View Full Version : Broadwater Black bream

timor 2
07-08-2011, 01:55 PM
Hi Guys thought i would put a quick report up, went and pump some yabbies behind wave break and fished the Rock Walls of Wave Break and the Seaway, managed a feed of Black bream with a few bream as well. Fished from 6am until 10:45.

Cheers Sean

07-08-2011, 05:19 PM
Nice bag. Do you catch the black bream on yabbies too? Are they also called luderick or am I just confused by their looks? Hence I thought luderick bite on weed.

Freeeedom
07-08-2011, 09:12 PM
Luderick tend to bite on yabbies (and sometimes prawns) around their peak breeding season during July-August in SE Qld. You can target them (if you want to) at this time of year in the known localities using yabby heads on small hooks. This is especially effective at night when the normal methods of weed baits under light floats can't be used.
Cheers Freeeedom

sleepygreg
07-08-2011, 11:25 PM
Yep - Luderick (black bream, niggers, darkies, bronzies, blackfish - all common names for the same fish - Girella Tricuspidata) will definitely bite on yabbies and prawns - usually after dark. Some of my biggest Luderick have fallen for live yabbies (pink nippers) fished 'kelly pole' style just after dark on the northern NSW river breakwalls. No weight, no trace or leader....just straight through to the hook on 6kg mono, using a 12' rod. I use No1 92247 mustad hooks for this exercise. Then use the same rod......7144MT....to send any small (but legal) niggers out into the run with a 6/O pinned in their back for Jewies.

MudRiverDan
07-08-2011, 11:30 PM
I found Ludderick to be pretty tasty.

I have caught a couple on yabbies/pink nippers years ago when fishing for bream and whiting with pink nippers for bait.

Nice catch.

sleepygreg
07-08-2011, 11:35 PM
PS...dont tell anyone that nigger gut trumps mullet gut and chook gut by a factor of 10 for big bream during winter.

sleepygreg
07-08-2011, 11:37 PM
Sean....that would be a tasty bag of fish that would give me so many browny points with the family. Well done.

Funchy
07-08-2011, 11:58 PM
...... fished 'kelly pole' style just after dark on the northern NSW river breakwalls. No weight, no trace or leader....just straight through to the hook on 6kg mono, using a 12' rod. I use No1 92247 mustad hooks for this exercise. .

Gday Greg, can you explain "kelly pole" style for the uninitiated please mate? (I am not real bright but I can lift heavy things) : P