View Full Version : Lures for trolling the fresh
Shawn 66
31-07-2011, 10:00 AM
Righto you buggers , I need some info . After having been a bit of a goose lately and severely depleted my lure stock , the time has come to spend some coin to replenish . I need to know your preferences for lures I can use for trolling in the fresh . Target species are mainly Yella's and Cod . If it makes a difference the fishing is done in South Queensland .
Thanking You for any help supplied.
Shawn
Funchy
01-08-2011, 05:05 AM
Try these. I find them to be a great trolling lure. Let me know how ya go if you grab some : )
http://www.tacklewarehouse.com/Strike_King_Red_Eye_Shad/descpage-SKRES.html#multiview
Shawn 66
01-08-2011, 08:07 AM
Try these. I find them to be a great trolling lure. Let me know how ya go if you grab some : )
http://www.tacklewarehouse.com/Strike_King_Red_Eye_Shad/descpage-SKRES.html#multiview
Thanks for the info bud , will do.
Shawn
wamjam
01-08-2011, 09:37 AM
Shawn I would go for an 80mm or bigger with a wide action for the cod. I used to use mudeye timber lures but Jamie has gone awol..
I'm going to start making some timber lures myself, I will send you a couple to try when I get time to make them..
killitfillit
01-08-2011, 07:57 PM
Try trolling some jackall tn70's or bassman spinnerbaits,correct speed is the key.
Bear001
02-08-2011, 02:15 PM
Jackall tn70's, doozers
Secret Creek Spinnerbaits with chatterblade on front.
Bassman Spinnerbaits
Oargee Hardbodys- various sizes 60mm up
Jaz -Tenterfield Shrimp 85mm
Jaz Dee Bee -either size for yella's
Jaz - 65mm Blade
I troll all these lures. Cant help you with colour selection up that way.
Speed -not familiar with that area at all, but I troll against the norm here....being I troll FAST! Top 2 speeds on the minn kota, or happily troll with the 40etec, sometimes the noise/bubbles excites the fish, especially yellas. Cod of all sizes will happily take a lure trolled at flat biccie, just make sure you WORK YOUR LURE at all times (well...except when reaching for a refreshment) ::)
Same old story-make sure your in the stike zone...ie, bouncing along the bottom.
BUY A TACKLEBACK!.....think it saved my marriage....hubby was not impressed at replacement lure $$$ being spent......;):o;D;D
Bear001
02-08-2011, 02:20 PM
S I used to use mudeye timber lures but Jamie has gone awol..
chance encounter at a clients bull sale a few weeks ago, mad keen fisherman from Inverell who said Jamie has fallen in love and dissapeared...lol...?????
wamjam
02-08-2011, 03:54 PM
chance encounter at a clients bull sale a few weeks ago, mad keen fisherman from Inverell who said Jamie has fallen in love and dissapeared...lol...?????
Thats correct. I have a fair idea where he is. No contact though...
Barry Ehsman
02-08-2011, 04:46 PM
Thats correct. I have a fair idea where he is. No contact though...
Mate he has headed for the hill's somewhere around Kilcoy..Dunno what he is doin up there, he told me he's not making lure's
Baz
wamjam
02-08-2011, 06:01 PM
Gday there Baz. Long time no see, hows things ? Have you heard of any movement at the dam lately ?
Shawn 66
03-08-2011, 03:21 AM
Shawn I would go for an 80mm or bigger with a wide action for the cod. I used to use mudeye timber lures but Jamie has gone awol..
I'm going to start making some timber lures myself, I will send you a couple to try when I get time to make them..
G'Day Scott,
Thanks for info Bud . When you do start making the buggers , would be eager to purchase some of your merchandise.
Shawn
Shawn 66
03-08-2011, 03:22 AM
Try trolling some jackall tn70's or bassman spinnerbaits,correct speed is the key.
Thanks for the reply mate , will try them.
Shawn 66
03-08-2011, 03:26 AM
Jackall tn70's, doozers
Secret Creek Spinnerbaits with chatterblade on front.
Bassman Spinnerbaits
Oargee Hardbodys- various sizes 60mm up
Jaz -Tenterfield Shrimp 85mm
Jaz Dee Bee -either size for yella's
Jaz - 65mm Blade
I troll all these lures. Cant help you with colour selection up that way.
Speed -not familiar with that area at all, but I troll against the norm here....being I troll FAST! Top 2 speeds on the minn kota, or happily troll with the 40etec, sometimes the noise/bubbles excites the fish, especially yellas. Cod of all sizes will happily take a lure trolled at flat biccie, just make sure you WORK YOUR LURE at all times (well...except when reaching for a refreshment) ::)
Same old story-make sure your in the stike zone...ie, bouncing along the bottom.
BUY A TACKLEBACK!.....think it saved my marriage....hubby was not impressed at replacement lure $$$ being spent......;):o;D;D
Thanks for the reply Bear .
Will have to invest in a Tackleback . Luckily not worried about saving a marriage , but the price does start adding up after awhile. It was interesting to note that you troll "FAST" , roughly what sort of speed are we talking ?
Again thanks for info,
Shawn
wamjam
03-08-2011, 08:06 AM
My 25hp does 2.6 ks at idle (thats what the GPS says) just right for trolling cod. If you are trolling deep water just speed up and let more line out, if they want it they will catch it. In the rivers if casting is not working, try trolling up the middle of the river, where you normally wouldn't bother with your lure close to the boat (20ft or just behind the ripples from the boat). Quite often if they aren't striking the lure at the snags around the bank, they have moved to deep water, usually later in the morning.
Barry Ehsman
03-08-2011, 04:00 PM
Gday there Baz. Long time no see, hows things ? Have you heard of any movement at the dam lately ?
G'day mate, Mate we on a 12 week trip up & down the QLD coast will be home on 18th this month so i don't know what's happening down home.Haven't put any report's up on here, been havin trouble staying logged on to this site,Haven't had much to report anyhow...
Baz
Bear001
09-08-2011, 12:37 PM
about 3.8 klm/hr
2manylures
12-08-2011, 09:45 PM
Hard question to answer without knowing how keen you are then it's how long's a piece of string and how big's the budget?
Spinnerbaits, Take your pick but get strongly built lures.
Vibes/Rattle traps, again there's a multitude. I mainly use Halco, Rapala, Cordell, Lewis, Yo Zuri and a few others in the 6cm - 10 cm range
Surface lures, where to start except with Arbogast Jitterbugs which are basically the foundation of surface crawlers. 5/8oz black and 3/8oz jointed black are a good start.Do you want walkers, fizzers and poppers? These are a market on there own
Diving lures, How deep are you fishing? There's a myriad of shallow to deep lures made by just about as many makers including some top notch yank lures. You could look at Oargee, Custom Crafted, AC, JD, JJ Stumpjumpers [old stahlwarts] Marz, Norman, Arbogast, Mann's, Floppies [if you can afford them], Luhr Jensen make some ripper for Ozzie natives, Mudeye [Fletty migrated to QLD], Bazel lures from tenterfield are another great lure and the list is endless.
Personally I'd work out what depth I'd be fishing and purchase lures to accommodate.
Most lures will need at least a hook upgrade, possibly rings.
I'm a sucker for a good jointed lure, both diving and surface. These things when made properly have a dynamite realistic action that a static lure just can't come close too. I'm actually very surprised the Barra boys don't talk more about Rapala balsa floating J-9, J-11 and J-13's which are all exceptional lures, cod don't mind them either
Righto you buggers , I need some info . After having been a bit of a goose lately and severely depleted my lure stock , the time has come to spend some coin to replenish . I need to know your preferences for lures I can use for trolling in the fresh . Target species are mainly Yella's and Cod . If it makes a difference the fishing is done in South Queensland .
Thanking You for any help supplied.
Shawn
learn how to cast :P;):);D
Learn how to fish !
Trolling covers a lot of water - but more often than not , you will not cover the best areas to catch fish :(
Fish that set themselves in structure are just not the best targets for trolling
2manylures
12-08-2011, 10:45 PM
learn how to cast :P;):);D
Learn how to fish !
Trolling covers a lot of water - but more often than not , you will not cover the best areas to catch fish :(
Fish that set themselves in structure are just not the best targets for trolling
Depends on how much you value your lures. If you're a tight a#se :o take up 8 ball:D, if you don't mind losing them it's a different story. ::)
I'm prepared to lose every lure I put in the water;D8-)
Chris, some of us are just too old and worn out to be casting all day.:( not 8-) anymore
Depends on how much you value your lures. If you're a tight a#se :o take up 8 ball:D, if you don't mind losing them it's a different story. ::)
Chris, some of us are just too old and worn out to be casting all day.:( not 8-) anymore
I should qualify that ....... you may not get your lure close enough to the structure to entice a strike. The good thing about casting is that you can choose a lure that will suit the depth , structure & level of buoyancy..... plus how you fish it (action & cadence)
yes Dave ...... trolling may be the only option for some - so point taken .
PaulMark
13-08-2011, 10:53 AM
I'm sure you'd be the first to recommend the Viper as a trolling lure tho Chris:P;D
Paulo8-)
I'm sure you'd be the first to recommend the Viper as a trolling lure tho Chris:P;D
Paulo8-)
That is cruel ! - troll a viper behind an ETEC with a 2011 Shimano Chronarch , shimano rod and super PE braid !
Barry Ehsman
13-08-2011, 03:24 PM
That is cruel ! - troll a viper behind an ETEC with a 2011 Shimano Chronarch , shimano rod and super PE braid !
Prob still catch a fish though;D;D
Baz
Prob still catch a fish though;D;D
Baz
on a viper ?
Just for those that do not know the story ....... I bought 6 vipers for my first impoundment barra trip (6 years ago) -
To this day I have never caught a barra ( or any fish) on a viper ......... yet every man and their dog has !
Barry Ehsman
13-08-2011, 06:05 PM
on a viper ?
Mate i found a Gold viper snagged at Awoonga, put new trebles & ring's on it & caught a Barra on it within 1 hour...;D;D (Trolling)
Cheer's Baz
darylive
22-08-2011, 05:57 PM
Just for those that do not know the story ....... I bought 6 vipers for my first impoundment barra trip (6 years ago) -
To this day I have never caught a barra ( or any fish) on a viper ......... yet every man and their dog has !
Well Chris you should get out more, maybe once you have had some practice you will master them.
(been fishin long?) :P
aussiebasser
23-08-2011, 08:45 AM
You asked for Trolling Lures for Yella's and Cod. You will need Boomerangs, Blitz Bagas, Medium Stump Jumpers and some Oar Gee Ploughs. There are a miriad of lures to suit what you want to do. Try to get some varying depth in your range, from about 2 metres to 8 metres. Lures with a wide action are best, which normally means a big bib and a short fat body. Obvioulsy Vipers are not designed for your target species. Troll drop offs and structure. Use braid so you can feel and drive your lure through snags. Don't worry about learning how to fish, I'm sure you know what you're doing.
darylive
23-08-2011, 10:13 PM
http://stores.jdlurestas.com/-strse-120mm-EDDY-CODBUSTERS/Categories.bok
Aussie classics made for the job. ;)
Well Chris you should get out more, maybe once you have had some practice you will master them.
(been fishin long?) :P
I think I've got it ........ you have to take them out of the blister pack ::)
Mate i found a Gold viper snagged at Awoonga, put new trebles & ring's on it & caught a Barra on it within 1 hour...;D;D (Trolling)
Cheer's Baz
yeh yeh ...... & you really expect me to believe that Baz :-? - show me on those Cod when I get out there .
nipsta
05-09-2011, 06:26 PM
I agree on the not been able to cast all day for sure thats me to a tee i belive you do what feels right and if it works and youhave sucess why worry about the you cant fish cause ya troll theoy seems to work up north just my thoughts anyway
nipsta
05-09-2011, 06:35 PM
Just the good old ridgebacks work ok i have done good on them for yellas and bass . I also like the luhr jensens 20 plus great bass and yella lure as well ;D;D;D
Oh yes and trolled they are deadly how dare i troll ooooooooooohhhhhhhhh
sorry naggsy had to have the stir
Shawn 66
09-09-2011, 08:33 AM
Many thanks to all that have relpied with information.
Shawn