View Full Version : Noosa Bar Crossing

rakinray
23-05-2011, 08:04 PM
Hi guys thought you might like to see our fishing trip crew heading out from the Noosa River Xing the Bar, Some did well some not so well !

CHEERS RAY.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YA-pkPJ1z0A

Searaider 2
23-05-2011, 09:22 PM
Geday Ray ,
Interesting footage .
Good to see that they all got out Ok ,even if a couple may have need to change their jocks .:o
It's a bit hard to judge the boats in then footage .
Was the first boat out an Allison about 18 ft ?

Would have been tough for the Skippers to see the Surfers same the same area.
Also excellent Video footage , any idea what type of camera it was ?

23-05-2011, 10:23 PM
Ray,

So who was driving Re-bait ? Was it Phil - he's short enough as it is without coping that pounding up the legs of the alloy beast.

She jumped quite well however. What was the ride home like?

23-05-2011, 11:08 PM
Nope, wazza not me Brett.

No AF stickers. It also had rocket launchers on the targa and a open space under the bait board... but I do reckon it was a Sportfish. IT seemed to " get over " the rollers OK. ?

FYI, I doubt I will ever head out over the Noosa bar. Too shallow, too many obstacles in the water.

I will say I got ReBait air-bourne on the last trip to 1770 a few weeks ago, going over the bar......... :) :)

Thanks for the footage Ray.

LP.

Sheik
24-05-2011, 07:24 AM
Ray,

So who was driving Re-bait ? Was it Phil - he's short enough as it is without coping that pounding up the legs of the alloy beast.

She jumped quite well however. What was the ride home like?

Hey Buggsy, how's it all going down there mate? Still in northern new south? Have to catch up for a fish soon.
Jimbo

rakinray
24-05-2011, 08:40 AM
Hey guys that vid was taken on the Sat which was heaps better than when we went over on the Sunday, :o The swell had increased by a fair bit and it was touch and go weather we should have went (but we did) The 189 Allison (Pete) got hit by a big Greenie on Sunday that took out his whole windscreen,clears,canopy, and bent the hell out of all the Stainless top ! He also had to get stitches in his face and mouth from the screen whacking him. Hey Brett the trip in was no drama just sat on the back of a set and cruised in. But if i wasnt already heading out (20mts behind him) when he got hit i wouldnt have went when i saw what it had done to him. :'( I was the Skipper in the Fourth Boat that went out in the Video (5.65 Alloy Bow Rider,black canopy) on Sat and as you can see we had no real dramas that day, but it wasnt pretty on the Sunday when i had her getting some serious air time ! And as Pete said the Surfers were hard to see when all hell was breaking loose ! Not sure what sort of camera it was Pete he has a You-Tube page you can check . It was my first time over the Bar and i wont be rushing back there in a hurry.

CHEERS RAY. PS it was a Sportfish 6.8 i think !

24-05-2011, 08:41 AM
Your right Phil. On a second look there are some differences. Definitely a Sportsfish though. I thought she launched quite well actually and more importantly landed quite well instead of arse first.

Jimbo - yeah mate still here. Ready for catch up any time.

No Fear
24-05-2011, 02:57 PM
Great footage......although it does just reinforce why I go from Mooloolaba even on a flat day!!!

Glad everyone got out ok, unlike the recent one in NSW.

Sandman
30-05-2011, 09:49 AM
Hey Ray ,
Not like our trip Hey :) Try riding a wave in holding onto the out board to manual steer Ha ha Go i hate bar crossings .

fishfeeder
31-05-2011, 02:17 PM
mate i cant see the Video, do you have the youtube link ??

rakinray
01-06-2011, 04:50 PM
Back up now Brett cheers for that Steve. Come on Mick (Toughen up !) Mind you when the Steering goes just as you get to the main break (like we did) then its time to do what ever it takes to get her in ! You wouldnt have enjoyed the Noosa Bar on Sunday (Nasty). Will catch up soon mate, the Snapps are calling !

CHEERS RAY.

01-06-2011, 07:43 PM
Nice vid, liked the track too. Thanks for posting.

charlie09
01-06-2011, 07:55 PM
Thanks for the post. But not a chance in hell would i attempt that crossing :-?

fishfeeder
02-06-2011, 10:24 AM
Great Video
That looks like fun (NOT) I think I will stick to the SPB... No surfers there to dodge !!

03-06-2011, 06:30 AM
Thanks for the video. What was the tide doing at that time?

rakinray
03-06-2011, 04:37 PM
Hey Smithy we crossed about an hour and a half before high, it was our first time out thru there, but i found some good pics and some other vids on Noosa Fishing site which helped me pick a line thru the best area. You been out that way before ?

CHEERS RAY.

rakinray
03-06-2011, 04:46 PM
Heres the video of the next week-end (what a difference a week makes !)

Cheers Ray.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRwKQvFM6hg

Searaider 2
03-06-2011, 05:34 PM
Hi Ray ,
I can't see any link to the video in your last post ?

06Adsy
03-06-2011, 05:45 PM
Pics and vid from http://www.fishingnoosa.com.au/noosabar.htm. They update regularly.

The Noosa Bar Crossing; Mid Tide, 2.30pm, Sunday May 29, 2011.

http://www.fishingnoosa.com.au/noosabar/noosabar290511.jpg

http://www.fishingnoosa.com.au/noosabar/noosabar290511a.jpg

http://www.fishingnoosa.com.au/noosabar/noosabar290511b.jpg

04-06-2011, 04:51 AM
Ray,

I used to get up there 4-6 times a year I guess. Not now with the new boat. Always been good for me except one day on the bottom of the tide I hit a breaker about chest high. It rolled up and over the Stabi no dramas but was a bit wet for the boys in the back. Was packing it one time when we were mackerel fishing on Sunshine and about 30 knots of SE came through in an instant and it go pretty gnarly. I thought holey doley, how is the bar going to be but once in Laguna Bay it was as calm as anything.

rakinray
04-06-2011, 08:26 AM
Hey Smithy as you said anything with s/e in it would be ok with the big headland sticking out, same as Mooloolaba, even the South passage if you use the Amity side like i do when the swell doesnt have too much East in it. Hey Pete i can see that other vid on my page can you see it now ?

CHEERS RAY.

SgBFish
05-06-2011, 09:01 PM
The one thing I thing the cochroches have got right is to insist on life jackets crossing registered bars. I'm surprised clubs don't insist on it. How can it hurt.

rakinray
05-06-2011, 09:24 PM
The one thing I thing the cochroches have got right is to insist on life jackets crossing registered bars. I'm surprised clubs don't insist on it. How can it hurt.

Hey SgBFish its not a proper fishing club, just a work crew that do it once a year. The first two boats didnt use them (Skippers Call) but i know that the last four boats did as i was leading them out and we all doned them before crossing. As you said, it carnt hurt. CHEERS RAY.

murf
05-06-2011, 09:26 PM
I believe it is law in NSW that a PFD1 must be worn at all times for a bar crossing (whether it is named or not)

cheers Murf

16-06-2011, 08:42 PM
Thanks Ray for the vid footage.