View Full Version : Gold Coast Salmon

youngy
29-06-2011, 01:42 PM
Hi guys, well in the last month or so Salmon have turned up in the Seaway in big numbers and not small fish either.

I have never seen a fish cause so much controversy, Tailor fishermen hate them with a passion, while sports fishermen love them.

These things eat almost anything, have no sharp teeth to bite you off and will pull drag like nothing else for long periods on light gear, i am becoming a bit of a fan actually.

Small slugs and soft plastics have been our lures of choice, but one ate a whole slimey the other day that a guy had left over from an offshore trip, like i said they are not fussy about what they eat.

Apparently they are not much chop to eat but are ok smoked or in fish patties, i have an Asian friend who took one to eat and after a fair bit of preparation said it was ok.

Hopefully they will be around for a while so we can all have a crack at them, cheers wayne
http://www.brisbanefishing.com.au/media/kunena/attachments/7760/IMG_2895.jpg (http://www.brisbanefishing.com.au/media/kunena/attachments/7760/IMG_2895.jpg)

BAR UP
29-06-2011, 05:42 PM
Hey Youngy, i dont know if this is a good thing. The locals down at Illuka hate them because the Salmon dominate at certain times of the year. I'm not aware of too many Salmon being around on the Goldcoast area to date. I havent heard of too many decent Taylor catches this year yet. I also hear that the Greenback comp wasn't that good either. Maybe got something to do with the Salmon moving north, Peter.

caster226
29-06-2011, 07:14 PM
comment removed

29-06-2011, 07:36 PM
Skin the fillets and salt them down they make good bream bait and tailor will take strips on gangies.
'Bout the only reason not to release 'em though!

youngy
30-06-2011, 08:54 AM
Bar Up, they have been in the Seaway since the end of May, starting to get a bit scattered now and spooky from all the boats chasing them.
They certainly aren't popular with the Tailor boys that's for sure.

Caster, no worries about the whiting mate, plenty of them and like you said they are just getting bigger and bigger, cheers wayne

30-06-2011, 05:31 PM
I reckon they would be perfect for my fish Jerky where I throw a fistful of smoking sawdust into an aluminium tray, then into the webber with fish, a few heat beads and leave for about 90 mins. Yum!

greenie.77
02-07-2011, 09:02 AM
Are they schooling up or just randoms? Are you casting at the walls? Thanks.

solwota
02-07-2011, 08:42 PM
Saw one caught on north Straddie last week

youngy
04-07-2011, 06:41 PM
Greenie, they are schooling up where ever they find the baitfish but usually within 500meters of the Seaway, been a few near the Grand boat ramp lately, cheers wayne

fishel
04-07-2011, 09:48 PM
I heard there were a school of salmon smashing the baitfish at the pontoon at Labrador, just below Harley Park, on Tuesday morning, last week.

bondy99
06-07-2011, 10:19 PM
Nothing wrong with Salmon if done right.

Feral
07-07-2011, 07:29 AM
30 years ago I fished the south coast as a kid for many years and never even heard of a salmon being caught, last few years I am hearing lots about them, are they new to the area or what?

07-07-2011, 07:42 AM
Feral, good point. Since they diminished the 'commercial harvest' of Aust. salmon they have bred and spread comparatively unhindered, IMHO to the continuing detriment of other species on which they prey.
Personally I'd like to see the commercial take of this particular species increased.

squidly
07-07-2011, 07:58 AM
These fish are great to eat.
Must be bled as soon as they are caught.
Gut and scale them, cut into steaks and fried in butter.
Beautiful.

youngy
07-07-2011, 08:10 AM
Hi Feral, as Nigeir said they have stopped netting them down south and each year their numbers seem to be increasing.

They love the cooler water temperatures and the cold snap we had at the end of May brought them into the Seaway in big numbers.

There is great debate down here about their eating qualities, with some people liking them and others despising them.

As a sportsfish i don't think you will find one better, 4lb braid, 10lb leader, a small soft plastic on a 1/8 jighead and hang on, if your lucky it will take 5 minutes before you even see your fish let alone get him in the boat.

Enjoy them while there here, nothing wrong with a bit of variety in what we catch, cheers wayne

bondy99
07-07-2011, 08:40 AM
Youngy et al,

Horses for courses and one man's junk is another man's treasure.

You will always have people that will like different species of fish as people have different taste buds...some people love hot chilly and burn their bum when egressed, others wont touch the stuff for the later reason.

side talk away from the salmon

Me, I've experimented with lots of fish eating wise and I stay away from Toads and Puffers whereas the Japanese will pay big dollars for a serving of puffer as they like to take chances (puffers processed by specially traihned chefs) and in some sections of Japan is part of their culture, great to know not all Japanese are the same otherwise their will be lots of deaths.

If the customer dies then the chef gets transfer to another place.

Salmon is good if bled when caught and placed in ice slurry with seawater, not freshwater, as stated earlier, cutlets, or pancakes and fillets,,,,lovely hmmm.

You can always send me the Salmon you dont want as long as its been bled and fresh i.e. same day.

aussipomm
07-07-2011, 01:29 PM
been catching plenty of the sand pumping jetty got to bleed them asap keep on ice slurry cook soon as you can great in a curry or filleted and crumbed and fried there is some blood through the flesh pretty much like tailor can have

Feral
07-07-2011, 04:00 PM
Thanks for the info fella's.

bondy99
08-07-2011, 08:21 AM
aussipomm,

When was you last on the SPJ. I have not been back since wide brim lamp hat and their filaments took my spot.

35kg jew
16-07-2011, 10:51 PM
Those damn salmon are in plague numbers from cabba to iluka damn things eat anything driving us up the wall . We have been catching anywhere from 10 - 20 in 3 hr sessions size wise from 3kg up to 5kg damn things are a nightmare. Although we have found a way to keep numbers down in the gutter kill a fair few of them and throw them in the gutter after u finish and the next night they dont come in that gutter in big numbers but the tailor do. No skill involved in catching salmon they eat anything,no teeth,swallow the slabs or cigarettes deep,carp of the ocean!!!!!!!!!!!!

Slider
17-07-2011, 09:51 AM
Rather interesting isn't it - dead salmon keeping the salmon away and drawing in tailor.

For those that haven't read the Soniferous Fish thread, or for those that have but haven't worked it out yet - the chemical alarm cue of the damaged salmon skin is what keeps the salmon away. And because the salmon aren't netted and the tailor don't associate a negative stimuli from the salmon chemical with nets, then the salmon flesh simply becomes berley/chum for the tailor.

Thanks 35kg Jew - superb stuff!

BLOOEY
17-07-2011, 12:50 PM
Not wrong 35kgjew. Bloody frustrating getting all your good jew baits smashed by salmon! Fun for a bit but bloody hell they are thick. Found the salmon and tailor in the same gutter yesterday arvo, the salmon were in closer and the tailor waaaaay out the back. Dunno about killing them and throwing them back at the end of the session though(reckon that is a bit harsh).
Maybe a better option would be to leave a pinned live (injured) salmon out while fishing for other species. Ben

35kg jew
17-07-2011, 05:58 PM
Hey blooey,

Na we fillet them down and mince them up make really good burly and my dog loves it 2 .We throw the carcasses out in the gutter . Well the gutter we fished last night down my local has no salmon as my mates fished to bottom of the tide today for there bag of good tailor up to 2kg so the salmon frames has worked i would say. Im loaded up with bonito,gar,and live mullet as we are fishing the high tide true to low so hopefully have some good pics tom got a feeling we will get them tonite as we hae found the only real gutter from tweed to bruns.

BLOOEY
18-07-2011, 07:01 AM
Oh ok no worries. How did you fare? Think we might be fishing the same gutter actually! Ben

Go Gecko
20-07-2011, 07:22 PM
Hi One and All,
the best way to prepare/cook salmon, or kahawai as all Kiwis know them by is to bleed them straight away put them in an ice slurry asap before prep. Fillet them leaving the scales on then rub the flesh with salt and brown sugar and cook the fillets skin side down in the smoker - beautiful.
Just Driftin

bondy99
20-07-2011, 08:02 PM
Hi One and All,
the best way to prepare/cook salmon, or kahawai as all Kiwis know them by is to bleed them straight away put them in an ice slurry asap before prep. Fillet them leaving the scales on then rub the flesh with salt and brown sugar and cook the fillets skin side down in the smoker - beautiful.
Just Driftin

Now thats Smokin

Dougi
21-07-2011, 10:48 AM
Hi All
Been getting quite a few off south straddi,bloody annoying.never tried eating them as others say they are shit.fighting to get a feed of tailor because of them.
Doug

bondy99
24-07-2011, 07:52 PM
Hi All
Been getting quite a few off south straddi,bloody annoying.never tried eating them as others say they are shit.fighting to get a feed of tailor because of them.
Doug

Dougi,

If you don't want them (Salmon) I'll take them off your hands as long as they're freshly bled. When are you heading over again. Send me a pm