View Full Version : A Wet Passage

25-06-2011, 05:39 AM
For about the 5th Friday in a row I have fished Pumicestone Passage at Caloundra. Add in some other trips mid week and I am still waiting for the run of big bream to arrive.

Anyhow..I arrived at the power boat club on Friday at about 2pm..bloody thing was nearly full. One spot left just for me to park the car and trailer. Quite a bit of traffic on the water but found one of my usual spots vacant and anchored there. The fishing was a bit slow I thought..had 9 legal bream on board by dusk.

Then it really slowed down after the top of the tide. hmmmmmmmmmmmm...where the bloody hell are these fish? Moved around quite a bit to some spots I had not fished before and to no avail. Then..at about 10 pm..it started..some drizzle. Not a problem says I to myself. It won't last long..As usual, I was totally incorrect. Not only did it not stop..it got heavier.

Not many bites and more rain coming down. Being the valiant hunter gatherer that I be I stuck at it ...now remember this is winter..so i had on a thermal top..long sleeve shirt..track suit top and a woollen jumper and a spray jacket..it obviously is not totally waterproof. By 1.30am the water had come through the spray jacket..therough the jumper..through the other top and soaked various areas of the shirt. Needless to say i was a tad uncomfortable. Thankfully it was not very cold. Bugger..back to the ramp I go. I was chatting to a bloke that had his boat tied to the pontoon..his mate was having a snooze in their truck..in the dry.

He told me why the carpark was full on Friday..the rescheduled Shane Stewart fishing comp is on this weekend. What a bunch of sooks they are..enter on Friday..fish Friday arvo..go home..come back Saturday etc. If ya enter the comp fish the whole bloody time.

Anyhow..arrived home at 4am..nice warm shower and cup of coffee..another trip done and dusted.

Final tally..13 bream..largest only 31cm.

No more trips for the next fortnight but they had better be there by then or i will have to concentrate my efforts in the river for the R2M.

25-06-2011, 05:08 PM
Good to read a good report there Greg.
Big bream seem to be quite patchy from what i have seen, maybe the numbers are down or they are travelling with smaller models this season??
Good word is the jew have been very cooperative the past month or so in the rivers.

Did you go directly to work after that coffee??

flatzie
25-06-2011, 05:54 PM
Mate with a Flag on your avatar like that you were no chance of a dry night! the Bunnies downed the Broncos in what was almost a swimming pool last nite in Perth!
At least you had a win there. I was one of the wusses staying home dry!
I am getting some nice bream while targetting snaps in the rubbly patches along the front of Redcliffe in the dark. But I am fishing larger hooks and baits and reckon if I scaled down gear I would get a good lot of bream.
With a lot of Sth Westerly weather in Winter it might be worth a try there? I guess you live at Caloundra so it would mean a bit of a drive.
Flatzie

25-06-2011, 10:07 PM
A few little fish is better than no fish at all Greg. We seem to have some trouble organising dinner, but may have better luck organising a fishing trip. Call you when I get back in Brissy. Nice work on the fish - shame about the weather.

26-06-2011, 11:41 AM
Mate with a Flag on your avatar like that you were no chance of a dry night! the Bunnies downed the Broncos in what was almost a swimming pool last nite in Perth!
At least you had a win there. I was one of the wusses staying home dry!
I am getting some nice bream while targetting snaps in the rubbly patches along the front of Redcliffe in the dark. But I am fishing larger hooks and baits and reckon if I scaled down gear I would get a good lot of bream.
With a lot of Sth Westerly weather in Winter it might be worth a try there? I guess you live at Caloundra so it would mean a bit of a drive.
Flatzie

I live on the northside of brisbane

26-06-2011, 11:42 AM
Good to read a good report there Greg.
Big bream seem to be quite patchy from what i have seen, maybe the numbers are down or they are travelling with smaller models this season??
Good word is the jew have been very cooperative the past month or so in the rivers.

Did you go directly to work after that coffee??

Jack..I cleaned the gear then drove to Bribie..wife is having a couple of weeks up there with the grandson. Not bad seeing as I had been awake since 3am Friday/

26-06-2011, 07:17 PM
So how did the ugg boots hold up?

26-06-2011, 07:30 PM
So how did the ugg boots hold up?

haha..they got wet also.

sid_fishes
27-06-2011, 09:14 AM
ugg boots. good god greg, are you getting soft mate
or just old ?

Dicko
27-06-2011, 11:36 AM
Greg, get a can of that waterproofing stuff from a campstore for spraying on tents & canvas and give your spray jacket a soaking in it. Works a treat. Most nylon spray jackets seem to lose the effectiveness after a couple of years.

craigie
27-06-2011, 01:59 PM
Thanks for the report Greg !

Going to hit Caloundra around mid July, hope they are there in size and numbers by then ??

The Pin fired on the weekend, plenty of fish and size not bad either (see my report).
You know the spots !!!! Next couple of days would be awesome down there, like the tides !!

Craigie.

27-06-2011, 04:13 PM
Thanks for the report Greg !

Going to hit Caloundra around mid July, hope they are there in size and numbers by then ??

The Pin fired on the weekend, plenty of fish and size not bad either (see my report).
You know the spots !!!! Next couple of days would be awesome down there, like the tides !!

Craigie.

no worries Craig..I will keep you informed about Caloundra..let me know when you are heading up there.
I should plan a trip down to the Pin soon also...it is just easy to get home from work at about 2.30..grab the boat and be on the water by 4 at Caloundra..a bit further from here to the PIn.

I do know the spots..LOL