View Full Version : drought...
nathank
29-05-2011, 01:09 PM
well after a bumper Jack season where i had caught well over 30 fish i thought i would just report on whats been going on lately. Towards the end of the season i decided to target a lake fish and just had no luck whatso ever.. dropped one decent fish but no monster prob around the 50cm mark.. so its lake fish 1 Nathan0... Im patient so i dont mind i will get one next season. Now my attentions have turned to Jewfish and i am starting to think they are mythical creatures. I imagine i have put in over the years around about 300 plus hours and have still no result.. like i said im patient but ...wow what a drought. I have fished with some guys along the way who have caught loads and have heard,seen and used all manner of methods and baits.. plastics and the like. i am having another shot tonight and i need some encouragement lol.. Just saw a post before of two beautifull specimens and i have regained some semblence of hope to finally land of of these great fish......
Nath :)
Oh yeah heres a bycatch that has kept me sane lately.
brock13
29-05-2011, 01:28 PM
still yet to catch a jewie myself. haven't put in nearly the effort you have. good luck!
bennykenny
29-05-2011, 02:59 PM
make it easy on yourself and head to the brisbane river, they are in plague proportions there at the moment, cheers BK
29-05-2011, 03:04 PM
Yep position position position with just a little timing thrown in when targeting Jewfish, could just be it's more proof that the oceans are depleted lol!
Best of luck I know what it's like targeting these wonderful fish.
29-05-2011, 03:05 PM
I used to find jew a challenge...........now they just happen........I am doing nothing noticeable different.
BLOOEY
29-05-2011, 05:27 PM
make it easy on yourself and head to the brisbane river, they are in plague proportions there at the moment, cheers BK
Bloody hell benny kenny, we must be fishing different brissy rivers, otherwise i wouldn't have doughnuted there last night.:'( Stick at it nathank it will happen eventually. My first decent one took lots of years. Ben
bennykenny
29-05-2011, 06:13 PM
man i have caught 20+ in the last couple of trips, but still the big one is evading me, i had a mate get one 3 weeks ago going 138cm, he also got a few in the 90's. if your having trouble try closer to home, at the bridge near the ramp at Whyte Is there are heaps there but mostly small ones. Some of the landbased guys are taking quite a few of them.wish the fisheries would get down there and patrol it. have rung the fishwatch hotline but im usually there at 3am so im sure nothing is done. cheers BK
BLOOEY
29-05-2011, 08:12 PM
138 is a cracking jew, congrats to your mate! 20+ in 2 trips is phenomenal(how many legal ones?) Shame about the people keeping the undersized ones, i think we are starting to see the increased size limit pay off. Ben
Mullet Musketeer
30-05-2011, 05:50 AM
Takes a long time - especially land based. I got a good one under the Boggy Creek Bridge a few years ago and have had a few undersize ones in the same spot since, but always at around 3- 4 am, on a high tide - not very sociable hours! As Ben says The Whyte Island bridge looks good too, but I reckon you need to be there v.late or v,early to find it quiet. Go down to Iluka and when they are around, they are everywhere. Bit of a drive but definitely worth it!
nathank
30-05-2011, 12:36 PM
cheers for the encouragement guys.. fished the seaway on the slack of hightide lastnight with slick rigs and a 8" jerkshad... everything looked so perfect but no Jew again :( got a bit excited though for a minute as i had a big hit on the slick rig that sat and shook its head for a few secs.... then burnt off along the wall.. was a good sized GT.. sux being dissapointed at catching a fish like this but im nearly over catching trevors... got heaps lately. Have had one shot in brissy but the night i went the bait was absent at a spot that i know does produce the goods.. might have to get up there again very soon.. and the 3 or 4am times never bother me.... im on a mission lol
bennykenny
30-05-2011, 01:45 PM
if you try the brissy, go on a outgoing tide, close to the full moon at night or very early morning, and you are bound to get one, if you need some spots i can help you too just PM me, cheers BK
coraltrout68
31-05-2011, 10:19 AM
cheers for the encouragement guys.. fished the seaway on the slack of hightide lastnight with slick rigs and a 8" jerkshad... everything looked so perfect but no Jew again :( got a bit excited though for a minute as i had a big hit on the slick rig that sat and shook its head for a few secs.... then burnt off along the wall.. was a good sized GT.. sux being dissapointed at catching a fish like this but im nearly over catching trevors... got heaps lately. Have had one shot in brissy but the night i went the bait was absent at a spot that i know does produce the goods.. might have to get up there again very soon.. and the 3 or 4am times never bother me.... im on a mission lol
I have a mate that dives the seaway and he said there are hundreds of Jewfish down there. So you are fishing in the right area, just a matter of time!!
carnster
01-06-2011, 09:52 AM
Nathan i have still been gettin them up to 90cm from my kayak but that does not help you much.
I fluked a schoolie off the beach at palmy one night recently but i haven't been back to try again; i would agree with Land angler go south or try live bait off the SPJ north side top of the tide.
nathank
01-06-2011, 04:01 PM
Might just get a boat as well this year at some stage.. its back to the grind tonight for the slack of the tide... have been really driving myself nuts watching youtube footage of the seaway pipe.. if i dont get one soon i might have to sell my rods and take up golf .... yeah right!! lol
carnster
02-06-2011, 10:38 AM
Released 10 Jewies lbg last night up to 70cm, lost one 1m+ saw it on the surface and cast my plastic - wham. Good fun on 8lb string i found a new honey hole...
nathank
09-06-2011, 12:50 PM
Gee thanks Carnster.. rub it in mate hahaha... well done, i just cant work em out and its killing me as i have targeted many different species and have always worked them out to a degree... last week i was armed with live prawns, herring and mullet for zip...again!! havn another shot on friday... if this fails... are you open to bribery Carnster? lol
bennykenny
09-06-2011, 12:55 PM
good luck again nath, wish you well where are you heading this week??
wayno60
10-06-2011, 09:43 AM
Nath,
Last monday night i headed up the Nerang River to the Ross street bridge and got a 60cm model...plus 20 bream, kept the 6 largest and a sting ray that wanted to play hide and seek around the pilons....kept me on the hop for 15min....got dusted by something twice, but 6lb string wont hold back alot.
mate you'll sort em out...
nathank
11-06-2011, 09:35 AM
Well.. i went out last night back up to brisbane again armed with Live prawns, mullet and herring and near every lure that swims... fished Three different spots.. whilst fishing whyte island bridge had some security guard come down to tell me that im am not allowed to fish there because it was a construction site?? the thing i could figure out though was he only told me and a mate when we walked up to see the headlights shinning down.. there were 5 other ppl there as well and i was asking why do just we have to go and he replys i didnt see the other ppl there.... man some ppl must have boring lives to come down to see if anyone would walk up just to assert his security guardedness (not sure if that's a word).... long story short we just walked back down and shouted well now you cant see us either and he drove off...weird??
live baits did not get a touch fishing 4 different methods.. so lures it was then, smallish shads,slickrigs and prawns.....nuthn.. Blades...nuthn ...Fitth cast of the xrap.. get a bump and i get a bit excited same cast into the same spot two turns and im on... now i dont know how offten you can be disappointed about nailing a 2kg tailor but i wasnt happy... didnt even take a pic just took it off and speared him back into the murky depths much to the japanese guys dismay next to me he must have asked me ten times why "i not give fish to him" well it was 2am and i had to go get some sleep.
I going to get one though this weekend..i know it.
carnster
11-06-2011, 11:29 AM
Hang in there Nathan, they have been around in the tweed river this week.
nathank
11-06-2011, 12:44 PM
So about that bribe Carnster.......