View Full Version : Which line for 2004 spool?
004dam
10-07-2011, 03:24 PM
My RCS spool for my luvias will be here any day now. I am wondering what I should spool it with. I am currently using 4lb Basshard on one spool and 5lb power pro on the other. I did a few test and using a 1/16th jig head the basshard casts around 3m further then the 5lb power pro. But the knot strength and line strength is no way near the power pro honestly I dont trust it I feel as though it breaks in random places. On the other hand though I sometimes find the 5lb to thick for casting light plastics or hard bodies. Specially when casting in any sort of wind the basshard cuts straight through it.
I am wondering what anyone would recommend that's thin, Strong, Has good knot strength and of course casts well. Going on a 2004 spool so it needs to be pretty thin to get a decent amount on line on there. Capacity - PE 0.6 100m - Fluro Carbon 3lb - 140m, 4lb - 100m
Was thinking of going the new fireline exceed 6.6lb is 0.09mm, Power pro in 3lb ( cant find any diameter on it or a true breaking strain ) Or maybe a sunline super PE ?. What else is out there that should suit my needs?
blackjew
10-07-2011, 06:15 PM
Gday mate check out this link heaps of gret info on braids and fluro,might be of help for you.
http://www.#################.com/index.htm (http://www.pcwi.com.au/fishing/index.htm)
004dam
10-07-2011, 06:37 PM
Thanks mate, I refer to that site a fair bit. I think I'll be giving
Sunline super pe 6lb a whirl.
Gday mate check out this link heaps of gret info on braids and fluro,might be of help for you.
http://www.#################.com/index.htm (http://www.pcwi.com.au/fishing/index.htm)
dan204
10-07-2011, 06:50 PM
Thanks mate, I refer to that site a fair bit. I think I'll be giving
Sunline super pe 6lb a whirl.
Mate you won't go wrong with Sunline Super PE.
A lot of guys around dont like it because of one incidence but i have run it on 4 reels(3 x 6lb and 1 x 30lb) and have had a great run.
Provided you use the right knot it ties very well and won't wind knot or tangle around your guides.
004dam
11-07-2011, 07:15 AM
Mate you won't go wrong with Sunline Super PE.
A lot of guys around dont like it because of one incidence but i have run it on 4 reels(3 x 6lb and 1 x 30lb) and have had a great run.
Provided you use the right knot it ties very well and won't wind knot or tangle around your guides.
I think ill be using the slim beauty. I mainly use 6lb but sometimes use 10lb.
blackjew
11-07-2011, 08:35 AM
No probs dam ,sounds like a dam nice line the pe
How the bloody hell do you see the knot to tye a slim beuty,in 6lb i have enough trouble seeing lb10,all those days of squinting when i was a kid are now catching up.
Cheers Rob
004dam
11-07-2011, 01:16 PM
No probs dam ,sounds like a dam nice line the pe
How the bloody hell do you see the knot to tye a slim beuty,in 6lb i have enough trouble seeing lb10,all those days of squinting when i was a kid are now catching up.
Cheers Rob
It's easy with a thin braid. Trying to do 6lb with fireline or power pro is way to hard. When I tie on a 10lb leader it's a breeze! I don't even bother trying
A slimbeauty on 4lb ;p