
Thanks for the link Freeeedom, that is a massive bream but im surprised that it did not weigh a bit more and that it was not the longest bream either, it looks look a monster in the picture but the dimensions look a bit out of proportion. Let me know what you think.
PK;D

robersl
12-08-2011, 08:37 PM
I got a 43cm one at margate a few weeks back have a photo on my phone but have not downloaded it to the comp as yet

thelump
13-08-2011, 08:56 AM
Here ya go. Found the picture. Had another one as well but it was 2 x bundy cans and 1 x tooheys. From memory I think it went 42 so this one at 43 just pipped it. It was caught in Lake Macquarie on a whole Garfish while spinning for flathead. Use to get quite a few stonka bream using this method.

robfin
14-08-2011, 05:39 AM
I caught this one off Scarborough 2 weeks ago on half a whiting. It went just under 1.4 kgs. Thought it was a squire when it came up. Easily my PB.

14-08-2011, 06:27 AM
Reg Hungerfords Anglers Omnibus from the "70's has a photo of a 8lb 5oz bream in it no length given.
My biggest bream caught was not weighed or measured but when placed in a Coleman 45 litre esky the tail was about 2 inches from the lid at the far end. Caught on 4lb mono on a Merlin Attack lure.

wayno60
14-08-2011, 11:09 AM
I just looked up the Aust Record and for
Black Bream....3.450kg caught by J Netting, Troubridge Point, SA, 4-9-1969.
Yellowfin Bream....4.445kg caught by S Horace, Camden Haven River, NSW, 7-7-84

Poppin King
14-08-2011, 07:02 PM
Thanks for the input guys
PK;D

wayno60
15-08-2011, 03:14 AM
So PK, Now you know what sort of size they can grow to it will give you something to aim for....good luck.

Dignity
15-08-2011, 08:20 AM
Reg Hungerfords Anglers Omnibus from the "70's has a photo of a 8lb 5oz bream in it no length given.
My biggest bream caught was not weighed or measured but when placed in a Coleman 45 litre esky the tail was about 2 inches from the lid at the far end. Caught on 4lb mono on a Merlin Attack lure.

Jack,
That's where I remeber seeing the big 8 lb +, now that you have reminded me I have loaned my Hungerfords Omnibus out and it hasn't been returned. I remember with all the mags around that this old book still is pretty relevant.

Gold_Coast_Chaser
15-08-2011, 05:36 PM
Hey, Best bream ive caught goes 40cm (Picture 1) and the second picture is a 37cm one caught off the jetty i live on. Both caught in Nerang River, Gold Coast

Poppin King
15-08-2011, 07:18 PM
Thanks for the input guys, keep them comin
PK;D

andybru
16-08-2011, 10:23 AM
Caught this in a lake in Hope Island (QLD). Cant remember length and weight unfortunately!

Cheers Andy

rexgrunt
17-08-2011, 07:39 PM
biggest ive seen was up near port mac,length was 52cm weight was around 2.4 kgs,you could fit a golf ball in its gob easy.

seen a few big bastards pulled up from swansea bridge in newcastle,one was that tall it wouldnt fit into a 20lt bucket.