View Full Version : Sandy Straits Gold

Apollo
01-08-2011, 09:02 PM
After some time away from the family, I was keen to get out with the kids, so we headed out on the straits so they could have a fish. Given the Rainbow Beach fishing comp had just finished, the placed had been under a fair amount of pressure in the week prior so I expected things to be tough. I normally troll a bit with the kids as we usually get amoungst a few and they are always doing something as they take turns driving and landing fish.

We got there at 11 to target the ride tide and headed over to an area that usually produced pretty good. As the tailor were our target, I tied on some berkely frenzys as they work well for tailor and are cheap as chips if we lose a few. The tailor did their bit with heaps of just undersized choppers keeping the girls going flatout landing them. All in the 32-34cm mark and so they all went back. Had a freezer full after the swains so weren't concerned.

As the girls were having a popper and some bikkies for a snack, the light rod screamed off and the spool was getting a bit lean looking. This ain't no tailor!http://www.############.com.au/forum/images/smilies/vtc/54_002.gif I picked it up and cranked up the drag a bit as I only had 4lb line on with a 10lb leader and got the oldest (6yrs) to turn the little cruisecraft and chase as I tried to regain some line. Once the spool had some leeway on it again, I got into it and the girls organised things like positioning the boat and getting a net, etc. After a fairly lengthy fight, a flash of colour and whoohoooo a golden trevally. Hadn't caught one before, so backed the drag a bit as it was still taking regular runs and the trebles that come standard on the frenzies are not renoun for their strength. Eventually got it to the net and the 4yr old did the honours with a good net job. So team effort and a 79.5cm goldy resulted. Pretty stoked and proud of the girls for their effort. Unfortunately the fish got pinned in the gills and was bleeding badly (see the casting deck in the photo), so I couldn't return it. The treble had two out of three hooks straightened. Few happy snaps and as we hadn't planned on taking anything home, we didn't have any ice, so we called it a day and the 6yr old drove us back to the ramp at WOT. Quick trip home and called Mark and his missus to come over for a feed. Fish filleted, seasoned and on the BBQ for a top feed with family and a mate, washed down with a few ales.

How good is being alive!

Si
01-08-2011, 09:36 PM
nice. kids would have had a ball. nice trev!

nathank
02-08-2011, 12:14 PM
mate that is awsome!!!! i have been up to inskip chasing them land based a few times and have only managed a few good runs all with pulled hooks.. very cool catch

Damned67
02-08-2011, 01:29 PM
Awesome work there Steve!

02-08-2011, 03:42 PM
top stuff Steve..so when are we going fishing ?

Apollo
02-08-2011, 06:46 PM
top stuff Steve..so when are we going fishing ?

Anytime Greg. Reckon it would be a good trip and have the side benefit of solving all the world's problems!

02-08-2011, 06:53 PM
Great stuff Steve. Getting a few with the girls is a moment to remember. It doesn't get much better than that

Scott Mitchell
02-08-2011, 07:14 PM
Qualty family time Steve - great stuff 8-)

Regards Scotto

Apollo
03-08-2011, 06:59 AM
Not wrong with spending time with the family - just love it. They didn't go to school on Monday talking about what their new highest score on the computer was!

Funchy
03-08-2011, 01:01 PM
well done Apollo

You truly are a lucky man. seems like your day had everything going for it... family, catchin, bbq, mates and ales. I'm with Pinhead, when we goin fishin????? hahahaahhah

Funchy

Hornblower
03-08-2011, 05:51 PM
Cool - 4yr old netting the fish and 6yr chasing with the boat!!! I know grown men who couldn't organise that sort of deal. You have a top crew there mate, and because of their size they don't eat all that much of the catch either and of course they don't drink your beer...LOL

They'll remember that day fishing with Dad for years to come, well done.

wesfish
03-08-2011, 05:58 PM
man you have some awesome deckies there!!! great report and congrats on the first!! solid goldy..

trymyluck
03-08-2011, 06:25 PM
Cool - 4yr old netting the fish and 6yr chasing with the boat!!! I know grown men who couldn't organise that sort of deal. You have a top crew there mate, and because of their size they don't eat all that much of the catch either and of course they don't drink your beer...LOL

They'll remember that day fishing with Dad for years to come, well done.

Mmmmmmmmm I think the 4yr old will disagree with you there.......;D