View Full Version : overnight at harries pays off again

Ozie_3
05-07-2011, 03:56 PM
after last weeks trip i was keen to do it again ;D
left vic point about 6.30am sunday, gave it half an hour to fish the banks there for some whiting and got zip.....arrived to a 30/40 boat carpark about 8.10 and headed straight to chain banks where in 30to40 minutes i had a dozen whiting and 4 pike in the live tank, headed into the traffic....

started some drifts round the north eastern pile of pipes,just 2 boats there damned67 ** drifting and another parked right on top of the anchor i left there a week ago ;D

** sorry i didnt say hi (didnt know it was you) or something about your sticker (every other time the bloke says...'oh that was on the boat when i bought it').... ill probably remember next time...::)

anyhow a few drifts later as im trying to adjust the bilge float (arse up head down) a reel screams, i manage to get upright and take control and after a reasonable fight i land a 62cm snapper on a glowgreen wriggler, unhook it and recast, then before i can take the fish out of the net another reel takes off with live pike bridled, whilst playing this fsh i manage 1 handed to pop the snap into the esky in time to net a 59cm jew (my pb queensland mullaway), take a snap of it on said esky before spearing it back (this was the only undersized fish for the whole trip).....
i tried the tiwi pearl for bit then headed back to drift over rock, pipes and shopping trollies then when in shallow (5m) at the end of a drift i tossed out some squid and immediately a 37cm snap commited suicide...some more drifting till 4pm but no more bites....:-[
68907 68908

anchored up about 60 meters off the pipes and settled infor the night...set ut 2 live tings and 1 live pike..hooked 1 stingray before laying down....had about 3 hous of broken sleep....got up to screeming reels on 6 occasions....the second one i called for a snap... was right and boated a 66cm model at 12.30am on live ting....the rest.... bloody rays and sharks (all swam away with jewlery ;D

got up at 5am with no runs for 3 hours or so and spent the next 30-40 minutes trying to untangle a heap of braid that played twister on the tide change >:( ended up cutting most of it off.......
about 7 am i went and did some more drifts and apart from an anchorline on a boat i passed i didnt manage any till noon when i landed a 35.5cm on the green wriggler and decided to let it grow a bit more...went in shallow on chain banks and boated 27 tings in half anhour (10 in the live tank and the rest on ice) headed down the rouse and rainbow passages to myora where i anchored in 15 meters just west of the light...2.30pm, fished 3 live tings out the back till the current stopped and boat started to swing round 5pm...up anchored and headed back to the point just on dark....
slept 11hours last night...lol

the reel i caught the first snap on is a diawa 2500 and after the workout it gave the drag its making the worst tinny sound on rewind....looks like time for service :-[ the inox i had on boat did not help at all :-[

another point, i didnt think rays took livies that much.... and when cleaning the fish the snap had the head and the body of the whiting inside (2 pieces), so im thinking maybe because i was bridling these livies that snaps (or sharks) may have bitten the body off (which pretty much kills the bait)then the head sinks to the bottom and a ray picks it up...any sugestions on this ???? maybe a stinger hook round the tail end or just go back to sticking the hook in the baits back???? on live and dead baits i use octopus circle hooks in 60 to 80....

as i now have plenty of snapper in freezer for us the next overnight looks like the pin for some xos mullaway.... couple to 3 weeks away...
:):):)

lethal098
05-07-2011, 05:23 PM
Awesome stuff, some quality snaps in that lot. well done

Cheers Lee

netmaker
05-07-2011, 05:59 PM
like your style chris. my kind of trip that. 34 and a half hours. you could get a job on a trawler mate. awesome effort and good fish for the pan. are you cooking meals out there?

well done
davo

Ozie_3
05-07-2011, 06:11 PM
cookig no...lol... 50litre esky packed with tucker and cold drinks....not too spicy but...me and a bucket found that out once :(
dot get crook on the bay (yet).... but takes a day or two for the house to stop moving after a couple of days out...hahahaha

netmaker
05-07-2011, 07:12 PM
just finished installing a little butane stove that drops down from the gunwales on stays. a bloke on this site gave me the idea. folds away out of sight. used to cook,coffee and soup on top of the esky. i anticipate i will be doing a bit more of it with this setup so close at hand. nothing quite like a hot soup or feed of snags in the chilly wee hours.
davo

Damned67
06-07-2011, 09:14 AM
Excellent report!
I've been hanging out to do an overnighter out at Harry's for a long time now, but what you did was wild.

Awesome work!

Ozie_3
08-07-2011, 07:18 PM
was up at fishhead today and got some excellent pointers from duncan and the guys....so i may do another overnight at harrys monday/tuesday if seabreeze is right.....made some room in the freezer tonight... baked snapper..mmmmmmmmm

had a flick down the coast yesterday in the seaway landbased .... no wind...no swell...no one fishing.... and nobloody fish...... only gave it an hour....getting old...lol

bondy99
13-07-2011, 11:46 AM
G'day Chris,

You done well at Harries, good effort. Was it cold out there during the night?

Cheers, Peter

Ozie_3
13-07-2011, 03:25 PM
a bit cool at night peter...nothing a tshirt, a flanel,a jumper,a beanie and a hoodie couldntfix but...

went out for an overnighter again yesterday but pulled the pin round 6pm, a bit bumpy and was having trouble holding anchor.....apart from no bites all day....except for bait....about 30 whiting all round 25cm in 15 minutes....

Damned67
13-07-2011, 03:36 PM
It was quiet today too. I hit Harry's for about 6 hours. Got dusted on my first drop, then about 4 hours later scored a 60cm Snap. That was it. (granted, a 60cm Snap isn't too bad, but one fish for 6 hours is!)

14-07-2011, 07:47 AM
nice fish ozie

bondy99
14-07-2011, 08:59 PM
Well guys, all I can say that's fishing hey.

There one day, gone the next and the flowchart is looked at again as to where next.

Hmmmmm

tenzing
16-07-2011, 09:28 AM
Good on you Chris
Thin you are definitely suffering for your art.
A great report tough. Thanks for sharing
Brendan