View Full Version : great result for worst trip ever at mud

netmaker
21-06-2011, 12:52 PM
hi all,

been busy back at mud after pbing with an 83cm 2 weeks ago. i took a friend there last sunday afternoon. left whyte island at 2.30 and anchored at same spot as previous at 4. old mate caught his first snap at about 5 - it went 78 cm. he was stoked as you would be. around top of the tide he bagged another - 78 cm again. i was getting a bit toey having landed only a wobby and a cat shark. must be mine soon i think. 4.30 in the morn and old mate lands an 83 - new pb for him. now i am really getting p$###$d (and it wasn't the club port). half hour later an 84 joins the box!!!!! and just to rub it right in another half hour later saw a 74 hit the box. he beat his pb twice in one night. by now i was thinking i must have run over a chinaman on the way. i mean how bad can your luck be? the box was as full as it has ever been and food had to come out to make the required room. 8 in the morning saw me land my first legal for the trip - a diver whiting on a 5" plastic!!!! the whole session i had 2 lines out to his 1. using the same baits and same breaking strain. he even baited one up for me in case i had bad smelling hands. i couldn't get a touch. never had such a frustrating trip in my life. am i alone in this or have others experienced these huge differences in results from the same boat? felt like putting the thing on ebay and taking up knitting (hell of a lot warmer). being a good bloke old mate sent me home with 2 sympathy fish as reward for his best ever fishing trip - being a good bloke myself, i took the 2 smallest - only 9kg of fish - hard to complain i suppose. need to get a longer esky - hate bending big fish. heading back thursday arvo (minus old mate). if you see me, come say gidday.
davo
going back thursday (minus old mate!) to try and rectify

netmaker
21-06-2011, 12:54 PM
sorry for repeatin myself

netmaker
21-06-2011, 01:01 PM
and heres the missing pic of my 60 litre box b4 squashing in the last fish!

joe 09
21-06-2011, 02:48 PM
i know how you feel it happened to me two weeks ago mate just kept bring them in and i didnt get a touch all day.
So i can home and put the boat on ebay http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230635463969&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

Millsydude
21-06-2011, 03:04 PM
mate, that is a good effort from Mud all the same. i am yet to get one over 50cms at Mud, i don't know how you do it?!?!
thanks for the report.

tropicrows
21-06-2011, 03:27 PM
Davo,

I feel your pain, I have a mate in Adelaide and he is unbelievable. If i put my line into a tank filled with hungry fish, and he put his line into an empty bath tub........... he would catch all the fish.

Great effort ,and a great feed of top quality snapper.

PS. so how cold is it out there all night.

flatzie
21-06-2011, 05:59 PM
Just beaut fish those...anyone?? I would say all of us have had a trip like that! Bad enough if its a boat nearby, but ya mate right in the boat! Stink!
Well you sure had a great trip in anyone's language..Well done!
PS what bait did you blokes use? I have been getting them on strips of pike and tailor.
Flatzie

21-06-2011, 06:20 PM
I feel for you mate, recently I have been taking a very experienced plastics guy out fishing for jew several times. He has not had a hit yet whilst I have boated 6 in two trips with him and kept one. Fishing the same methods, same locations, same plastics. I sorta feel guilty by getting attention while I am trying to get him onto a decent fish. 2 yrs ago he was the gun that could catch a monster from the dogs waterbowl, now he is not getting any attention at all, even from vermin.

netmaker
21-06-2011, 06:39 PM
tropicrows - had 2 full sets of thermals, tracky dacks, flanny, ski pants, freezer jacket, 2 neck warmers, 2 beanies (thinsulate) gloves and uggies. man it was cold. next time i will be wearing a -18c rated sleeping bag!
flatzie - half pike and whiting.

wamjam
21-06-2011, 07:32 PM
Davo you can't be a guild and catch fish ;). Hope you don't fall overboard with all the gear on...:(
Sounds like a great trip..

netmaker
21-06-2011, 07:51 PM
yes mate, i was an a1 netman for the night. 5 from 5 first scoop each time. and um went overboard 6 weeks ago at 5 in the morning off green. leaned back in the seat and 4 stainless screws pulled out of the ply spacer and in i went. was pretty cold but am glad i have low sides. got out almost as quick as i went in. (well second attempt to tell truth) hade only just finished berleying up. reckon the bloke 50m away would have almost wet himself. my mates certainly did. apparently i need to lose a little weight.....

Mossy247
22-06-2011, 01:33 PM
Happens to me most weekends mate, I have re-badged myself as an estuary charter specialist and feel good everytime I put my customers on to fish. LoL Even though they don't actually pay its what I need to believe to stop the tears. LoL either way I would be happy netting that many pinkies! Top effort and if you ever need a deckie I'm happy to come along :-) tight lines

jason p
22-06-2011, 02:31 PM
its a bugger ay, your only 7 foot away and cant catch a thing. fortunately for me its been the other way around the last several trips, outfishing the boys sometimes 10 to 1, i always send them home with half the catch though. not looking forward for the turn of the tide though lol.
nice catch by the way (from ya mate).:)

jp

gunna
23-06-2011, 04:01 PM
Know what you mean. Fella I fish with hardly gets any and its left up to me to fill the creel.

robersl
23-06-2011, 06:30 PM
Know what you mean. Fella I fish with hardly gets any and its left up to me to fill the creel.
as it should be he must be good teacher after all he can't do all the work get the bait ,put you on the fish and fuel the boat you expect him to catch fish as well mate you have to pull your socks up .
well done on the snapps boys

gunna
24-06-2011, 11:38 AM
as it should be he must be good teacher after all he can't do all the work get the bait ,put you on the fish and fuel the boat you expect him to catch fish as well mate you have to pull your socks up .
well done on the snapps boys
Now THAT was an easy catch LOL

ddobson
27-06-2011, 06:42 PM
Oh Davo what a trip the second best i have seen (3 men caught 4 to 6 kilo reds 12 in total one arvo whilt i only got under sized ones in different islands but still) but that trip you had is a blinder watching your mate bag out like that and you with your whiting what a cracker. I have had that happen heaps but not with snap so big in one hit. Well done (your mate lol) Cheers DD.....