View Full Version : SP's Landbased in Brisbane River
Poppin King
03-08-2011, 06:39 PM
Hi all, I was wondering if there is any good spots on the brissie river that i could try some sp's landbased, for species such as flatties and maybe some bream. Also how far towards the mouth do you have to go and what tides, times, tackle etc. I'm fairly new to sp fishing but i do have a variety of sp's.
All help will be greatly appreciated
PK;D
Feral
03-08-2011, 06:42 PM
The banks at Boggy creek you'll do alright for flatties.
Bream along the wall near the sewage plant down a little further.
MudRiverDan
03-08-2011, 06:46 PM
You can try around Newstead Park and Breakfast creek also.
I use Gulp minows in lime tiger and nuke chook/atomic prongs for flathead and Gulp sandworms for bream and flathead.
Poppin King
03-08-2011, 08:16 PM
Thanks Feral and MudRiverDan, ill have to give em a go in the next few weeks. Any suggestions for spots from other people will be greatly appreciated.
PK;D
MudRiverDan
04-08-2011, 01:21 PM
Thanks Feral and MudRiverDan, ill have to give em a go in the next few weeks. Any suggestions for spots from other people will be greatly appreciated.
PK;D
Mate you really have to be creative fishing the Brisbane river land based with SP's.
Lot of spots you have to look at with google maps, find structure, jetty's wharfs, rock walls, snags, bridge pylons, mangroves...
Then you have to pick your tide and time, around high then outgoing is a good start, morning or dusk/night with lights.
Flicking a lightly weighted worm around structure can produce bream cod and flathead.
Slightly bigger setups can produce flathead,cod, jew,grunter, threadfin.
There are fish in the river all the way to colleges crossing and a lot of little nooks and crannies to sneak into on dusk and flick a lure
around high.
I only fish a few spots land based in the Brissie now because you really have to put the commando legs in to find those sneaky little spots
at the right time, but it can be half the fun.
Definitely try a Berkley sandworm in camo or bloodworm on a 1/20 or 1/12 jighead,10lb leader, flicked lightly around structure in morning or afternoon, try to find places that are quiet from ferry traffic and boats.
In saying that Newstead park has not produced much for me on plastics, have seen others land some good fish there (go east or west from there)..
but it does have the chance of some good fish.........( if they are around).
snapazapa
04-08-2011, 04:30 PM
Mate you really have to be creative fishing the Brisbane river land based with SP's.
Lot of spots you have to look at with google maps, find structure, jetty's wharfs, rock walls, snags, bridge pylons, mangroves...
Then you have to pick your tide and time, around high then outgoing is a good start, morning or dusk/night with lights.
Flicking a lightly weighted worm around structure can produce bream cod and flathead.
Slightly bigger setups can produce flathead,cod, jew,grunter, threadfin.
There are fish in the river all the way to colleges crossing and a lot of little nooks and crannies to sneak into on dusk and flick a lure
around high.
I only fish a few spots land based in the Brissie now because you really have to put the commando legs in to find those sneaky little spots
at the right time, but it can be half the fun.
Definitely try a Berkley sandworm in camo or bloodworm on a 1/20 or 1/12 jighead,10lb leader, flicked lightly around structure in morning or afternoon, try to find places that are quiet from ferry traffic and boats.
In saying that Newstead park has not produced much for me on plastics, have seen others land some good fish there (go east or west from there)..
but it does have the chance of some good fish.........( if they are around).
What sort of line weight would you be using for this type of fishin Mudriverdan,size reel?
MudRiverDan
04-08-2011, 04:49 PM
What sort of line weight would you be using for this type of fishin Mudriverdan,size reel?
Just a 2500 size reel, 8lb braid and a 10lb leader.
I have been busted off on 6lb leader many times, so I guess its up to you how light you wish to go.
Just a basic spin/plastic setup.
If you were sitting throwing out livies for a Jew or Threadfin you would use 30lb leader.
snapazapa
04-08-2011, 05:09 PM
Cheers for that MudRiverDan,Im heading over there at xmas to see the family,wondering what sort of set up to take,I have a little sahara 1000 I use for squiding but can change the line accordingly,got to get me a travel rod though.
MudRiverDan
04-08-2011, 10:47 PM
yep you can go heavier but then you reducing your chances of catching fish that react to light presentations.
If in a boat you would could go heavier, like they do around the river mouth, throwing transams and TN60's on 30lb leader and 6-10kg rods.
But for flicking land based around structure definitely go standard med/light spin setup.
Poppin King
05-08-2011, 09:13 PM
Thanks Mudriverdan, i think my friend fishes at Newstead park and catches bream and moses perch on prawns, mullet strips and even cut up sausages apparently. For bream/flathead i usually use 4lb fireline and 10lb flurocarbon leader, do you think this is adequate or should i change to a slightly heavier mainline, also i use and el cheapo jarvis walker reel for $30 and a 7ft rod do you think this setup is alright. Also i think I have some of those Gulp Sandworms but i think they are in the sandy colour, do you think they would work as well.
All help will be greatly appreciated
PK;D
MudRiverDan
06-08-2011, 06:54 PM
4lb fireline can handle flatties and bream.
up the leader if you need it.
I am talking about fishing with med/light spin gear with SP's.
Bait is a different story.
For bait you use 8lb mainline minimum and 30lb leader.
I don't use the sandworm naturals but if you got em try em out, like I said nothing is really for sure in the Brisbane river, you have to play around a bit.
Mate have a go and if all else fails throw out some unweighted prawns and catch some bream.
chaspion01
07-08-2011, 02:41 PM
If you head out to Fishermans Island/Brisbane port there is a Caltex/truck stop on the left, turn left at the servo and then a right and follow the road 500m to its end at the rivers edge, this spot is pretty decent for sp's, hb's and baits alike. Flick the hb's and sp's on the incoming tide along the rock wall to the left especially in amongst the mangroves, good flatties there! Gives you the choice of chucking a big bait out into the current for something big whilst your inticing a flathead or 2.
Poppin King
10-08-2011, 03:55 PM
Thanks Chaspion01 for your input it was greatly appreciated
PK;D