View Full Version : Pex spectra braid

blackjew
06-07-2011, 09:52 AM
PEX SPECTRA BRAID Gday has anyone used this braid,just curious .

Cheers Rob

robvee
06-07-2011, 10:04 AM
YES - I have the yellow 20lb on my spinning rods.
500mtrs of braid for $29 off EBay - BARGAIN :-)
I don't have experience with the expensive braids, so don't know what to compare it with .... but I am happy with its performance for me - have caught tailor, trevally and dart on it .... nothing of major size though.

blackjew
06-07-2011, 11:13 AM
Beuty mate thanks for that robvee ,yer cheap is good if it works,and free frieght even better,i bought some rovex,Viros braid lb6 ana everytime i went to tye a uni knot,just to pull it up snug,pop it would brek,i contacted the shop they said just bundle it up and send it back we will give you a full refund.
Cheers Rob

burleygu
11-07-2011, 05:21 PM
DONT DO IT DONNNNNNNNNNNNTTTT DO IT!!!!!

thats just my advice i always love laughing at my neighbour when there are tuna busting up beside the boat and his '' Ebay '' bargain braid is knotted up on the reel or mid way through his runners. im pretty sure it fades quickly aswell. and is deffinately alot thicker then better known braids.

simple fact is you get what you pay for ' shrugs '

charlie09
11-07-2011, 05:50 PM
DONT DO IT DONNNNNNNNNNNNTTTT DO IT!!!!!

thats just my advice i always love laughing at my neighbour when there are tuna busting up beside the boat and his '' Ebay '' bargain braid is knotted up on the reel or mid way through his runners. im pretty sure it fades quickly aswell. and is deffinately alot thicker then better known braids.

simple fact is you get what you pay for ' shrugs '

Hey burleygu which braid would you recommend?

damo83
11-07-2011, 07:09 PM
I haven't used the Pex braid but have used Pelagic and Fincrew...
The Pelagic is fairly ordinary but the Fincrew isn't bad for the price.

burleygu
11-07-2011, 08:31 PM
charlie dependant on what type of fishing you wish to do. there are many differnt types of braids to suit with manufacturers releasing better quality products every month. if im fishing deep water 50 to 100+ meters i run daiwa hyper pe simply because of its thin diameter its durability and quality. were as if i was fishing 10 to 40 meters of water ill run mono. on lighter spin rods for throwing plastics lures etc i run sunline. no body can recomend the ' best braid ' as there are so many quality products out there and the same goes for bad products also. from experience and others experience with the cheap ' pex ' and ' pelagic ' braids off ebay. they do not compare in quality to the more expensive braids. but if you go fishing once every couple of months maybe that is all you need however if you enjoy fishing you do it often and you want a re-assuring product id go for something abit better. some of the cheaper brands like spiderwire code red and berkley braids are not much more expensive then alot on ebay and are far superior in my opinion. its only my 2 cents as everyones opinion differs. you get what you pay for.

charlie09
11-07-2011, 08:42 PM
Cheers burleygu thanks for your time. I was actually thinking about spiderwire.

Vince :)

blackjew
12-07-2011, 07:41 AM
Gday fellers thanks heaps ,i got my spool today,after i read the paulys site on braid reviews,heaps of great info on there,and i wish i found it before,as the review is not good for this rope like braid.Its going back today im going to get some of Paulys woodstock best braid .Have you tried this one,He has 125mtr spools for 25 bucks free postage. ,As you said burleygu,yer can just see you rolling on the deck pissing your self watching your mate.,thanks but it was a bit late lol.

Cheers Rob

burleygu
12-07-2011, 02:00 PM
all good rob. some of the main ideas behind braid is the gain of sensitivity to your finger tips so i like to have the smallest finest smoothest diameter available in my size range to make running braid worth while. otherwise ultimately if you are running the rope like braids with a bad weave pattern its really just pointless.

blackjew
13-07-2011, 10:00 AM
Yep Dead right the POX is going back today lol

Cheers Rob

bondy99
13-07-2011, 11:53 AM
Best braid I've had to date is Platypus brand, expensive it is but 1001b breaking strain and 500 yards I aint complaining....I have the thing for over 4 years, still good, uni knots no problem. Managed to catch tiger shark and 2 large marlin with it, apart from other species of fish...and 20kg Cuttle fish.

I also purchased PEX braid from ebay, had no problems with it. it too is 100lb but way less cost. Managed to bring a 15lb Salmon up onto the SPJ (Sand Pumping Jetty) a 30 foot plus drop few weeks ago, did not break.

Thats my experience, Cheers, Peter

blackjew
13-07-2011, 05:35 PM
Thanks for your input Peter ,hmm sounds good for the big stuff then,bloody hell a 20kg cuttly,can remember catching 10kg ones on hundred pound mono when i was a kid.

Cheers Rob

bondy99
15-07-2011, 05:46 AM
Blackjew (Rob),

No worries, I can only state the experience I've had with it, Yeah the platypus brand is good for the big stuff (not cheap though), yeah 20kg cuttle was awesome, made good calamari, mongrel to clean though.

Took a good 30 minutes to ink itself out.

I don't know if there is any truth to what I'm about to say, based upon a bloke who had two line types tested..platypus braid and spiderwire. Don't know what brand of spiderwire..both were of the same breaking strain...they were both tested on a machine and spiderwire broke before platypus braid...hmmmm. Just goes to show hey!!

I can give you a pm of the name and mobile number of the bloke to confirm if you require...

Happy fishing,

Cheers, Peter

vertico
15-07-2011, 06:14 AM
check out varivas if you have enough coin, it is the BEST japanese braid you can get, also one of the thinnest if not the thinnest.

bondy99
15-07-2011, 07:27 AM
Hey Vertico,
I wonder if the Japanese developed this braid by way of experimental fishing like most things they have done experimental?

bondy

blackjew
15-07-2011, 08:55 AM
Thanks vertigo ,yer mate coin is a problem but i will keep it in mind thanks,i just ordered some of Paulys woodstock best braid 25 bucks a spool with no freght ,so ill give it a go.

Cheers Everyone for your input.

16-07-2011, 12:32 PM
A bit off topic I know, but what's the difference between dyneema braid and spectra braid?

Is it just marketing blah blah? Each type is supposed to be better than the other if you believe the hype.

Some brands seem to be very thin for the b/s compared to others, and when you look at the range of braid out there in the market place it's a bit confusing.

But anyway, does anybody have a preference for dyneema over spectra or vice versa?

blackjew
17-07-2011, 08:23 AM
Gday theoldlegend i found this on google,hope this helps with your question,Also have a look at this site ,this man Pauly has spent alot of his own money to get various braids tested overseas,ITS A MUST READ I RECON.

Cheers Rob www.#################.com/4linereview.htm (http://www.#################.com/4linereview.htm)
The Best Braid Fishing Line: Dyneema, or Spectra?

By Lenny Rudow
http://www.boats.com/boat-content/wp-content/themes/bc_static/images/authors/boatermouth-bub-sml.png (http://www.boatermouth.com/)
http://02e1dde.netsolhost.com/blog1/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/line-002-300x250.jpgBraid fishing line, either Spectra or Dyneema, is significantly thinner then monofilament.

Braid fishing line made from Spectra and Dyneema has changed modern fishing as we know it, but which is best? That’s a question that I researched heavily for (insert shameless plug here!) my latest how-to fishing book, Rudow’s Guide to Modern Jigging (available at www.getgup.com (http://www.getgup.com/)).
Braid is an awesome invention for us anglers, because its reduced diameter per pound-test makes it possible to increase spool capacities by 40 to 50 percent, while its no-stretch characteristics make it possible to fish deep yet maintain incredible sensitivity and hook-setting power. But there are dozens of brands out there… so how are we supposed to know which is best?
NEWS FLASH: all of those different brands are made from one of two materials, Spectra (made by Honeywell) or Dyneema (made by a company in the Netherlands called DSM), and these materials are so incredibly similar that they’re known in the industry as “sister” lines. Both are made from gel-spun polyethylene. Both offer the same characteristics, and both cost about the same. So, what’s the difference? There really isn’t any. Some lines claim to be rounder then others but that aside, it’s all more or less the same stuff. (Note – don’t confuse braid with “fused” lines, which are heated to fuse some of the fibers together. These lines are more abrasion-resistant then braids, but are also stiff, tough to cast, and tougher to knot.)
In other words, don’t knock yourself out stressing over whether to buy brand X over brand Y because you won’t be able to tell a heck of a lot of difference between them. Choose according to diameter, pound test, and color as you like, of course, but branding is far less important. You don’t believe it? Fine. Spool up two identical rigs with identical sizes and different brands, then fish them for a couple of seasons – which I’ve already done. Real-world experience backs up the research; the best braid is simply the one that’s filling your fishing reel’s spool.
http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/LennyRudowsFishBoatBlog/~4/b7RZy9vvieE